We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chief's Luau at Sea Life Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chief's Luau

Chief's Luau
Book In Advance
More Info
$87.00*
and up
Chief's Luau at Sea Life Park
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Waimanalo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chief's Luau is TripAdvisor's highest rated luau in the state of Hawaii. It is the ultimate authentic, interactive and romantic experience that culminates with a spectacular 10-minute, 8-man fire knife dance. You will feel you were invited to the Chief's backyard. Experience up-close and personal activities with Chief's entire cast, 'imu ceremony and a sumptuous dinner buffet. Stunning ocean-mountain vista, the smallest and most intimate of all luaus on Oahu, located only 25 minutes from Waikiki. Produced by Chief Sielu Avea.
San Dimas, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Chief's Luau at Sea Life Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We went to the Chief's Luau at Sea Life Park on Wednesday, September 26, 2012. Very good experience. Was disappointed previously at other Luaus on Oahu, so it was doubly enjoyable to go to a "fresh" version. From the "main guy-the Chief " down to other performers and the support staff behind the scenes, everyone seems committed to doing their best to ensure the guests have a good time. Do yourself a treat, spend the dough, and go. Gary in SoCal

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank oyosemite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,381
    512
    130
    54
    40
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best Luau's on Oahu!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was such a fun luau. It is smaller than other luau's on the island, which is probably what I liked about it. Plus the location was beautiful. We upgraded to the paradise plus package. Which includes a small tour of the sea turtles, shark tank and dolphins. This was great for the kids. If you are traveling without kids I would skip this part. The Luau offers so much to do. First you get your Lei, then pictures with the Chief. Everyone can participate in making headbands out of palm leaves, spear throwing, tribal tattoos and fire making. The food was better than most Luau's. The Mai tai's were strong and tasty. The show explains the tribes around the pacific ocean. My kids loved it. Plus the Chief was really funny and kept the audience involved. The night ended with several fire dances. It was a perfect evening.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank reachjensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My New Favorite Luau”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I've been to many luaus on both Oahu and Maui and I have to say that this is my favorite thus far. We went to this luau at the end of August and I'm glad we chose this one. It was smaller than most luaus (about 200 attendees) and had an intimate feel to it versus many others I have been to. The shuttle over seemed quick and had spectacular views. The host/gentleman on the shuttle was funny and had a lot of interesting factoids to share with the group. The location was beautiful, staff was really friendly, activities were fun, food was good, the Chief was very entertaining/funny and the dancers were wonderful! I would definitely go back the next time I'm there and recommend this luau over others on Oahu.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank gracie_lamergris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Luau on Oahu, escape the city!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We went to the Chief's Luau at Sea Life Park on Wednesday, September 26, 2012 and had the time of our lives! We bought a Groupon to enjoy this Luau, and boy did we ever. I wasn't sure what to expect since it was our first Luau, but we had a great time. There are a few different packages to buy for the Luau, and apparently the Groupon was for the best package available, which was a pleasant surprise. The Luau is at a marine-life park similar to SeaWorld, but on a much smaller and more intimate scale. There was a dolphin tank, and sea lion tank, and a large fish tank that had many sharks, sting rays, and other types of fish. There was also a large turtle pool, and a few other smaller pools, tanks, and aquariums. It was right on a hill that overlooks the coast and the ocean, so it was a perfect setting.

The package we had (green package?) consisted of a tour of the Sea Life Park facilities and tanks, followed by a meet and greet of the performers and the Chief. They set up boothes for demonstrations on how to make a banana leaf hat, how to throw a spear, how to hula, as well as other boothes for getting a Henna tattoo, or shopping for the items that they hand-make. They also give you a lei, either real flowers, or shells and nuts. There was a Mai Tai bar, and the dinner buffet. The Chief tells the story of the tradition of Luaus, they show you how they cook the food, and they let you enjoy dinner while he is storytelling. The Luau show is after dinner, and there are many different types of dances from all the different Polynesian islands, including hula dances and fire dances. The show is very entertaining, and the Chief is very comical.

We sat a table with a lady who comes to Hawaii for her birthday every year, and she told us that she has been to all the different Luaus on the islands. It was her first time at Chief's Luau, and she said it was her best experience yet. The setting is very intimate, and the show is a great time. It was about 4.5 hours from start to finish, so plan accordingly. We took our mopeds out to Sea Life Park, about a 30 minute ride from Waikiki. It was a fun and easy drive, but we had to return in the dark, so probably not the safest mode of transportation at night. There is also a bus that goes from Waikiki to the Luau, but i think you need a reservation. Overall, we had a great time, and it was probably one of the most fun things we did on the islands while we were there. While there are other Luaus, we hardly see a reason to go to another one when we return since our experience was so great. Highly recommend that you do this while on Oahu!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbine, Maryland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“An evening of pure entertainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a great time at this luau. The Chief is funny, and talented, he had everyone laughing. The performers were amazing, you could feel their passion for the art in the performance. They had moves I have never seen before and honestly I would probably hurt myself if I tried them. At the end of the show it started to pour down rain. It was the fire portion of the show, and they did not stop. It was actually cool to watch in the rain. When you arrive they have activities. Then they serve food which was not half bad and it is all you can eat. This attraction provides activities, food, history, art, music and comedy all in a beautiful setting. A real value.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 44AML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chief's Luau also viewed

 

Been to Chief's Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing