We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and Well Located” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mira Monte Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mira Monte Inn
Ranked #12 of 31 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
SYRACUSE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and Well Located”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We have been to Mira Monte three times and each has been an outstanding experience. It is well situated, close to everything, and the grounds are spacious and inviting. Rooms are well appointed, beds are comfy. Marian Burns, the hostess, can answer just about any question and is full of wonderful information about the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenniston L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    129
    32
    14
    2
See reviews for
108
374
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. The staff is very caring, the food is tasty (with some very nice healthy options), the coffee and tea are excellent, and the other guests are fantastic. My room, the Agamont, was cozy and I really liked the back porch. The gardens are very pretty. I walked downtown for food quite easily, there was plenty of parking, and Acadia park access is a cinch.

It felt like staying grandma's house. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Agamont is a great choice for 1 or 2 people. Cozy with a nice big bathroom and patio access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aralani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

What a wonderful B&B! The owner is charming and a wealth of information. I travel by myself a lot and prefer staying at a B&B. Mira Monte is by far my favorite! The room was beautiful. The breakfast was delicious and in spite of cold and rainy weather, I had a wonderful time! I hope I have the opportunity to spend more time there. FYI! There are special programs if you stay 3 or 4 nights! Coupons for local shop and restaurant discounts. What a wonderful idea! Everyone at the B&B was very friendly and helpful. The gardens are lovely!!! If you want to visit Bar Harbor and like Victorian B&B's this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Maine
Level Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had planned our stay at this beautiful inn a year ago to take part in the Habitat for Humanity of Maine experience. Unfortunately, a medical problem occurred and the proprietors said that they would honor our reservation so that we could stay the following year. What a wonderful experience. Bar Harbor has never been our favorite place in Maine, but we had now changed our impression. The Inn is the place to stay along with several fine restaurants and shops. Hats off to Cafe This Way and Mount Desert Ice Cream. Thank you Mira Monte for your charm and hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frcdtag44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithia, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is a beautiful large home that has been successfully converted into a lovely B & B. We have been staying in the Mira Monte Inn for several years now and are never dissappointed. There are so many rooms to choose from--many with fireplaces and private decks overlooking the gardens. We love the breakfast and the atmosphere in which it is served. So many choices. The best homemade muffins in Bar Harbor. You can go to breakfast up till 10:00 am, get what you want, sit with whomever you want, and where you want. No stress, just amazing food and plenty of it. Waffles, pancakes, oatmeal, egg cassarole, fruit, bagels, coffee, juice, steamed eggs, and pound cake. During the day coffee and homemade cookies are available. The staff make you feel welcome. Every evening is complimentary happy hour with wine, cheese, cake. We love visiting with Marian the owner. She helps the guests feel comfortable and helps keep the conversation interesting.
The rooms are clean and the staff will help you with suggestions for activities around Bar Harbor. When we go to Bar Harbor this is where we stay.

Room Tip: We like to stay on the first floor so that we don't have to take our luggage up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia6343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

My wife and I make it a point to visit Bar Harbor every year. We live only 4 hrs away, but it is like getting away to a different country. After discovering the Mira Monte Inn we have returned year after year. Sometimes twice in one year. I guess that my favorite thing about Bar Harbor now is staying at Mira Monte.

I want to personally thank you Marian for helping my wife and I create such awesome memories.
We'll be back.
Dan

Room Tip: They have many different rooms. The site has pictures of each rooms. The breakfast is awesome. The 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you want charm, location and exceptional food, this is the place. The B & B is just adorable - beautifully decorated rooms, wonderful outdoor sitting areas and an extensive garden. There is a complimentary happy hour every day with wine & cheesse and it's a great place to interact with the other guests and the owner. Breakfast was an outstanding buffet with everything from organic oatmeal with Maine cranberries to fresh baked goods to wonderful egg frittatas. You can walk to everywhere in town from the inn. It is truly a palce to visit and revisit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.2 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#29 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mira Monte Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mira Monte Inn

Property: Mira Monte Inn
Address: 69 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1327
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mira Monte Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mira Monte Inn & Suites."Behold the Mountains"This historic Bar Harbor bed & breakfast inn reflects the grace and beauty of the mid-Victorian time. Each room features a fireplace and/or balcony and is uniquely styled with antique and period furnishings. The romantic atmosphere is said to be friendly, welcoming and cheerful. The morning full-breakfast buffet gets rave reviews; guests can choose to eat family style in the formal dining room, on the terrace, the breakfast porch, or in their own room.Mira Monte's mission is: to provide relaxation and comfort in beautiful, quiet surroundings of an elegant bed and breakfast inn. It's your vacation and you get to make the choices that meet your needs. Our friendly staff is always there for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mira Monte Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mira Monte Hotel Bar Harbor
Mira Monte Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing