We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sadie's by the Sea
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tradewinds Hotel(Pago Pago)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveler rating
54
66
38
17
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
66
38
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgoat island cafeamerican samoaprivate beachcoffee makersouth pacificthe staff was greatthe air conditioningon premisesview of the baysecurity guycruise shipfree continental breakfastterrible smellfree snorkeling gearresident turtlesrestaurant staff were very friendlyspacious room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 185 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just finished a one week meeting at Sadie's and it was absolutely fantastic! We stayed there and used their conference room for our meeting-- it was so convenient. The service was top notch with the staff willing to assist and serve with anything with that smile--without even being asked sometimes! And the food was really really good too!

The conference room was nice and spacious and with an eating area. The rooms were excellent with everyday cleaning too. Heaps of kiosks within walking distance. Also the marine park building that showcases a lot of the marine environment in Am.Samoa--which by the way, has a 3D Globe Projector Screen. It is right next to Sadies so its good to check it out. But honestly, with such service, I don't care if I live in a run-down house. The service really matters and that's what draws me more to stay anywhere. I definitely recommend it to anybody

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Have now stayed here three times and at the other hotels to compare. This one is by far the best location as far as beauty goes. Right on the beach and near town (or I should say village). You are walking distance to a public beach and multiple eateries. The big complaint I had last visit was unreliable internet and that has gotten much better, all the rooms now are within signal of wireless (however the island still has the problem of original slow cable coming in so bandwidth remain an issue island wide). The hotel's pool was cleaner and clearly they are trying to better maintain it. The restaurant The Goat Island Cafe remains one of the better restaurants on the island. It has two stories, the downstairs is tiled and the upstairs carpeted. The rooms are dated but clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Personally I'd chose an upstairs room close to the front office.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cardiotron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was a great hotel! It's located fairly close to downtown, within walking distance. It wasn't much in the way of looks from the outside, but the rooms were cold (good ac!!), large and well equipped with two beds, a desk, TV (with cable), mini fridge and coffee pot, and a giant bathroom.
There was a small private beach on the property as well. There was a pool, it was popular but the water was foggy so I did not swim. There is also a small store that sells small pantry items and some gifts.
The bar/resturant was outragously priced, but did have huge portions (8 pieces of bacon for breakfast) and some items that you don't find anywhere else on the island (steak salad with eggplant).
There was free wireless internet which worked in my room and on the beach (huge plus), althought it was slow at times and occassionally did not work at all - 75% of the time it was good. There was a small balcony on each room with a table and chairs, great for happy hour with friends.
Overall I was very imporessed with the hotel, given it's lackluster appearnce, the wifi, ocean, and walkability to downtown made this a top choice in my mind!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom-Sadies, Owner at Sadie's by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thanks for the favorable review. An exterior face-lift should be completed by the end of August. We will not rest until we are again the #1 ranked hotel on Tripadvisor!
--Tom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

If you are on vacation in American Samoa or want to be near the sea, then Sadie's is the place to be. Well located close to shops and restaurants in Pago Pago, Sadie's has a great view across the water, a nice pool area and small but pleasant sandy beach. The hotel amenities and rooms are basic and dated, but clean and functional. Staff are helpful and friendly. The hotel cafe has great views across the water and is reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room for the best views.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelDude747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were unsure about whether to stay here, but decided to try it since it is on the water. Here are some things to be aware of: only 2 guests/room can use the pool for free above that you pay, locals use the pool wearing their clothing, so the pool was so filthy we couldn't see the bottom, the restaurant has live music which goes fairly late on weekends, 2 teenagers got into a fight on the beach and security was nowhere to be found, the front desk staff was very unhelpful we had to ask 3 times for towels for our room and never got the plug for our bathtub which was missing. Several people had told us to go to Tradewinds and we regretted not taking their advice. Stay at Tradewinds, but come eat at the Goat Island restaurant, we did enjoy that and the kayaking.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Java73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom-Sadies, Owner at Sadie's by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Firstly, there is NO CHARGE for pool/beach use for any registered guest. This is not limited to 2 per room. This complaint was on Mother's Day. Guest requested 6 extra towels but only had 2 guests registered. They complained bitterly when told that there was a $5 charge for outside guests!

And, yes, the pool and facilities were taxed to the max being both Mother's Day and the fact that an 1,800 passenger cruise ship was in port with many cruise ship passengers taking advantage of our beach and facilities.

As far as the teenagers fighting is concerned, that was reported and found to be simply boisterous horseplay. Security was aware of this situation which never got out of hand.

We do have live music Thursday through Saturday and also on Cruise Ship days when we normally have an influx of 200 to 300 passengers enjoying the facilities.

--Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews