We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could do better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sadie's by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sadie's by the Sea
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pago Pago
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Could do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We recently stayed here for 4 nights and were slightly disappointed, given the cost of the room. Our initial room was lovely, carpeted floors, large plasma screen, etc except for one thing... the giant rat we found in our room! He was huge! We were promptly moved into a room on a lower floor with a smaller bed, small TV and tiled floors. The fridge was not working, the kettle had festering water inside, and then on day 3 when the toilet clogged up, my sister blew a fuse. The staff were generally friendly and accomodating, however my mother found one lady to be particularly rude each time she spoke with her. Overall, the hotel was nice and I have nothing to compare it to in American Samoa (as we only stayed here) but I never plan on returning there, so that says something.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3mm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    58
    30
    15
    9
See reviews for
26
29
16
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our stay at Sadies by the Sea Hotel was fine and enjoyable. Plenty of room and semi-clean. The only problem we had was with the beds. The beds are outdated and may be infected with bedbugs. When we left the hotel after a nine-day stay, noticed that my body (thighs & legs) had quite a bit of bug bites. The beds were so old and did not smell right. You can almost see the cloth covering the bedboards starting to fall apart. The milddew was not as bad as in the other hotels on the island of Tutuila. Had problems with our rented cellular phone. We were without one for 7 out of 9 days stay at Sadies. The WiFi was not working inside the room. You have to go to the office to use it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gasolo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I are making our way to all 58 of the National Parks, and The National Park of American Samoa was number 55 on the list. We looked at our hotel options on AS and as you are probably noticing, it's pretty slim pickins.

The hotel is pretty much as has been described. Quite modest, pretty outdated, and in need of an overhaul. The staff, as is the case with most Samoans, was very friendly and cordial.

We had an upstairs room with a beautiful view of the harbor. The room smelled musty, and we requested another upon check-in, but none was available. We were told that the first floor rooms have tile, while the 2nd floor rooms have carpet. The carpet in our room was pretty worn, and we suspected that's where most of the funky smell was situated. The staff treated it for us and it smelled a bit better.

The humidity in Samoa was incredible, at least the three days we were there, so it's no surprise that the rooms don't get much of a chance to dry out.

We ate breakfast at the hotel one morning and dinner there twice. Pretty basic, but decent food and friendly and prompt servers. Don't expect four star dining, but the burgers are good and the fish my wife ordered both nights was fine.

The food at Tisa's, a half hour from the hotel, was very good and we recommend that as well. Tisa keeps some pretty odd hours, and the first night we tried to go Tisa and her husband were out fishing and didn't even open for business. Call and make a reservation at Tisa's....talk to her directly....don't take the word of the staff at Sadie's....there's a huge disconnect there. Tisa's has a nice BBQ on Wednesday's, we were told. I've attached a photo of the wonderful lunch we had at Tisa's

There's a pool at Sadie's, but the water looked a little hazy so we passed on taking a swim. There's a nice beach, although there was often trash floating in the water nearby.

I don't think the price of the hotel was all that expensive, given the availability of rooms on American Samoa..or lack thereof.

We rented a Toyota from the hotel desk, and while it was pretty dirty, with stained seats, it ran fine and got us where we needed to go. The staff let us keep it for a few extra hours on the last day we had it at no additional charge. They also let us stay in our room until the bus left for the airport at 8:00 on Thursday evening, which was very kind.

Take some snacks, most of the small stores on the island are run by Chinese guys, and many don't take credit cards. Prices aren't really all that bad, given the remote location of American Samoa.

The roads on the island are fabled to be some of the worst on the planet, but apart from potholes here and there they weren't much worse than the streets of Indianapolis in February. And the speed limit on the island, which is pretty much 25 MPH everywhere, does a good job of keeping you from busting a tire by hitting a pothole at high speed. We didn't ride any of the small, colorful buses that are constantly cruising up and down the roads, but the Samoans take advantage of them, especially workers at the Starkist cannery and other folks going to and from work.

Overall, the beauty of the island is superb. The water is some of the prettiest we've ever experienced, and the beaches are deserted. We hiked to the top of Mt. Alava and only saw three other people on the five hour round trip. It was a beautiful hike, with plenty of shade, tons of chirping birds and coconut and banana trees all along the way. Be sure to take this hike if you're in decent shape.

Finally, American Samoa is a really different place. There are VERY few tourists, and most Samoans were surprised that we were there on a visit, and didn't have some official, business or governmental reason for being there. Needless to say, they were all friendly and hospitable.

Hope this review was helpful!

Room Tip: Choose a lower level to get tile floors....choose an upper floor to get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are fairly basic but clean, probably should be half the price that they are charging. However it does seem to be the only option so if you want to visit American Samoa there's probably no other hotel choice in a decent location which is no doubt what the owners are banking on. For the price I'd have thought they could do something to make the exterior less like a cell block.

The kettle didn't work, they replaced it with a coffee percolator so we ended up boiling water in the microwave.

Food in the attached restaurant, the Goat, was ok though and reasonably priced which was good. The beach was clean as was the pool

American Samoa is with a visit though and Sadie's is probably a good base to explore. I'd suggest hiring a car at the airport though as they seem to be hard to get in town.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SMWelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We spent an enjoyable 5 nights at Sadie's by the Sea. The location is very good by Pago Pago standards, right on the water front with a small beach and safe swimming. Our room was comfortable, a good size and clean on the second storey with a small balcony (a little dingy as it had a solid wall in front). The staff was friendly and helpful. The Goat island Cafe attached to the hotel was great. Nice food at a reasonable price and a lovely location looking over the sea. On several nights there was live entertainment. There is a swimming pool. The first night we were there it was rather murky with scum over the top but the next day and subsequent days it was fine. There are fins and masks available for limited snorkeling off the beach.

There is not a lot to do in Pago Pago but I was attending a Conference. My husband was able to fill in the time by catching the local buses which passed by the hotel to various parts of the island. He even attended a political rally that he happened upon (it was just before the US elections) There was also free Wi Fi. Altogether we enjoyed our time at Sadie's by the Sea

Room Tip: Lower room numbers look over the pool area. Higher numbers out over the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diob255114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
138 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

NOT TO BE CONFUSED WITH SADIE THOMPSONS INN...
Sadie's by the Seae, is the best location. Beach, Pool, Restaurant, Wi-Fi. Remember this is the South Pacific and NOT the Mailn Land. Rooms are adequate to comfortable. If you are visiting, don't expect to spend to much time in your room. The local economy dictates the price. Ask for the $120.00 rate. The Restaurant /Bar, has teriffic view of Bay Entrance. The fish is the best you will ever eat! Drinks are good. Good selection of Beer's.

The STAFF, is just wonderful!!!! Nices people you would want to meet. Thank You!! for a GREAT visit!

Room Tip: RM. 111, up have great Harbor mouth view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Hotel is old, feels tired and needs to be refurbished urgently, the rooms have that terrible smell old US motel rooms have. But after leaving the windows open 24/24 the smell becomes bearable. The people are nice though, there is a good restaurant, a small pool, free wifi and the room does have everything you need. So all in all, not a bad place as such, it just needs some work, oh yes, and because of the current state of the hotel, it is overpriced, rooms are worth $ 80- $ 85 max, not the $ 139 or more they charge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sukanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pago Pago hotels
4.7 mi away
Tradewinds Hotel
Tradewinds Hotel
#1 of 4 in Pago Pago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sadie Thompson Inn
Sadie Thompson Inn
#3 of 4 in Pago Pago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sadie's by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sadie's by the Sea

Property: Sadie's by the Sea
Address: Utulei Beach, Pago Pago, Tutuila 96799, American Samoa
Location: American Samoa > Tutuila > Pago Pago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pago Pago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sadie's by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sadie's By The Sea is the only full service, beach front resort in American Samoa, located in the heart of the government and business centers of the island, and close to many tourist attractions. Sadie's by the Sea is a fun, charming resort with first class Polynesian service. Lush forested mountains surrounding Pago Pago's deep blue harbor complete the view from every room. Our private beach and clear warm water, just a few steps from your room, are perfect for swimming, snorkeling and kayaking year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sadie's by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sadie`s By The Sea Hotel Pago Pago
Sadies By The Sea Pago
Sadie's By The Sea American Samoa/Pago Pago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing