We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wide variety” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Desert Island Ice Cream

Mount Desert Island Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 13 Dessert in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mount Desert Island Ice Cream makes handmade artisanal ice cream and sorbets in Bar Harbor and Portland, Maine. We have been named one of the top ice cream shops by Food and Wine.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wide variety”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

I always stop into MDI Ice Cream to see what flavors they have. I love to get salted caramel and sometimes mix it with one of the other awsome flavors they have. My favorites are mexican chocolate, wasabi, guinness and white russian. 2 locations in town so which ever part of Bar Harbor you are in you are never very far away. Always friendly staff and great service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mcmadmarauder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    104
    38
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
214 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Ginger Ice Cream!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

We popped in for a little ice cream after dinner, and it surely did not disappoint! The place is tiny, and the young lady who helped us and gave us tastes of different flavors was delightful!

I had the Ginger, and LOVED IT! it had that little bit of heat that ginger carries, and I thought is was perfect for after a nice meal! My sweetie had chocolate and the salted caramel flavors, and the salted caramel was rich and delish!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hollybelle210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“yummmmmmmmmmm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is delicious ice cream! My favorite flavor was sea salt caramel. They let you taste. They have nut free, gluten free, dairy free flavors as well. We went to 3 different locations. Usually there is a line in summer but it goes pretty fast.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phillip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“I love Ice Cream and this was good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

The ice cream here is very good and they have a good variety of original flavors. The staff was friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lookingforhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Ice Cream in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Even they have a small serving compared to other icecream parlor they still have the Best Icecream in town! Love It!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Desert Island Ice Cream also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Mount Desert Island Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing