We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pancakes Ever!!!”
Review of Mira Monte Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mira Monte Inn
Ranked #12 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Tuesday morning includes pancakes for breakfast. Blueberries were just coming into season. After finishing my blueberry pancakes with blueberry syrup I thought to myself "These are the best pancakes I have ever had". Not wanting to hurt my wife's feelings (she makes some very good pancakes) I sat quietly enjoying what I had just eaten. My wife turns to me and said "These are the best pancakes I have ever had." Great bed and breakfast. We stayed in the Miller Room in the back cottage two weeks ago. It was very quiet. The staff was kind and gracious. It was a short walk to the Main Street shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Miller room was on the second floor in the back cottage. It was quiet. Very nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 650 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in the Belmont room which is in the front of the inn. We loved the hospitality and the excellently prepared breakfasts. We would say, however, that because this room is in the front of the hotel, it tends to be noisy from the street as Mt. Desert St is a busy road including trucks and late night revelers. That's the only reason I did not give this a 5 rating. We kept the windows open because it was a pleasant 70 or so degrees. The grounds were beautifully maintained and some of the guests went outside in the garden to eat their breakfast. You don't have to eat in the dining room. It's about a 10 minute walk to the heart of Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back, they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

This was a very nice B&B in a wonderful location. The room and bathroom were very clean and the bed was comfortable. We had a very nice deck off of our room that we were able to enjoy. The breakfast was served buffet style and was had many choices. The owner was pleasant and made sure we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ursela89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Wonderful B&B which a friend and I discovered online and were very pleased with when we visited Bar Harbor last Fall. The owners were welcoming and helpful and were great cooks! Breakfast was terrific. Our rooms were spacious and had fireplaces and private porches. PERFECT for a rainy afternoon rest/read! Walkable to town, harbor, restaurants, etc. We felt completely at home and would stay again! Twitter and Instagram: @kmptop10

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kmptop10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in the Wingwood Suite with our two teenage children and had the most wonderful time. We really enjoyed staying at the back of the garden as it was quiet, although you could hear the upstairs guests moving around early in the morning or late at night, but this did not impact on our enjoyment. This suite has some kitchenette facilities and table and chairs for 4 as well as your private outside deck with table and chairs- wonderful, all new and very clean. The owner, Marian Burns is a wonderful hosts with a wealth of local and historical knowledge who was always available to answer questions or give advice when needed.
Our most memorable moment was the Lobster Dinner at Marian's house, provided for guests staying more than 4 nights, thank you Marian for your hospitality and to your daughter and son in law for cooking and keeping us entertained with stories about various parts of the US.
We really appreciated this and we felt we were part of the local community.
Marian's staff around the house and kitchen are also wonderful and friendly and provided us with some delicious breakfast options, always involving a blueberry dish and a lovely wine and cheese reception and cake and juice for the kids. Your cakes are amazing, compliments to all the bakers and cooks, thank you. We are in the process of shedding all those extra pounds acquired now ;-)
Apart from this the Inn is perfectly located for walking into town, to the ocean and easy access to the park entrances, we could not have asked for more.
Hope we will be able to return one day.

Room Tip: If you travel with kids/teens choose the Wingwood suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Trolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

This is our second visit to this wonderful B & B. This time we brought our adult children. Four nights.
We stayed in very spacious and comfortable rooms in back of main house. Love the staff. One nicer than next. Best breakfast variety I've ever seen. It's quite a spread.
Always homemade goodies during day and a very nice complimentary happy hour 5-7. Nothing too elaborate but wine and cheese etc.
Every night. Marian and her staff work extremely hard and it shows.
She is very helpful to all guests with any request.
We will look forward to another return visit.
Thanks for a great family get together at your special place.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Guelph_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

My wife and and stayed two nights. Due to an overbooking, we were placed in a suite in a back building for the first night. It sounded great but to our horror, it was a run down apartment. Upon entering we found the kitchen, which was an old fashion, depressing cubicle. The living room had an old musty rose colored carpet that smelled and had not been vacuumed. The bathroom had paint peeling from the ceiling and from the kickboard under the sink. Finally, the bedroom had the oder from the old carpeting and was outdated.

The next day, were relived to find ourselves moved to a room in the main house that transformed our stay. This room was big, clean and bright with new hardwood floors and carpets. The difference in the two rooms was astounding.

Do not take a room anywhere but the main house when booking.

The grounds were poorly maintained and the house exterior need significant repairs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Tom1394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#31 of 41 in Bar Harbor
375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mira Monte Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mira Monte Inn

Address: 69 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1327
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $148 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mira Monte Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mira Monte Inn & Suites."Behold the Mountains"This historic Bar Harbor bed & breakfast inn reflects the grace and beauty of the mid-Victorian time. Each room features a fireplace and/or balcony and is uniquely styled with antique and period furnishings. The romantic atmosphere is said to be friendly, welcoming and cheerful. The morning full-breakfast buffet gets rave reviews; guests can choose to eat family style in the formal dining room, on the terrace, the breakfast porch, or in their own room.Mira Monte's mission is: to provide relaxation and comfort in beautiful, quiet surroundings of an elegant bed and breakfast inn. It's your vacation and you get to make the choices that meet your needs. Our friendly staff is always there for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mira Monte Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mira Monte Hotel Bar Harbor
Mira Monte Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing