We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“our meeting spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hale 'Nalo Beach Rentals

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waimanalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale 'Nalo Beach Rentals
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“our meeting spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Every December my partner and I relax in Hawaii. Two years ago we discovered Hale Nalo. We are making this our holiday staple. The place is quiet, with an excellent location, one block from the beach. Herlinda is an excellent inn keeper who has traveled a great deal herself. This is reflected in how the units are set up with flow through air, lighting etc, plus access to a washer and dryer from 3pm to midnight so you don't have to carry much. Fresh fruits and coffee are provided. Perfect!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DBUDs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaleNalo, Owner at Hale 'Nalo Beach Rentals, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
It's always great having guests come back. That this is your "half-way" place that you come to have some R&R and fun, well, that's great. Always glad to see your smiling faces. Same time next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
145
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sebastopol, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

If you stay here, you will definitely want to return. And upon your return, Herlinda will give you a big hug and say "welcome home," and you will be happy. The beach at Wiamanalo, a short walk from Hale Nalo, is unbelievable. My wife and I have stayed here twice now and we would not consider another. I cry when we leave and will miss this home away from home until we can return.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alcrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaleNalo, Owner at Hale 'Nalo Beach Rentals, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We'd like to thank this reviewer, as well as all the wonderful guests we've had the privilege of hosting these past years. What a joy and honor it is when a past guest returns. And how fun! HN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

This home is in a relaxing area away from the tourist areas-what we wanted-and close to the beach. It is nicely appointed, with attractive furnishings. It is also centrally located, so we were able to make day trips to anywhere on the island.
Unfortunately, the Zen Treehouse was extremely hot--the "Greener" option does not work--very uncomfortable for sleeping, let alone during the day when the sun is beating in. As we all know, hot air rises, and so this room was not cool at all. Can't imagine what the other 2 rentals are like, since this was billed as the coolest.
The induction cooktop is only a 1 burner portable unit--so cooking is not really an option. We also found the time limitation on doing laundry an inconvenience.
On the positive side, our host, Dave (Herlinda's substitute), was very nice and accommodating.
We found him to be a wealth of information. There are beach chairs, snorkle gear, and beach towels available for your use.
All things considered, we would not return here just because our idea of a vacation includes being comfortable.

Room Tip: Our trip was at the end of Sept. to the beginning of Oct., and it was still very hot in the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donut1258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaleNalo, Owner at Hale 'Nalo Beach Rentals, responded to this review, February 11, 2016
We appreciate this feedback as guest comfort is so important to us. July-October is very warm in Hawaii. but guests report the ZEN Treehouse as being very comfortable. We’re sorry you did not find it so. For guests who prefer a/c, our Garden Suites now have über high-tech efficient quiet Mitsubischi split-level air conditioned units. Brrrgh.

Re: the induction cooktop: this fantastic unit doesn’t radiate heat yet one can cook up a storm on it. We love ours so we put one in all our suites. (Had you tried it we’re certain you would’ve loved it!) Re: laundry hours: our cleaners need access to the laundry until 3pm. Re: Dave, our caretaker: we're glad you liked him. We like him too. HN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilydale, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Our stay at Hale Nalo was a rest stop on our way home to Aus. It was just as we hoped it would be, quiet,well equipped,comfortable,clean and very well located. Far enough away from Honolulu and Waikiki to be a restful tropical haven but close enough to be easy to reach without a major trek. Herlinda is a great host and made us feel very welcome. We stayed in a garden room and it was lovely to go out into the garden to eat or just sit and relax with a drink. The thoughtful inclusion of beach towels,chairs and coolers for guests use was great. We would stay again at Hale Nalo and coming from us that is a great recommendation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gh0stguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaleNalo, Owner at Hale 'Nalo Beach Rentals, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
You two were quiet as mice! Lovely to have you. Come back again on your way through! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at Hale 'Nalo. The proprietor thought of every detail to ensure that our stay was especially comfortable and enjoyable. Hale 'Nalo is also located right next to the best beach on Oahu, beautiful vista's, quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaleNalo, Owner at Hale 'Nalo Beach Rentals, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words. We're so glad you had a good stay! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Far away from Waikiki, we were able to experience everything including snorkeling, kayaking, and hiking. You can also go to Waikiki area for shopping and dining if you have a car (Of course everyone will rent a car at the airport because this is the only way to get to the accommodation.)

It takes just about 30-40 mins to get to Waikiki area. Easy access to Northshore for guided activities, and just 10 mins to Hanauma Bay, the best place for snorkeling in Oafu. However, you need to be well prepared for dining, because you can not dine out in this area. McDonald is the only place to eat out this area in the evening. You can go to Kailua to have nice meals, which is just 10 mins driving distance. We went to Mexican Lindo, Starbucks, and wholefoods market there. You can go to a local supermarket if you like to cook by yourself.

The price is very very expensive so choose other hotels if your priority is finance. However, you will definitely have the best experience in this house and make your holiday one of the best in your life.

Room Tip: There is no air-conditioning so you may feel hot at night. you need to keep open the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawaii-lovers1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaleNalo, Owner at Hale 'Nalo Beach Rentals, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
We are so grateful for this review, however, we'd like to clarify some misinformation (this lovely couple were from Japan and we believe they may not have understood the following which was provided in English):

Although we do recommend a rental car, airport shuttles are easily secured for transport to/from the airport; we also recommend stopping en route for supplies. To arrange this, email Alex at king.airportshuttle@gmail.com.

Nearby restaurants: we're walking distance to several good eateries: Sweet Home Waimanalo (our favorite for healthy/organic/tasty), Serg's Mexican Kitchen, Ono's Steaks (we love their local-style fresh fish plates) and the Waimanalo Beach Cafe (espresso and sandwiches). And yes! There is also a nearby McDonald's and 7-11.

Finally, we'd like to thank this guest for pointing out that although we are not the cheapest place to stay, "you will definitely have the best experience in this house and make your holiday one of the best in your life". We wouldn't have it any other way, and we couldn't have said it better. We love our guests! HN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Where do I start to explain our stay at Hale Nalo? Lets just say that the next time I go to Oahu, I will not consider staying anywhere else.

My girlfriend and I had a fabulous 5 nights in July at the Zen tree house. I knew that we were in for a treat beforehand, but I really had no idea it was going to be this awesome.

We had an entire spacious studio to ourselves with 2 lanai's. 1, great for relaxing and checking out the beautiful pristine mountains and the other for eating all meals! Everything in this studio is designed to spoil you. From the welcome basket to the incredibly comfy bed to the shower. It's really a great combination of modern living, luxury, beachy, tranquil and relaxation all in 1.

The stunning Waimanalo beach is a 25 second walk away. This was our favorite beach on all of Oahu. It's calm turquoise waters, surrounding scenic mountains and trees are hard leave. Not to mention the quiet and laid back residential neighborhood. This Oahu location is great for driving into town, Sandy Beach, Hawaii Kai, Kailua, Lanikai, Ma'akapu etc. It was also convenient to walk to the local eatery, Sweet Home Waimanalo. To be honest, we were trying to find excuses to not leave… ever!

Lastly, Herlinda was extremely easy going, friendly and accommodating. She was around if you needed her. But the majority of the time, we felt like we had it all to ourselves. Her booklet was very helpful with info regarding restaurants, activities and sights in the area.

This was really the ideal romantic stay for a couple. Without question, I will find a way to stay at Hale Nalo again in my lifetime. If you're debating on which room to stay in, go with the Zen Treehouse!

Mahalo,

Jean-Michel & Megan

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank borat4prez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaleNalo, Owner at Hale 'Nalo Beach Rentals, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
I don't know who had a better time: you, or us, watching you have so much fun. It was great having you! So glad you enjoyed the "treehouse". Please come back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimanalo
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale 'Nalo Beach Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale 'Nalo Beach Rentals

Property: Hale 'Nalo Beach Rentals
Address: Kaulu Street, near Beach, Pob 633, Waimanalo, Oahu, HI 96795
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Waimanalo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Waimanalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent, fully-independent Garden Suite (400f²) defines simple yet elegant accommodation. Thoughtful amenities, spacious tropical gardens, privacy, exemplary guest care await those seeking a quality vacation or extended stay. Perfect for mature singles and couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale `Nalo Beach Rentals Hotel Waimanalo
Hale 'Nalo Beach Rentals Waimanalo, Hawaii - Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing