We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Don't Leave Home Without It”
Open Palms Plantation
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open Palms Plantation
View of the Koolau Mountain Range as you drive into the property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
86 reviews
Open Palms Plantation
View of the Koolau Mountain Range as you drive into the property
Living area
Bedroom and living area
California King Bed
Kitchen with full size refrigerator
Private Bathroom
Twin beds in separate bedroom with A/C
Some of many tame wild white doves
Hunter, my new golden retriever
Private BBQ gazebo
Private gazebo and BBQ area
Waimanalo Beach, #1 Beach in the US 2015, only a five minute drive away!
View of the Koolau Mountain Range
Sunset view from the main house
Moon rise view from the gazebo and mainhouse
Hawaiian Rainbow!
View of the Koolau Mountain Range waterfalls after a heavy rain
View from house, Mt. Olamana
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Waimanalo, Oahu, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 86 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
richardga...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't Leave Home Without It”
Reviewed November 20, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

This is the place to stay while vacationing on Oahu, don't leave home without a reservation at Open Palms! Comfortable, warm, beautiful and secluded. Everything you might need while you are here is provided and if something is missing, Kitty will make sure you are taken care of. Everything is as advertised and our next visit will be booked here. Beyond expectations!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minacin
Scotts Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Indeed a slice of heaven”
Reviewed August 25, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had wonderful stay at Open Palms Plantation. Our host Kitty was very welcoming and made sure our stay was amazing. House is comfortable and equipped with everything you might need. The entire property has been beautifully maintained and offers a nice retreat for people that want to escape hustle and bustle of Honolulu and staying at any hotel. I don't think we'd ever want to stay at another property at Oahu. We'll be back for sure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K
Sapporo
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Second time as good as the first!”
Reviewed July 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed with Kitty and Hunter (and Bad Boy and Mama Kitty, the two cats, as well as Waldo, Diamond and Mana, the three horses) for a second time, having stayed there around 2 years ago (see previous review). What can we say - it was just as we remembered it. Wonderful, magical, beautiful and very relaxing. Turning up the driveway and seeing the beautiful tree and garden nestled in the foothills of the amazing mountain range - the stresses of city life just melt away (and we live in Shanghai, a city of 20 million plus, so we have plenty of city life stress that needs melting!). All of the previous reviews basically sum it up - it's really horses for courses whether you want the Waikiki experience of the Waimanalo experience. I know what we prefer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynncrist
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“FABULOUS PLACE TO STAY”
Reviewed June 20, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We absolutely LOVED staying here. The apartment was beautiful as was the well maintained grounds. I had so much fun learning about the various "critters" that live outside. I also love flowers and take pictures of them when I'm on vacation and there were so many right on the property. I loved looking at the photo book in the room that showed how the property and house looked when it was bought and you can see all the work that Kitty has put into this place and that she loves her home. I also enjoyed reading what others thought of her place in the guest book in the room. I loved having beach stuff supplied so we didn't have to buy or rent anything. She has thought of everything....even down to the Skin so Soft to spray on yourself to keep bugs away when you are outside. My husband is a "Mountain" person and I am a "Beach" person so this really met both of our wants. We will definitely stay there again but for longer the next time. Thanks Kitty!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The grounds and room itself. We liked having the beach and mountains close together.
Liked least: we liked everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie G
Lake Forest, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Healing, peaceful respite from life's crazy”
Reviewed February 21, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Kitty's home feels tucked away and was a perfect romantic choice. We BBQ'd on the gazebo after our days full of active adventure. Hunter, the fabulous dog in the profile picture, is now 4 years old and a sweet, sweet, host. Kitty was very accomodating when we had a problem with the BBQ. She lives on the property and is a very responsive, excellent, caring hostess.. The unit is very clean and has everything you need for an easy stay from a stocked kitchen to beach towels and equipment.

We will be back and bring the kids as there's a room with two twin beds attached so excellent for the whole family. Thank you, Kitty!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful surroundings, cleanliness and hostess/owner
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer...
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P
Kirkwood, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Relaxing”
Reviewed January 26, 2016 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I spend a wonderful week on a gorgeous property. Kitty's pictures say it all - trees, shrubs, flowers were beautiful even in November. She's a great hostess and provides the necessities you need for vacation. Good restaurants, grocery stores, and shops in nearby Kailua. The beaches are close and it's easy to get around the island. We were able to visit all the sites on our "bucket list". After a day of driving and sightseeing it was so nice to come back to the peaceful seclusion and comfort of OPP. Thank you so much, Kitty.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole property is restful, comfortable and beautiful.
Liked least: The fact that we didn't stay longer!!!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staren200...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in a Stunning Location!”
Reviewed December 5, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
5
people found this review helpful

We had a 5-night stay in the guest-quarters with our 3 year old on this beautifully-located, meticulously maintained property. The property exceeded our expectations - it was very spacious, had a super comfy King-size bed and contained everything we needed (beach equipments was very useful). We loved that there was a separate bedroom away from the living room, which meant that when our little one went to bed, we could have some alone time and relax and watch TV, without disturbing her. Kitty was the perfect host - very helpful, warm and hospitable, while still giving us our privacy on her property. We had a very relaxing time and it was perfect for our 3 year old to run around in the garden, explore nature and pat Hunter, the friendly dog. I can highly recommend if you're looking for a relaxing break near the mountains whilst being only a short drive from beautiful east-coast beaches. We hope to return one day!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing