We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“An Oasis in Bar Harbor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balance Rock Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balance Rock Inn
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An Oasis in Bar Harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

For the past few years in June we have stayed at the Balance Rock. What we chiefly love about the place is that it has great, historic character and a great location on the shore path with spectacular views of Frenchman's Bay. The inn is within easy walking distance of the town, yet, it is quiet and secluded with well-maintained grounds that includes a large outdoor pool. The two-year old fire pit is a welcome addition that encourages interaction between guests. For those traveling with pets (We travel with our Cocker Spaniel), the inn is exceptionally pet friendly, and, although the pet fee is steep - $40.00/day - when we have been there, we have always encountered other well-behaved dogs. The staff is friendly and accommodating without being intrusive.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, spring for the Acadia Suite. It's a duplex, and, although the bathroom is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank courcierwilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    95
    34
    25
    5
See reviews for
56
306
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My GF and I stayed at Balance Rock for 4 days in September. And we didn't want to leave! We stayed in Room 304. This is a fairly small room, but talk about a perk....we had our own private deck/widow's walk atop the inn. It was accessed by climbing a ladder and lifting a hatch...so cool!! The time we spent in our room was mostly up top enjoying an unspoiled view of Frenchman's Bay. Our experience was fantastic. We were especially impressed with an employee named Aaron. A very nice young man. One thing I feel like I must address, and the reason why this was a 4 star review instead of 5, is a door in the hallway across from our room which had a sign on it stating "Do not open, Bees inside." I understand this is an old building and problems like this can occur, but the sign had been on the door for a while judging from the wear of the paper, and I would think a good exterminator could have taken care of the bees. Overall, the inn is in great shape, being built in 1903, We didn't have swarms of bees attacking us, and in no way did this adversely effect our stay here, but feel I should share this information.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdsims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We can not say enough great things about this hotel, the staff and the location. We stayed in a large ocean view suite, 206, that had a great private porch. The concern of the staff and the luxurious amenities reminded us of special European hotels where we have stayed. If we get a chance to return to the states again we would definatel< stay at the Balance Rock Inn:

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, CT
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have been staying at the Balance Rock for years. We love the location- quiet, water views, but still an easy walk to town after a day of hiking or cycling. The past couple of years we've started bringing our children and they love it. A couple issues with the last time we stayed there though and I was disappointed. The rooms are expensive and it's billed as a luxury inn and historically we have felt that. The most recent trip was a little off. The owner was there while we were visiting and he insists on smoking his cigars throughout the wing of the inn where are room was- really unpleasant, and when my husband mentioned it to the front desk they just sort of shrugged their shoulders like there was nothing they could do. That may be the case, but the owner should know better. The second issue is historically the inn gave a small room credit for each nights cocktail hour and they've taken that away. It's a small thing, but seemed like a cheap move to us. I gave it 4 stars because it's still the only inn I'd book in Bar Harbor, but given the cost and lowering of the standards we'll rent a home next time we go.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobandShanandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

You can't beat the location of this classy inn. Right on the water, but secluded from its neighbors so it's really quiet. Very attentive staff, wonderful breakfasts, great bar with seating options indoors or out. Our room had its own porch and patio with table and chairs. This was very important to us, since we had our dog with us, and this way we could eat breakfast with him and still gaze at the wonderful harbor view. The dog was also welcome on the patio, so we brought him with us for drinks in the evenings. Very comfortable room. We really loved it here, and will certainly go back.

Room Tip: We were in a ground floor room with it's own outside entrance, perfect for dog-owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbruskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathrow, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Great location, great views, great breakfast, great staff, great bar, great amenities and decor, great fire pit, great pool. What I thought was really great was the expansive lawn that goes down to the shore path and harbor. All in all Great! We'll be back next year.

Room Tip: We love the ocean view rooms, but the carriage house rooms are really nice - especially for the pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed in room 107 Fri & Sat nite of Labor Day wknd. Wish we could have stayed longer. Gorgeous room with luxury amenities. Fabulous views & loads of privacy. Buffet breakfast outclassed anything found in a chain hotel. A culinary delight. We ended each evening with a drink around the deck's gas fire pit. Friendly & professional staff were very helpful with restaurant suggestions, local maps & recommendations. 5 min drive to Acadia National Park, or a 5 min walk to the Acadia shuttle bus stop. Private location on the shore 1 block off main street. Perfect location. We will definitely stay at Balance Rock Inn again if we make it back to Bar Harbor & Acadia.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaryEllenOfUpatateNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,531 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,136 reviews
0.3 mi away
West Street Hotel
West Street Hotel
#11 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balance Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balance Rock Inn

Property: Balance Rock Inn
Address: 21 Albert Mdws, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balance Rock Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balance Rock Inn is one of the premier oceanfront lodging properties in Bar Harbor, ME. Set on a secluded tree-covered property with expansive views of Frenchman's Bay, this luxurious Inn's name celebrates the "balance rock," a precariously positioned boulder on the nearby ocean shore, a huge remnant from an ice age. Balance Rock's 27 rooms and suites are tastefully outfitted in harmonious colors, handsome wall coverings, handcrafted furnishings, and all the creature comforts. All rooms and suites have either a king or queen size select comfort bed, a private bath, flat screen television with DVD player, WIFI internet access, individually controlled AC and heat, and most with amazing ocean views! The Inn features a full bar and restaurant, sundeck with fire pit, and heated swimming pool...all overlooking the ocean. In addition there is a formal dining room for breakfast and dinner, a small fitness center, and ample parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balance Rock Hotel Bar Harbor
Balance Rock Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing