We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
South Pacific Memorial Park
Review Highlights
An emotional place.

This is a memorial to the Japanese dead. Manu who were killed were put in mass graves,and later... read more

Reviewed March 26, 2017
lisa w
,
sandy utah
Obscure, but Fascinating WWII Site

This is privately owned WWII memorial site, and is more from the Japanese perspective. The... read more

Reviewed January 21, 2017
POL4Life
,
Fort Belvoir, Virginia
Read all 38 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Hagatna
from $75.00
More Info
from $55.00
More Info
from $30.00
More Info
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveler rating
13
19
5
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
13
19
5
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 38 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2018

South Pacific Memorial Park is a lovely park for tourist as well as public and all to visit and see the Pacific Memorial Park.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Johnston P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2017 via mobile

The memorial's message for peace is important, and I liked the shape of the monument (2 praying hands).

However, the location is not well marked, and the whole place seemed uncared for. When traveling north on Route 1, the sign for the park is on the opposite side of the road, low to the ground, faded and the top part in Japanese, the bottom in English. I missed it the first time--easy to do. After turning around, and heading south on Route 1, I spotted the sign. Unfortunately, it is AFTER the turn off to the park. So I had to circle back again. You need to turn on the road right next to the Mormon church.

I think the memorial and the nearby chapel are in need of a coat of paint. I know the weather is tough on buildings, but the mold on the chapel ceiling gave me the impression that the site is not well taken care of which is a shame. It's worth visiting. Only one other couple was there at the same time I was there. I wish more people would visit.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Mathyew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2017 via mobile

The location you have set here is wrong.
The place it's located at is north, in the village of Yigo. It's a place where the Japanese tourist go on the memorial of the II World War. There are groups that come from Japan every year to present flowers.
If your looking to go around the island to see the war memorial this is one of them.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank joannt664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2017

This is a memorial to the Japanese dead. Manu who were killed were put in mass graves,and later burried here. There is an almost hallowed feeling.

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank lisa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2017

This is privately owned WWII memorial site, and is more from the Japanese perspective. The location was basically the last organized Japanese command site before the Americans pushed the rest of the way through. A short way down a walking path, you will see the bunkers the Japanese command held out before taking their own lives. The memorial chapel also has some artifacts collected from the bunkers along with tributes left behind over the years. It's a somber location as it should be. A little out of the way from the typical touristy areas, but well worth the stop.

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank POL4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews