We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located!”
Review of Balance Rock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balance Rock Inn
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We met friends and stayed at the Balance Rock Inn for a three night stay. The Inn is an old mansion and is right on the water. We stayed in a room with a separate entrace from the house and we had our own private yard with a water view. Our friends stayed in the carriage house and they had their own private yard as well. The Inn is located in the prime downtown area of Bar Harbor and we walked to dinner every night. We met our friends for cocktails in the picturesque bar that overlooks the pool and the harbor with it's signature "Balance Rock". Breakfast buffet was good. Dinner is not served but several excellent restaurants within a few blocks. The nearby Acadia National Forest is one of those places you need to see at least once in your life. A must stop in the park is the Jordan Pond house for popovers and a stroll around the grounds.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with it's own yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eweems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 488 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed at the Balance Rock for 3 nights. The location was perfect, because we were a half block from the main street and the views were beautiful~ you could see the water from the inn! Our room was very small (but very affordable) but it was not too small, it had a private bathroom with a jaccuzzi tub, king size bed, and a balcony. It was so quiet and relaxing, and I spend a whole afternoon sitting on the comfy furniture under a gazebo reading and watching the boats sailing on the water. We enjoyed the $15 complimentary bar tab that was included each day of our stay, and would sit around the fire pit each night and have a few drinks. A local man came most nights and played the piano, which was such a nice touch. The breakfasts were just 'ok' but there were many choices every morning. My favorites were the muffins, fruit, granola, and roasted potatoes. There was always some kind of egg, meat, and french toast/pancake dish as well but I wasn't crazy about them. Overall, I found this inn to be relaxing and very enjoyable, with a GREAT location and view.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsSoup1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

I recently stayed at the Balance Rock Inn with my boyfriend and dog and was extremely impressed. I plan on coming back again next year! The staff was very accommodating and bent over backwards for their guests. The room was very nice and spacious. The grounds were well-maintained and every morning we sat on the deck overlooking the ocean. It was nice to be so close - I can't say enough about this place. In my perspective I think it was well worth the price!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APK914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Probably the best location in town! Walking distance to just about everything. Our carriage house room was spacious & bed was very comfortable. We used the fireplace every night. Service at the inn was very good & helpful. Enjoyed sitting by the pool in the afternoons & by the firepit for after dinner cocktails. The inn really did have a Great Gatsby feel to it.
Only negative was the breakfast. Homemade muffins tasted stale & dry. The strawberry pancakes were as thin as crepes & unevenly cooked. Eggs were tasteless. I expected so much more since this was a bed & BREAKFAST inn. Coffee was very good but we didn't eat breakfast here again. (Jordan Restaurant & Cafe This Way have great breakfasts!) Accommodations get 5 stars; breakfast gets 1 star.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leinnox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

The Balance Rock Inn is a gorgeous property on the Atlantic Ocean in Bar Harbor, ME. It offers a living room with large stone fireplace and grand piano (and pianist in the evening). The bar area is in a glass-enclosed Florida room looking out to the ocean with tables for gathering, drinking, and eating the wonderful breakfast. If the weather permits, there is an outdoor patio with firepits and an amazing view of the ocean just beyond the beautiful lawn and oceanside walking path. Sip on a glass of wine, watch the cruise ships pass by and meet new friends. Unlike hotels and motels, inns offer a friendlier atmosphere, making it easy to socialize with other tourists and the staff. The rooms were well-furnished.

While this property offers a feeling of seclusion and relaxation, you can walk 1 1/2 blocks and be in the heart of Bar Harbor's shops and restaurants. The harbor is also in short walking distance. We took a tour on a lobster boat and learned about lobster trapping by a local. I can't imagine a better place to stay in Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

My husband and I have stayed here in the past, in the Carriage House, with our dog. The room was great and the private deck area was nice. This past March we specifcally asked for, booked and confirmed our 3 night June stay in room 107, a ground floor, pet friendly room with a semi private yard in the main house. We received a confirmation, sent via email, stating the correct room, addl't costs for the dog, etc. We arrived and check in and a super friendly young man started to show us up to the third floor. We informed him that we had booked room 107 on the main floor and he went to check. A women came out and hastely said that they upgraded us and that the room we were getting was so much better...with a water view ...and an upgrade...and an upgrade. We get it, an upgrade, but we asked why because we specifcally booked that room, on the ground fllor, because we are traveling with a dog. "Construction" she said "and we upgraded you" and left us with the young man looking as baffled as we were to show us our 3rd floor room. The 3rd floor room is OK, overcrowded and tidy, but not the clean a place like this should offer (dust, dirty spots on pictures, an exposed pipe in the corner with a rag stuffed in it). But we were "upgraded" and had a fire place and a view of the water...both of which our dog enjoyed...almost as much as the 3 flights of stairs he had to go up and down to go to the bathroom. The kicker is that we saw a woman and a dog come out of room 107 while we were walking by. We checked on the website and it shows that room booked thru Sunday...to bad we are not in it. Needless to say we will be having a discussion with the manager - but we won't be back to stay here. Too bad, the view and location is great and the majority of the staff is nice but the breakfast is aweful. It's funny though, the last time we were here, the Inn Keepers quit with no notice and left everyone scrambling. That was a few years ago. I think they are still working out the kinks.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catandpooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalanceRockInn, Owner at Balance Rock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2011

We would have loved to offer you another ground floor option, but unfortunately, the room in which you stayed was the only one available. I do apologize you were not informed in advance of the change in your reservation, but your room was only just unavailable the day you arrived due to a major pipe break. We are sorry you did not find your upgrade to your satisfaction, we would have been more than happy to offer you a credit towards a future stay had you brought it to our attention. As well, we are surprised you were not happy with the accommodation as it is a larger and more spacious room than you previously booked and we do have an elevator.
As far as seeing another guest come from that yard, room #107 has not been available to rent since the day of your arrival and is not available again until the 4th of July. It is possible another guest with a pet was exploring the grounds and happened upon #107 yard. You will not see room #107 available online because it is currently not available to reserve. Again we apologize for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We were going to stay for three nights at the inn. We arrived on Saturday afternoon. It's a pretty inn with nice grounds and the staff was very friendly. My wife's father went into the hospital on the Saturday night and took a turn for the worse Sunday afternoon, such that we had to leave on Sunday afternoon. We were hoping for a refund or a credit. They refused. We figured a refund was unlikely. However, given how expensive it was and the fact that the inn didn't seem to be full, a credit would have seemed reasonable. And a credit would have turned us into huge fans of the inn, and made it so that we'd definitely go back year after year. It was a lost opportunity for them, I think.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kruddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalanceRockInn, Manager at Balance Rock Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

I’m very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay for the time you were with us. When a situation of this type occurs it is uncommon and unfortunate. I was told you had to depart early due to a “family emergency”. Usually that means something trivial and I am required to uphold our policy. There are of course maters that should be made an exception, your situation is one of them. Had I spoken to you directly I would have asked the nature of the emergency and made a judgment from there, and for any misunderstanding I apologize. We always strive to make our guests time with us memorable for all the right reasons, and not for the wrong ones.
The sudden loss of a family member is tragic and out of your control, and is one of the only exceptions I am willing to make to our cancellation policy. It would be my pleasure to issue you a credit for a future stay with us anytime during the season. Please contact the reservations office at your convenience so we may issue you a credit.

My sincerest condolences and warm regards,

Aaron Miles
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,774 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.4 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balance Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balance Rock Inn

Address: 21 Albert Mdws, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $207 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balance Rock Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balance Rock Inn is one of the premier oceanfront lodging properties in Bar Harbor, ME. Set on a secluded tree-covered property with expansive views of Frenchman's Bay, this luxurious Inn's name celebrates the "balance rock," a precariously positioned boulder on the nearby ocean shore, a huge remnant from an ice age. Balance Rock's 27 rooms and suites are tastefully outfitted in harmonious colors, handsome wall coverings, handcrafted furnishings, and all the creature comforts. All rooms and suites have either a king or queen size select comfort bed, a private bath, flat screen television with DVD player, WIFI internet access, individually controlled AC and heat, and most with amazing ocean views! The Inn features a full bar and restaurant, sundeck with fire pit, and heated swimming pool...all overlooking the ocean. In addition there is a formal dining room for breakfast and dinner, a small fitness center, and ample parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balance Rock Hotel Bar Harbor
Balance Rock Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing