We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bellows Air Force Station
Nearby Hotels
$450
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Aqua Skyline at Island Colony(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
White Sands Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pearl Hotel Waikiki(Honolulu)
$127
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$221
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Vive Hotel Waikiki(Honolulu)
$199
$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveler rating
85
49
23
14
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
49
23
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrenovated cabinturtle covemilitary idmilitary familiesbeach frontfront rowair forcedriving rangefull kitchenstayed nightsliving roomocean breezemilitary personnelfull sizemarine basebeautiful beachquiet at night
Filter
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 179 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2011

The rooms are not air conditioned. They are underwired so that when you use the toaster the microwave doesnt work. Ants come in on a daily basis and I did kill a three inch centipede that was in the curtains. But who cares. We had a renovated beach cottage that looked right out over the Pacific. 50 steps from the back door to the waters edge. Perfect water temp. Pristine beach with perfect water temp. The water is about waist high out to about 300 yards. Maybe more since I'm poor at estimating distance. Good surf for boogie boarding and there are lifeguards from 0800 to 1700.

It does get crowded on weekends due to local military families coming in to spend the weekend or a day at the beach. Otherwise you normally share the beach with maybe 30 other people.

If you are going to stay for a week or two then make a run to the commissary at Kaneohe Marine Corps Base and get your food. It will save you tons of money over the local stores and the Shopette only has a limited selection of items.

I can't speak to the conditions in the unrenovated cabins but they are in the process of building a new lodging facility.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Falconfixer86261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

First night we got an unrenovated cabin (all they had). We have four kids and lets just say that it was not what we were looking for. It was extremely small, very old and on the sea wall instead of the beach. The phone lines and TV cable were visible on the cinder block walls, the "living room" ceiling fan did not work and the paint was peeling from all the walls. In addition the windows were rotting out and ants were pouring in from the outside. In fact when my son went to pull his sheets out in the second "bedroom" (which was separated from the living room by an old partition) his bed was full of ants. Finally the kitchen was extremely small (but we would not cook in there because of the ants).

Luckly we got a renovated cabin for the next 5 nights. It was wonderful! The entire cabin was clean and updated. The bathroom had glass bricks in the shower (very modern), the walls were textured sheetrock instead of cinderblock, the windows were new and not rotting out, the kitchen had newer appliances and cabinets and there was a real second bedroom. In addition we were right on the beach....all my kids had to do was walk out and we could watch them swim in the ocean from our cabin (and Bellows has the most beautiful beach in Oahu). We rented boogie boards from the base and the kids (and I) had a blast. We cooked most of our meals in the cabin and had no problems with little critters (although we made sure all dishes were clean and the trash was taken out prior to bed).

There is no air conditioning but you really do not need it. We had no pest problems except for a very few aforementioned ants and one very small centipede we killed in the shower.

I will try to post pictures in the near future. Bellows is a great place with disc golf, tennis, bikes you can rent, mini-golf, paintball and the most beautiful beach you can imagine. SPEND THE EXTRA 20 DOLLARS FOR A RENOVATED CABIN!!!! We could not do more than 1 night in the unrenovated cabin but the renovated was perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gozur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

As soon as I checked into my cabin, sat out on the lanai and cracked open a cold beer. The stresses of the of the world seen to just disappear. The sound of the ocean and the cool breeze blowing in, just set the mood. The cabins are fully equipped with all the necessities. A very nice place ot getaway from the hustle of Waikiki. This place is a hidden gem on the windward side of Oahu. Our entire group had a relaxing time and could not wait for next visit to Bellows. The beach is perfect for smaller children and even the kid in all of us- I had a blast bodyboarding!!! The staff was very friendly and efficient. Thank you for the Aloha.

Room Tip: Bellows is very busy during the summer months, so be flexible on what accomodations are avaialbe.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjmboogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Stayed here from July 7th-14th and it is a great place. Everyone we came into contact with was helpful and pleasant. We were in the cabins and they were adequate. You will get ants so put away food. Fans will keep you cool and they clean everyday and bring new bath towels too. Very close to the beach and walking back and forth is done easily. Take advantage of the snack bar in turtle cove. Great food and it is cheap. Many activities to do and we did the snorkeling. Guide was friendly and helped answer all of our questions.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walt61588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Make reservations as far out as possible. Ask for a renovated cabin with beach front. Do your grocery shopping at Hickam or Kanehoe Bay Marine Base before you check in. Must have items are coffee filters, charcoal, lighter fluid, bottle water.
Kudo's to Front Desk Ms. Natalie due to the room card key programmer inoperative from a lightning storm before our arrival. She was the friendliest, most helpful and courteous person at the front desk, can't say the same about a Ms. Debbie (reservations) when we approached her about making some adjustments to the bill for us due to that we did not have a room key for 3 days. She was extremely unfriendly and walked away from a conversation related to this issue.
The people that clean the rooms are very friendly, and go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Also the people working at the Shoppette are very nice and personable.
Watch out for Roaches and Centerpides, and the birds that are not scared of humans, and have definitley been feed human food! Numerous family friendly activities to do on Bellows.
Some of the people and families that stay here are not respectful of your privacy in and around the cottages! Be aware!
There is no A/C, but there is always a breeze so it's comfortable with the windows open.
The beach is just steps away and it's quiet here. Not all the hussle and bussle you have down at Waikiki!!!! Nice place to stay for rest and relaxation!

Room Tip: Ask for renovated beach front cottage ;-)
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank g2ggilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews