We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Vacation Rental”
other travelers have booked this property
Open Palms Plantation
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open Palms Plantation
A Slice of Heaven in Paradise Your unit has it's own private entrance.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
Open Palms Plantation
A Slice of Heaven in Paradise
Your unit has it's own private entrance.
Living area
Bedroom and living area
Kitchen with full size refrigerator
Private BBQ gazebo
Private gazebo and BBQ area
Sunset view from the main house
Hawaiian Rainbow above our other unit, the  guesthouse.
View of the Koolau Mountain Range as you drive into the property, also showing our other rental unit
Waimanalo Beach, #1 Beach in the US 2015, only a five minute drive away!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Waimanalo, Oahu, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Travebug3...
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect Vacation Rental”
Reviewed February 18, 2019 for a stay in December 2018

If you are looking for a beautiful getaway this property is perfect. From booking to departure you will not be disappointed. Kitty greeted us on arrival, she will go out of her way to make you feel welcome and not only did she have a Christmas tree for us, she invited us to Christmas dinner with her family and friends - it was truly amazing, the food the ambience and the company. This location is excellent, close to beaches, restaurants and shopping. If you would like to prepare your own meals - the kitchen is fully stocked or she has a binder with menus from local restaurants. She also has a beautiful gazebo so you can eat outside, complete with lights and mosquito repellent (that we did not need to use). There was plenty of room for our family of four (all adults). We would not hesitate to recommend this wonderful property - it was amazing.

Date of stay: December 2018
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerimollo...
Lewisville, Texas
1 review
“True Paradise”
Reviewed September 17, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

All I can say is Open Palms Plantation was wonderful! When I found this place online I was so excited, it was just what we were looking for. When I got there, it was far MORE than what I thought. It was amazing. Kitty was very friendly and helpful and always there if we needed anything. The use of the washer and dyer was a lifesaver! The space was very comfortable for our family of 4. We cooked breakfast every morning, and had a nice going away dinner outside on the covered patio. I would recommend this place a thousand times over. I will definitely book my next trip around when Open Palms is open!

Date of stay: September 2018
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dessie b
1 review
“Solo Traveler”
Reviewed August 24, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Thank you Kitty for opening up your home to people looking for the perfect place to stay. A luxury treehouse in the jungle fit with everything you could ever need (including 15 different types of sunscreen!), minutes away from the most beautiful beaches. The location was convenient to everything, and as a solo female traveler I felt 100% safe for the entirety of my 12 day vacation. Kitty was the hostess with the mostest!!

Date of stay: May 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari L
1 review
“Absolute Slice of Heaven!”
Reviewed July 26, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

My daughter and I had the most amazing week in Oahu and a large portion of that was due to Kitty and Open Palms. Tucked into Lush landscape at the base of the mountains, big spacious Villa & super top-notch Hostess made for the perfect home base for all our daily exploring and fun. We highly recommend for families/ couples/ girls trips... can't think of a more perfect place. we'll be coming back for sure!!

Date of stay: June 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2018
Thank you for the nice review Kari! It was a pleasure getting to know you. Looking forward to having you back again… Take care and God bless you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anbruc1
Soldotna, Alaska
1 review
“Paradise!”
Reviewed June 6, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

My family and I recently stayed at Open Palms. It is a paradise! Close to the best beaches, centrally located to activities, minutes to great shopping at Kailua and restaurants, and close to the grocery store. It was so nice to stay in such a beautiful and peaceful setting. Everything we needed was provided for us - snorkel gear, coolers, and beach chairs. We had plenty of room to spread out at the end of the day and enjoy meals on the gorgeous lanai looking at the mountains while we ate our meals or watching movies inside. Our host, Kitty, was so kind and generous. She made us feel so welcome and had all the information we needed for our travels. We would highly recommend Open Palms to anyone traveling to Oahu. Thank you Kitty!

Date of stay: May 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2018
It was so nice getting to know your family. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay at Open Palms Plantation.Thank you for the kind review.Take care and God bless!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
745clinto...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location ”
Reviewed May 17, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The best beaches and views are on this side of the island. Very close to konahuanui hiking. If you want a real travel experience stay here.

Date of stay: April 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haney R
1 review
“Open Palms Plantation is even more beautiful than the photographs!”
Reviewed May 17, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Kitty was waiting outside with open arms to greet us when we turned up the gravel drive. She helped us unload, took us in and showed us where everything was, both inside and out. Kitty made herself available each day and responded immediately to a text or call, eager to answer any question or accommodate any need. She even has a beautiful glossy black baby grand in her living room that she would love to hear you play if you so desire! But if you prefer solitude and rest, this is the place for that as well. It was a great place to get away from it all.

The guest quarters have a private entrance at the end of her beautiful house. Everything looks exactly like the pictures, but you might be pleasantly surprised to find a box of Hawaiian Host dark chocolate covered macadamia nut candy awaiting you on the sofa table. Every room was clean, well-maintained, beautifully furnished & decorated, and very comfortable. I loved all the windows in each room, letting in light, fresh air, and all the relaxing sounds of nature. Each morning it sounded like the earth was waking up and coming to life. Everything you need is there, from condiments in the refrigerator to coffee, tea, sugar, sweetener, creamer in the cabinet, to olive oil & Pam spray, to shampoo, conditioner & bath gel in the bathroom, to laundry detergent. (So don't stop on the way and buy all those things before checking out the kitchenette.)

You will enjoy leisurely strolls around the lush and beautifully landscaped property, or visiting the horses or the friendly dog Hunter, sitting or eating outside under the covered lanai, or simply lying in her hammock under the huge Monkey Pod tree gazing at the beautiful mountain range through the palm trees. The mountains are so close you can almost reach out and touch them. While enjoying the hammock, I actually recorded several minutes of the multitude of chirping birds, insects, occasional dog bark and crowing rooster on my MP3 app so that I can listen to it here at home when I need to take myself back to the serenity of Open Palms Plantation. You will enjoy the comforts of home, but in the surroundings of paradise! This amazingly beautiful property was designed and developed, and immaculately maintained by Kitty herself. She is right when she calls it "a slice of Heaven."

You can get to anywhere on the island easily from Waimanalo, including the N Shore in 1.5 hrs or less. The Polynesian Culture Center is just up the coastal hwy less than an hour away. Pearl Harbor and Diamond Head Crater are easy to get to. So don't be spooked by the seeming isolation when first driving in from HNL to Kitty's address. It's rural, and that's just what we wanted. But, Safeway and Foodland are not far away. Foodland always has a great take-out selection of entrees, salads, vegetables, desserts, etc. for a complete meal.

We will always remember Open Palms Plantation and its gracious hostess Kitty. We would definitely go there again.

Date of stay: April 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing