We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why eat at a chain when you can lunch like locals?”

Barbecue Kai Incorporated
Ranked #19 of 55 Restaurants in Waianae
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
125 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Why eat at a chain when you can lunch like locals?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were hungry in Waianae after a snorkeling cruise and found this. The first thing we noticed is they had quite a few customers (all local) in the middle of the afternoon. The food is good, not great, but there aren't a lot of choices in this sleepy little town. We liked the beaches around the town and at here twice during our stay in Ohau. The first time I ordered garlic shrimp, the second time the short ribs. As is typical in Hawaii, both were served with two scoops of white rice and a scoop of macaroni salad. Macaroni salad is never my favorite and this was just ok.

The prices are reasonable and the portions large. The restaurant is cash only.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debrueg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    14
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“good inexpensive food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Decided to try something off the beaten track. Jack in the box across the street...
Food was good and variety for picky eaters like my kid... burger for $2!
Had the garlic shrimp and it was great. As they say all meals in Hawaii come with macaroni salad and 2 scoops of rice as this did. Salad was ok.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank aveanddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great local food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stopped here based on the trip advisor recommendations. It was just down the road from where we are staying.

The place does look rough on the outside, but don't let that scare you away, you would miss some really good food.

My wife and I each places an order and it came to just over $16. We got enough food for 2 meals each. I was worried the take out boxes they gave us would break from the weight. The food was very good. We will be returning in the future.

There are only a couple of places to sit outside the shop, so you would likely be best to get your food and eat elsewhere. That is what the locals appear to do as well.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marcus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great local food at great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

This place was recommended by locals. It is not "touristy" or flashy. It is a great local place with great value. Have had many good meals here and will go here again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great fast food and local style meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

This location offers many menu items, and is open from about 7am to 10 pm. They have a great variety of fried rice plates, mixed plates, burgers and sandwiches to choose from. Prices are pretty affordable, they also offer catering of some of their items. Food is comparable to L & L but better. Parking not that great, as only a few cars can fit in their lot, but there is a lot next door for additional parking, and people come and go so it's ok. If they are busy the wait may be long at times, but you can also call in a phone order. Service is breakfast, lunch, and dinner, eat outside or to go only.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbecue Kai Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to Barbecue Kai Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing