We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Average holiday hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Guam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Guam
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Tumon
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Average holiday hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel obviously requires a big upgrade. It is quite run down and very basic (no wifi). The rooms are clean and the staffs do try (but service is just average). For the price you pay, it's better to try to find a newer hotel. The best thing in the hotel is the view, but you'd get at in every hotel in Guam.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelmadame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    430
    144
    64
    40
See reviews for
485
172
47
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

The good - a beautiful location on the beach, nice gardens, spacious rooms. The hotel is starting to look a bit shabby though. Paint missing in pools, hallways in serious need of repainting, carpets in need of replacement. My room smelled moldy and the ventilation system seemed to be drawing air directly from kitchen exhaust - and dumping it directly into the closet! Too noisy to sleep as other guests' doors slam when shutting and are noisy all along hallway. The service was also not great - hotel missed my airport pickup (in spite of the confirmation email that was sent while I was in the air) and at breakfast, I had to chase down serving staff to get coffee refills. I really expected more for $250 a night...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globefamKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I traveled to Guam to attend a conference with my husband who travels frequently to Guam for his job. The Guam Hyatt wasn't exactly what I expected but it was fine and the staff was very friendly. I would say it probably needs some refurbishing but I have to say that Guam is a difficult environment to keep things fresh and clean because of the high humidity. Also, because Guam has hurricanes the buildings are constructed with concrete.....and the outside of the hotels just don't look great because of these climate issues. I think it must be one of the nicer hotels on Guam which is why my husband stays there when he goes. The room was large enough but probably needed some new carpeting. The view was lovely and on our floor there was complimentary evening wine and cheese and a nice breakfast in the morning. The hotel restaurants are great...I loved the italian one. I would stay there again but I don't know much about the other hotels near by. The Hyatt is large, the conference we attended was held there in the ballroom. I did enjoy my time on Guam, it's an interesting place with WW2 history and of course has some beautiful beaches. The history of Guam is very interesting as well, we took a tour of the island but I don't recall what tour company it was with. I went to a small WW2 museum (by myself, not with tour) maybe a 10 min drive from the hotel, it's just a little building on the side of the road. I think you just make a donation for admission. There are a bunch of artifacts to see, I liked it. It's a simple building can't recall if there were handicap ramps.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawaiiginny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Location is great, and you cannot ask more. Hotel is old, and it should be renovated. Carpet in common areas and in the bedroom smells bad! Food at La mirenda is awful, and at Al dente is accettable (but fortunately here service is good).
Club solution is definitively giving less than the expectations. Lounge desk is not always open, and food is offered in small quantities, and saving seems to be a must for the staff.
At the beachside everything is based on rental fees (a rubber ring is rented for 10usd per day, and you can buy it at ABC for 3.4 sud.....).
But seawater is great, and for few days rest is ok.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigio1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
129 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Hyatt is most likely the best hotel on Guam and their beach is also in a perfect location with beautiful white soft sand. Remember this is a Hyatt Regency and not a Grand Hyatt so expect a little less, still the service was great and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The Room are huge and clean, and kept well, but could use a bit of renovation by now. The location is also great and a 5 minute or less walk into the town of Tumon.

The only Big issue i had and most people complained about is that the WIFI is only in the lobby and they still only have a Lan Line for 20 usd ( that's expensive by the way, most hotels are 12-15 dollars and these days many are free ) Hyatt Guam, you need WIFI in the rooms and more free WIFI around the hotel, like in the restaurants and perhaps the pool area too. Everyone is connected these days, especially most of your customers from Japan, Korean and other parts of Asia.

Also Hyatt Guam, i had to call every day for a week to beg to get my room cleaned up, and i called 2-3 times sometimes at 5 pm. There is a big problem with housekeeping !!! The staff is nice and helpful so that makes up for part of it. But the rooms need to be cleaned in the mornings like all hotels do. I stayed on the 6th floor so i am not sure if its the staff there or on all the floors.

Room Tip: Stay at the upper level floors with the Regency club. i was told these rooms are renovated and bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

The Hyatt brand is rapidly becoming more like a Motel 6 than an international hotel. The Hyatt Guam is in need of a lick of paint and some new carpet. There was no doorman or porter on arrival and without automatic doors it made getting in to the hotel with quite a bit of luggage annoying. I checked in at 3.15pm and the room wasn't ready yet. The room was a good size but there is no wifi and the Internet cable was broken and frayed. The minbar was empty. There was a note to another guest on the desk. The cleaning staff spend a lot of time yelling in the hall ways. The fittings are tired with mould on curtains, rust on metal and scratches on wood and plaster. Certainly not worth the money.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel is not up to Hyatt brand standards - if you are expecting what you get in a stateside Hyatt Regency, you will be very disappointed. I usually stay at the Hilton here and only stayed here becuase the Hilton and Westin were sold out.

Positives; Nice location, all rooms face ocean, nice grounds with pools.

Negatives: Almost everything else: (1) Hallway carpets and walls are badly stained - Guam is a tough environment for buildings, but this hotel needs completely new carpets and paint in all the hallways - and once they do that they should start a regular replacment cycle to replace them all every 18-24 months - all because of the environment - what's there now is disgusting; (2) No wifi in rooms; $20/day for Cat5 data cable internet, which is an outrage on the island with the best bandwidth in the Pacific; (3) No hair dryer in the room either; (4) No coffee in the room - there weren't even any of the instant coffee packets; (5) Breakfast restaurant doesn't open till 7:00 a.m. (a dead give away that they only get desperate business travelers - Hilton's opens at 6:30 a.m.) - overwhelming majority of guests are Japanese tourists. Sad thing is this isn't the worst hotel in Guam, but it's a long way from being the best - a #4 ranking for Guam is a travesty.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abd1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tumon
0.3 mi away
Guam Reef & Olive Spa Resort
0.1 mi away
Dusit Thani Guam Resort
0.4 mi away
The Westin Resort Guam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Guam Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nikko Guam
Hotel Nikko Guam
#5 of 20 in Tumon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sheraton Laguna Guam Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Guam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Guam

Property: Hyatt Regency Guam
Address: 1155 Pale San Vitores Rd, Tumon, Guam 96913-4206, Mariana Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Mariana Islands > Guam > Tumon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tumon
#3 Family Hotel in Tumon
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tumon
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tumon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Guam 4.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Guam is Guam’s premium destination resort located in a prime 150-meter beachfront site in the heart of Tumon Bay and Guam’s popular shopping and entertainment area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Guam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Guam Hotel Tumon
Hyatt Regency Tumon
Hyatt Regency Hotel Guam
Hyatt Tumon
Hyatt Regency Guam South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing