We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing animals up close and personal!”

Sea Life Park Hawaii
Book In Advance
More Info
$87.00*
and up
Chief's Luau at Sea Life Park
Ranked #5 of 17 things to do in Waimanalo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Sea Life Park, Hawaii's marine life comes alive in a dazzling display that will entertain and delight visitors. Located just 15 miles from Waikiki, on Oahu's beautiful and scenic Makapuu Point, Sea Life Park is a world-class marine attraction perched between the majestic Koolau Mountain Range and breathtaking Makapuu Beach. See dolphins swim, sea lions sing, and penguins perform in this magical place by the sea.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Amazing animals up close and personal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Although it was smaller than I expected, it was worth the money. We enjoyed feeding the sea turtles and thoroughly enjoyed the sea lion encounter and the Dolphin Royal Swim.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brandily9702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    322
    237
    116
    126
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun for the kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Took my 11 yr old. He enjoyed the dolphin shows that happen twice a day. Suggest getting a coupon in the Hawaii catalogs for free parking and discount admission. Park is small but there is a exhibit show about every 45 minutes, so it keeps you entertained for hours.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Valmiss209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Kids loved the dolphin encounter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

The dolphin encounter was free for each of us with our Go Oahu card bonus. My 6 & 9 year old boys loved it!! Kissing, touching, dancing with the dolphin was something they will always remember. We purchased 2 photos $16 each. We found plenty of parking and we thought the food was pretty good. The park itself could use an update and some more attractions but my boys had a great time. Do not plan to spend your entire day here or you will get bored.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kylesmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Swim with Sharks!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

My wife and I visited Sea Life Park on our first day of our honeymoon amid loved it! Our only complaint was the guy who seemed to be in charge of all the employees/trainers was a total jerk and was chewing out his staff right in front of us and other visitors - totally unprofessional! A few tips that might help for your visit::

1. If you're doing the shark encounter (which you should because it was AWESOME!) buy an underwater DISPOSABLE camera at Walmart or somewhere similar. You can't bring a digital one with you, and they charge an insane $21 for one at the gift shop.

2. Don't waste your money on the dolphin encounter, spend the extra $80+ and actually swim with them. The encounter was pretty cool, but not worth $104.

3. Split your group up when doing dolphin activities so you can take your own photos. The park's photographers take plenty of pics, but expect you to pay almost $50 for three 4x6's.

Overall a pretty neat experience, although some things are overpriced. It's Hawaii though, and if you're staying on Oahu I'd definitely recommend making a stop here!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gronezy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Worth the time and the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

A trip to Sea Life Park is worth the time and the money. The park is very well organised from the hotel pick-up to the return drop-off with very good shows and places to walk around. My wife fed the Sea Lions for an extra $10 and said it was a great experience. We also took in the Sea Lion Show, the Dolphin Cove Show, and the Hawaii Ocean Theatre Show which was all dolphins plus a cameo from three Humbouldt penguins who found there way to Hawaii from southern Peru. The food available to buy for lunch ranged from healthy to deadly, but no-one makes you eat 100% fried everything, although a lot of people did!

We would recommend it for a day out.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Life Park Hawaii also viewed

 

Been to Sea Life Park Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing