We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had a great guide, but not enough time at the top of the mountain.”

Oli's Trolley - Acadia National Park Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Fully narrated trolley tours of Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park open April through Oct
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
186 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“We had a great guide, but not enough time at the top of the mountain.”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

So nothing inherently wrong with the tour and it was advertised clearly that we would only have a 15 minute stop at the top of the mountain in the 1 hour tour. It was a great tour, we had a great guide. He was knowledgeable. I just wished that they told us the amount of time that would be needed to see everything at the top of the mountain and do a bit of walking around. You probably need a good hour to enjoy a decent amount of it. While it was good, since we were off of a cruise, I would have probably rented a car or taxi to take us up which would be more costly, but would give more time to see things.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank savvy_traveller175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    874
    223
    55
    20
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What Fun!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Because of the government shut down we were unable to visit Acadia National Park and had to find alternate things to do and Oli's Trolley was one of the best things we could have done. We took the 1hour tour of Bar Harbor and it was perfect!
Our guide, Mike S., was both knowledgeable and funny. He told us about the history of the island and pointed out areas of interest for us to do after the tour. All in all, it was the best hour I have spent in a long time. I highly recommend .

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jomichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, ME, United States
Level Contributor
188 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Choose this first”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

When you arrive to the Island choose this 2 1.2 hour Trolley as your first excursion. Burt was our driver and narrator. He was fabulous. With Acadia National Park closed due to the goverment shutdown they had to reroute the tour since we could not get in the Park. The tour was interesting...he told the history of the island and the various areas. We got to see where the rich and famous lived, the pretty places to walk, etc. Very well done. Do this first and you'll know where to go. Ask for Burt's trolley. He was fabulous.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Glynis407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Took the 2-1/2 hr tour and and it was well worth it! Our driver was Jim and provided so much knowledgeable, interesting information. We would do this tour again and would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to learn more about the area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bloggerkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, NJ, USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Paula, our driver/guide, was fabulous!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

While on a recent cruise with a stop in Bar Harbor, Maine my husband and I took the one hour tour of Acadia National Park on Oli's Trolley. Paula, our driver and guide, was fabulous both navigating the trolley on narrow, winding road and giving us a fabulous amount of commentary on the history
and geography of the area. This tour is a "must" when visiting Bar Harbor!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RealtorAtSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oli's Trolley - Acadia National Park Tour also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Oli's Trolley - Acadia National Park Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing