We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Resort & Spa Guam
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Tumon
Reviewed June 19, 2012

The room we booked waste holiday suite. Very spacious and a very nice view.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (592)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Resort & Spa Guam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 592 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2012

Don't be fooled by the lobby, stayed on the 6th floor, the smell of a swamp hit me in an instant. Room was cold and clammy. The room smelled nice for an hour, febreeze can work wonders. The bathroom was very rusty, like a cheap hotel. No fresh soap or towels. The view from the balcony was the only good experience. Very outdated Tv, coffee pot in room brewed coffee with a weird film. Im only sharing what I endured, I just got here and ready to check out! We just moved here from Virgina, my family and I and trying to sleep here was difficult. I hope this review will help more than just viewed as a complaint.

Room Tip: Don't stay here ....period!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Phyllis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Stayed for three nights, booked through expedia at $75 per night. At that rate, this place is a great value.

Pros:
-Well maintained. Rooms are clean and the usual American size, with balconies and a mini-fridge. I think you can also request a microwave for your room if you need it.
-Front desk check in/check out was efficient and friendly. When we checked in they had already set up a crib in our room (we had added that to the special requests section in our expedia booking, but hotels rarely actually read that).
-Good location on beach side of road, and walkable to plenty of things (although definitely rent a car if you come to guam).
-Decent pool, that's entirely shaded in the morning (good for my kid).
-On site parking for guests is free.
-Convenience mart in lobby sells beers/sake/wine/snacks.
-5 minute drive from airport.

Cons:
-Wifi is complimentary (pro!), but I couldn't get it to work (so con).
-Food at main lobby restaurant was pretty bad, though reasonably priced and huge portions.
-Airport shuttle is $10 per person per direction (cheaper to rent a car).
-"Guest relation" desk recommended to us, in this order, for breakfast: Burger King, MacDonalds, then Denny's. While I was definitely not interested in eating some fast-food I could get on the mainland, in her defense, the Denny's was packed with locals, so maybe that's a good place anyway.

Bottom Line:
Good, clean, nice staff, great value. Would definitely stay there again as a base to explore Guam.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1gr8plan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

A number of the facilities were in poor working order, the TV remote control did not work, the main entrance light did not work, both reported to the reception,the bathroom was not clean, evidence of long female hair in bath, before use? no action taken during the three day stay to rectify.

The breakfast buffet, and the one day I took breakfast was extremely poor,overcooked and greasy, the coffee was like mud, and the inability to serve hot tea?

The hotel played "Kenny G" music to death in the lobby which was dank and musty. Spent a short time at the pool, only to be interrupted by an employee steam cleaning the area??

The Bell staff, were sullen and unhelpful, and seemed more intent with joking around and gossiping.


For the room rates charged they could do better. The hotel is sadly lacking in management, and direction. The establishment could do with a complete overall.....Perhaps the only saving grace was the "free" wifi in the lobby.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quest_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I was stayed here during a work trip during April 2012. My room was absolutely wonderful; clean and spacious with a view of the ocean. Although I didn't spend much time in the hotel, other than sleeping, I did enjoy their breakfast buffet. The spread included traditional American breakfast food and Japanese cuisine as well. The lavish spread was worth every penny.
The staff was extremely accommodating and was very pleasant.

My only negative commentary was the lack of WiFi. Recently installed, the hotel only provides WiFi in the lobby, not the rooms.

Room Tip: As for an free upgrade before you arrive...typically they will accommodate you if the room is availa...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pgswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Located adjacent to the beach, the HRS is well located on the edge of the busier portion of the Tumon beach hotel/restaurant/shopping street. While it is a bit worn and the AC a little noisy, it is an economical option with good basic facilities. The pool on the 5th floor is moderate in size and there is beach access nearby with good, sandy beaches and some limited snorkeling. There are a couple of restaurants in the hotel (we tried the Korean restaurant – see separate review) and a California Pizza place on the ground level. The main café has buffets breakfast ($16/person and just so-so), lunch and dinner (latter themed). There’s parking underground and on the surface and a rental car operation (bit pricey at $60/day but convenient) inside along with a tour agent.

Room Tip: Higher up for better view and quieter, but slower elevator.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianTravelholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

One of my closest friends and colleague from Washington, DC, came to Guam to conduct a workshop for our programs at the University of Guam. She booked herself at this hotel for five nights from Saturday, January 7 to Thursday, January 12, 2012. I was somewhat skeptical about her choice hotel because I read several reviews of the hotel which made me very uncomfortable silently. How terribly wrong I was.....and my apologies to the hotel. My friend had nothing but high praise for the hotel from the bellman who took her luggage to her room to the front desk clerk who checked her in. Then for the five days she was on Guam, she kept saying how wonderful the hotel was and is and that the amenities were really nice. Every day after the workshop (I was her driver for her entire visit) she would want to go back to her hotel room so that she would continue to enjoy her room especially with the view of the ocean. When I took her to the airport on the day she was leaving, she said if she ever come back to Guam she would not hesitate to go back to this hotel. While I was not the guest of the hotel, it is always refreshing to know that there are hotels on Guam that provides excellent services and that its amenities would satisfy a person from our nation's capitol. I know my friend will be sharing her wonderful experience with her friends and colleagues who are working for our national organization that has over 2,000 members strong from throughout the nation and its territories including Guam and the freely associated states.

Thank you Holiday Resort for showing my friend that Guam has excellent hotels with excellent services and amenities.

Yoichi K. Rengiil
Director, TRIO Programs
University of Guam

Room Tip: If you read negative reviews of the hotel, make sure they are current since the hotel has made major...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yrengiil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tumon
0.8 mi away
Guam Reef & Olive Spa Resort
1.0 mi away
Hilton Guam Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Guam Plaza Hotel
Guam Plaza Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamuning
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Orchid Guam Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Guam
Hyatt Regency Guam
#4 of 20 in Tumon
1,168 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oceanview Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Resort & Spa Guam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Resort & Spa Guam

Address: 881 Pale San Vitores Rd, Tumon, Guam 96913-4014, Mariana Islands (Formerly Holiday Resort Guam)
Location: Mariana Islands > Guam > Tumon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Tumon
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Tumon
Price Range: $89 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Resort & Spa Guam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Resort Guam is ideally located in Guam's favorite tourist spot! Our great central location puts you in reach of entertainment, activities, luxury and budget shopping, and a variety of restaurants located north and south of Tumon. Enjoy the view of local canoes nestled in the park during your quick minute stroll to the white sands of Matapang Beach and the panoramic ocean views or dip into the peaceful lagoon and snorkel among the abundant marine life in the Tumon Bay sanctuary. Come and enjoy all there is in and around Holiday Resort Guam, the best Resort in Guam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Resort & Spa Guam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Resort Guam Hotel Tumon
Holiday Hotel Guam
Holiday Hotel Tumon
Holiday Resort & Spa Guam South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing