We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect budget hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tumon Bay Capital Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tumon Bay Capital Hotel
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Tumon
roma
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect budget hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

it's the perfect compromise beetween quality and convenience.the position is perfect, The rooms are clean and very big. there is a little swimmig pool and the personal is ok. the beach is near and you can go by foot. Good for the nighlife.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sicisub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    22
    68
    37
    16
See reviews for
44
22
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Guam
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2009

The Capital Bay is one of our families favorite get aways. It is right nest to Tarza Water Park and near TGIFriday's, Planet Hollywood, Hard Rock Cafe, Pearl Cafe, Galleria, etc. The rooms are larger than most other hotels in Tumon and have connecting doors for families. It is very good on New Year's Eve since all of the rooms face the ocean and the fireworks. We usually stay here every year!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lsrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2008

We just came back from 2.5-day Guam stay, quite content with the blue sky, limegreen beach with tons of fish, and useful advice from the staff at this hotel.

The hotel is located up on the hill so you'd have to walk up about 5 min from the main street, which was a good exercise for us, but compared with other hotels facing the Tumon Bay, the hotel was so quiet and tranquil with a very good view just as other reviewers mentioned, we had a very good sleep in a spacious room. The room was kept clean and we even walked on barefoot in the room just like we Japanese do at home.

We took a beach tour to the north area. They have a phone at the front desk, available for guests at the hotel and we used it to reconfirm the tour for free. I mean we didn't have to pay any extra charge by using the room phone.

We didn't have to use any troley bus, but the bus service looked quite convenient in the Tumon area and others to take you almost everywhere popular to sightsee or for shopping(We were not at all interested in shopping) for a small fee.

The Thai restaurant the lady at the hotel desk recommended to us was fabulous; food was great and plenty, not so expensive, for us dinner cost $40 per person including beer, wine and service fee.

Overall I like this hotel and will choose it again for a relaxing stay at Guam.

  • Liked — Good view, cleanliness, spae
  • Disliked — no internet service
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hiroyasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ridgeville, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2007

I stayed at this hotel in February 2007 for a few nights and I got to say this was a great hotel for the $66/night. You have towalk about 5-10 min across the street to the beach but you can not beat this value. The room was very clean, spacious, with a nice balconie overlooking the bay of Tumon. It is very worth the money you pay for it. It is near the shopping/attaction areas. The only thing I did not like was the I had to pay for my ride to the airport on my own.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank cmp007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2007

I stayed at the Capital hotel for 4 days. It is good value for the money but not a lot of luxuries if that is what you are looking for. The room is clean and the A/C worked wonderfully. You also have a refrigerator in the room. If you are staying at the hotel you will want a rental car since it is about 2 blocks uphill from the strip of shops and restaurants. The staff was very prompt with my request for extra towels. If you are used to staying at a Motel 6 or equivalent this is a fine hotel. Clean rooms without the pricey room rate.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank NavyWifeJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2006

Flew into Guam on a military flight. I made last minute reservations over the phone and stayed for my entire trip (only about 3 days). Staff was extremely friendly and helpfull. The hotel is nothing fancy, but well maintained, and excellent deal (had a daily special of $60 day/off season). Has a decent pool and nice little restaurant. Located in the heart of Tumon, next to Tarza Water Park and behind TGI Fridays. Instead of getting a rental car as planned, due to the hotels location, tried one of the shopping bus passes which worked out great. Will definitely stay there again on my next trip!

  • Liked — Location and Price
  • Disliked — Kind of up a hill, kind of annoying if tired and walking back to the hotel
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Mikeythai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tumon
0.1 mi away
Guam Plaza Hotel
Guam Plaza Hotel
#5 of 10 in Tamuning
3.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
0.3 mi away
Guam Reef & Olive Spa Resort
1.2 mi away
Verona Resort & Spa
Verona Resort & Spa
#14 of 20 in Tumon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Resort & Spa Guam
0.5 mi away
Grand Plaza Hotel
Grand Plaza Hotel
#18 of 20 in Tumon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel Guam
Bayview Hotel Guam
#12 of 20 in Tumon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tumon Bay Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tumon Bay Capital Hotel

Property: Tumon Bay Capital Hotel
Address: 1448 Pale San Vitores Rd, Tumon, Guam 96913-4200, Mariana Islands
Location: Mariana Islands > Guam > Tumon
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Tumon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tumon Bay Capital Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Tumon Bay Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tumon Bay Capital Hotel Guam, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing