We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but perfectly acceptable”
Review of Bayview Hotel Guam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayview Hotel Guam
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Tumon
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I booked the Bayview on the basis of its location and the fact it looked to be a reasonable hotel at a reasonable price, certainly compared to what are predominantly higher end options in Tumon.

Generally speaking I have no complaints, and it served its purpose for my 2 day stay in Guam.

The room (10th floor) was large and spacious, clean, with a small fridge (no mini bar items provided), large TV (very limited tv channels, and the picture quality was appalling), a large comfortable bed and a reasonable (though quite small, certainly in comparison to the rest of the room) bathroom.

The room had a balcony, though I believe all rooms do.

Wifi was free and the signal in my room was great.

Generally it was fine, but it was most certainly dated, worn carpets, infact worn probably best describes the decor in general and its in need of a refurb. The toilet roll holder had a built in ashtray, which speaks volumes (an antique nowadays).

I didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment in that respect, infact on the basis I was out early each day and not back until late in the evening my comments are limited to the room, the check in/out lobby staff (who were very friendly and very helpful) and the airport transfer (US style mini bus/van) which was prompt/reliable.

The transfer driver (Tony, a very friendly Filipino gentleman) has a car/taxi of his own and offers island tours.

Its no more than a 5 to 10 minute walk to the main strip of Tumon bay, though the walk back (up a reasonably steep hill) takes it out of you after a few beers!

All in all, in light of its location and reasonable rates I would return, but I'm hopeful the rooms will be refurbished sooner rather than later, else customers such as myself will start to pay a little more and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 335 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

I like staying at the Bayview because it is affordable and not far from the airport. My flights usually depart very early in the morning. With Bayview's location so near to the airport, I don't have to get up too early to go to the airport. Bayview offers a beautiful view of the bay. Bayview has easy check-in/check-out. On a recent trip, when someone had to come assist because the key did not work, the gentlemen felt I had been placed on a floor too high up (perhaps because I was a female travelling alone). I'm glad he took the initiative before I had to ask. Transportation is made available for less than the price of a taxi. Bayview is located within walking distance near shopping and restaurants. I have stayed here twice and would continue to do so in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelQueen257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Walk just 5mins to the main street and luxury hotels. So you don't need to spend lots of money and also have the good location and big room hotel. The only one shortage is that their check in time is 3:00pm but the flight arrive at 4:00am~

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amandachu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We chose this hotel, though an airline package tour, based on its district and value. The check-in service at the hotel was quick. There were no bellhops to assist with our luggage, so we have to drag it all the way to our room. The amenities in our spacious non-smoking room were just enough for us to stay comfortably, though dated. The bed was clean and comfortable. The TV only has limited channels for viewing. The location of the hotel was uphill from the bay, yet having a short distance. It was a fine experience staying at this hotel with great comfort and value.

Room Tip: Be sure to check the lock of the bathroom door, and the slide door for the veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James_Y01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Travelling to Guam for the weekend had us staying at the Bayview. It was surprisingly pleasant with rooms very clean, spacious and comfortable with a spectacular view of Tumon Bay. Although it may lack some of the more luxurious amenities offered by higher priced hotels, it was wonderfully priced and had all the necessities you'd want in a hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views of the bay and surrounding areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uherbelaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I stayed at the Bayview for a quick stopover in Guam, not wishing to shell out the prices for the big hotels near the Tumon bay but still willing to have a decent night before taking the plane again. The Bayview was a perfect choice.

The hotel is very close to the Tumon area (5 min walk to the Westin and the beach), also close to shops and restaurants.

It's not a luxurious 5-star, some furnitures are starting to show their age, and the TV is an old CRT with a handful channels. However, the place is kept clean, the staff is professional and the views on the upper floors are probably better than what you get in more expensive places near the beach. The rooms are very spacious and the bed is confortable. What else can you ask for such a price ?

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tensaibuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I wound up in this hotel when all the hotes that are on the beach were full. This is one of the few hotels on Tumon that is not on beach front property. You can get to the beach but it will be a five minute walk down the hill requiring that you cross the street. The hotel is 90% filled with Japanese charter groups of young men and women who come from Japan on Packaged tours. I found the hotel staff to be very friendly and professional, check in was a bit chaotic but the two ladies working the front desk were hustling and taking care of a multitude of people. The hotel is located on a hill. It has a small parking lot but I did not have any problems finding a parking spot. Most of the folks staying there do not have cars because they get bussed everywhere. Lobby is mediocre, really nothing there but a bunch of places to sit. The rooms are interesting, you enter from the rear where the view is a cliffside. Every room however also faces the street and you can see Tumon. Beach is at a distance and between buildings when it comes to viewing. Nothing to really view directly in front of building. The decor and furniture is about 20-25 years old. Place was clean. TV was older model, limited channels less than 10. Size of rooms are a big plus. As can be expected the price for the hotel is lower than the beach front property ones. The place has a laundry room on the third floor that you can use, it is small, two washers and two dryers and you need quarters to use. Not much noise in the room, bed was comfortable, bathroom was on the small side. Overall an average place. I would say it was worth the money. I have stayed on most of the beach hotels and if I was looking to save money I would definately stay at this place. Biggest plus is the staff. Free WIFI in the Lobby but you have to pay in the room.

Room Tip: All rooms have the same view but the higher you go the more you can see. If you get one below the 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jocampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tumon
0.9 mi away
Holiday Resort & Spa Guam
0.1 mi away
Oceanview Hotel and Residences
0.1 mi away
Guam Plaza Hotel
Guam Plaza Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamuning
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Guam Reef & Olive Spa Resort
1.7 mi away
Hilton Guam Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Royal Orchid Guam Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel Guam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Guam

Address: 1475 Pale San Vitores Rd, Tumon, Guam 96913-4222, Mariana Islands
Location: Mariana Islands > Guam > Tumon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Tumon
Price Range: $85 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayview Hotel Guam 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Tumon Bay, guests can unwind in their private balconies as they watch the beautiful ocean water and stunning sunset. Guests looking to enjoy the sites can venture out to the Pleasure Island Strip, where world class shopping, restaurants, bars, and local attractions can be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bayview Hotel Guam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana Bayview Guam Tumon
Ohana Bayview Guam Hotel Tumon
Bayview Hotel Guam South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing