We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ice cream we found...”

Mount Desert Island Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 13 Dessert in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Mount Desert Island Ice Cream makes handmade artisanal ice cream and sorbets in Bar Harbor and Portland, Maine. We have been named one of the top ice cream shops by Food and Wine.
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best ice cream we found...”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

If you were driving through Maine, you discovered that ice cream is a popular thing there. This was the best ice cream that we found on our trip to ME. The ice cream flavors were so true, and the taste was so incredibly creamy. We never experienced a line there, but if we did, it would be worth the wait. The staff was also nice, and allowed you to have a sample. I would HIGHLY recommend!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheerfultraveler41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    108
    39
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Really Creamy & Just GOOD”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

So many choices, so creamy...

The three of us each had a different ice cream; a sea salt caramel, the peanut butter, and the blueberry. Each was FANTASTIC.

We went towards closing so there weren't long lines.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank HappyHikerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So Delicious!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

There are a lot of the ice cream shops in Bar Harbor, but this one is the best and most unique! Homemade and unusual flavor combinations that are so delicious! They let you sample as many flavors as you like until you find the perfect one for you! Too many yummy choices! Take your ice cream to go and enjoy it in the park across the street!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Grove, CA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Ice Cream”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We visited Bar Harbor in August and stopped in for some Ice Cream on a Friday night. The town was jumping, lots of people having a great time in the resort town. The line was long, but didnt mind the wait. While the Ice Cream was good, it was not fantastic (in my opinion). The customer service was good and the were helpful and friendly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SearsPoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Truly Great Ice Cream”
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

I came to Mt. Desert expecting it to have been overhyped. Quite to the contrary, you can believe the hype! Incredible amount of flavors. Among my favorites were Maine Sweet Corn with Rasberry Swirl, Sea Salt Caramel, Bay of Figs, and Butterbeer. Of course, there are always a couple off all the wall flavors such as Roasted Beet and Gorgonzola. These are definitely acquired tastes, but go and try them. The prices are very reasonable considering the quality of the ice cream

Helpful?
Thank DuffyNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Desert Island Ice Cream also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Mount Desert Island Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing