We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Bar Harbor
Post
Inbox
Search
Save
Review Highlights
You need to put this on your list

Nice long walk, stunning terrain - really pretty - we enjoyed it so much. You will too - the views... read more

Reviewed October 31, 2019
Voyager619840
This is in the Acadia National Park

You still have to pay the main entry fee. This was absolutely beautiful. Well marked trails and... read more

Reviewed October 31, 2019
AVLME
,
Asheville, North Carolina
Read all 936 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Mount Desert Island
from $199.00
More Info
from $36.75
More Info
from $67.87
More Info
Reviews (936)
Filter reviews
936 results
Traveler rating
744
155
29
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
744
155
29
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews otter point sand beach thunder hole easy walk miles round trip beautiful walk on the rocks gorham mountain views are amazing in acadia national park rocky coast main street bar harbor inn low tide homes surf scenery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 936 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2018

Fresh air, good exercise and beautiful scenery. The Maine coastline is so pretty. We were there in the summer so it can get busy. If we come again we'd like to try September. Don't forget your camera.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank thomascU5061OV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2018 via mobile

This trail is a must when in Acadia Natl Park. It starts at Sand Beach (Parking) and goes all the way to Otter Point. It’s a well maintained and mostly flat gravel trail. We went all the way to Monument Cove and then walked back to get our car to drive to Otter Point. (We we’re running short on time) If you don’t love all the walking, the Park Loop Road runs along side with parking lots near most of the popular stops. (Thunder hole, monument cove, boulder beach, Otter point)The views are incredible!!!

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank badlandsbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2018

We started at Sand Beach and then made our way to the Ocean Trail path. It was an easy walk for our family, with a lot of great views and places to stop and look in tide pools. Highly recommend this hike!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2018

It's a long path and most of it is essentially the sidewalk of the park loop road. I recommend to walk a short section near the sand beach and walk down to the shore in a few spots to get a taste. Then just drive to the thunder hold and otter point.

Date of experience: July 2018
3  Thank graciet868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2018

I believe that this and the Shore Path are actually the same thing. It is a wonderful walk along the shoreline of Bar Harbor, Maine. There are several islands you can see, and big rock formations along the shore. There are a few places with steps going down to the shore. I would be perfectly happy walking this path every day, at least twice! Wear tennis shoes, especially if you plan to go down onto the beach. Walking over the rocks on the way down can be a bit tricky.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank MommyTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews