We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Evenings Entertainment - Perfect for Kids”
Review of Chief's Luau

Chief's Luau
Book In Advance
More Info
$87.00*
and up
Chief's Luau at Sea Life Park
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Waimanalo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chief's Luau is TripAdvisor's highest rated luau in the state of Hawaii. It is the ultimate authentic, interactive and romantic experience that culminates with a spectacular 10-minute, 8-man fire knife dance. You will feel you were invited to the Chief's backyard. Experience up-close and personal activities with Chief's entire cast, 'imu ceremony and a sumptuous dinner buffet. Stunning ocean-mountain vista, the smallest and most intimate of all luaus on Oahu, located only 25 minutes from Waikiki. Produced by Chief Sielu Avea.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Evenings Entertainment - Perfect for Kids”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Chief was hilariously entertaining and the food was awesome. Highly recommend this awesome evening of entertainment. We were in Hawaii for a family wedding so had a large group of 23 of us attending this event. They were awesome at insuring we had a large reserved table and could sit together. The Dancing, Music and Laughter was free flowing and the Chief was a highly entertaining host. Our 2 Children - 2 & 9yrs both loved to dance and both went up on stage to be part of the show.

We were staying in Eva Beach, so this was about an hour drive for us. But well worth it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RogerHolgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,403
    516
    134
    55
    42
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great experience!!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had researched luaus prior to our vacation, and chose this one based on the reviews - we were not dissappointed. Members of our party had been to other luaus (both in Maui and Oahu) and confirmed that this luau was the best they had been to. The chief is informative, entertaining and provides everybody with an excellent experience. The dancers are great and the food is good. We highly recommend this luau, and wish the entertainers and crew much success in the future!!!

Helpful?
Thank Family_Vaca_mjxdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithia Springs, Georgia
2 reviews
“Chief's Luau at Sea Life Park”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Wonderful night - great entertainment, great food, great atmosphere!!!!! Highly recommend this luau!!! Loved the different styles of dance from all the islands & especially the fire dance!! The Chief's interaction with the crowd was wonderful!!!! He made all of us feel welcome!!! This luau helped to make our August, 2012 Hawaii trip a memorable one - Great Job!!!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic- Best Luau I've been to!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We've been to several luaus over the years and on several islands... this was the best! All luaus have the same general program and menu, each with slight differences. The food was very good (but taken away a little too soon- a minor issue for those of us who wanted a third trip to the buffett). The entertainment had the very best 'fire' act- longest, most elaborate and with the most participants- outstanding.

All tourist luaus give attention to the variety of cultures that make up Hawaii- their music, dance and traditional dress. This one gave a little extra for each, and as the group is primarily Samoan, they created an especially warm feeling of welcome and Aloha with the Samoan presentation.

The biggest difference with this luau is Chief Sielu as MC. He is brilliant and a true comedian. Unlike other MCs that are at the side of the show, making worn out jokes about poi, the Chief's humor is interactive, constant, and his presence is at the center of the show- truly engaging and uplifting. (He has been an entertainer on the island and national tv for 20 years- worth looking him up)

The setting on the lawn of the park is perfect- ocean, mountains, and on 10/28/12, we had a full moon hovering behind the satge, illuminating the clouds and waves... magical.

We were going to this luau because we had friends visiting from the mainland... we felt we had to give them their first experience- we ourselves were not interested in doing yet another luau. However, we will be going back to this one just for ourselves. No more "been there, done that" attitude about luaus... this is worth returning to!

Activities for kids and adults alike prior to the meal, with access to some of the parks marine life attractions. Lastly, this luau is only 6 months old... it's already a great show, and will surely only get better with time. This is more than just a 'tourist luau' and my wife and I highly recommend it!

Well priced. Does have $5 parking fee. Easy access into park and lawn, including for wheelchairs and strollers. No storage needed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very average experience”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I'm not sure why there are so many 5 star ratings and why so many of them are from single reviewers. It wasn't a 5 star experience. But anyway, the entertainment was great. Not sure how traditional it was. But they kept us entertained. But i agree with the other reviewer - the food was not nice and I'm not a fussy eater. I left most of mine on my plate. You get 3 drink tickets each but bear in mind there are about 200 people there and the day we went there was one bar attendant. So we queued for one drink and that did us. We weren't queueing again for a drink in a plastic cup. I found the luau really expensive but I think all luaus are. If I were going to Hawaii again I would spend my money on a classy restaurant meal (and get change) and go watch the free Hawaiian dancing in the main street at the Hawaiian centre. I think it's on most weeknights.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank dreamers45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chief's Luau also viewed

 

Been to Chief's Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing