We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Makaha Surfside Condominium

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waianae
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Makaha Surfside Condominium
l.a.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2007

I found a listing for an "inexpensive Hawaiian vacation" on craigslist.com, and it was exactly what I was looking for. The place we got was a studio, had a full kitchen and a view from heaven! The wonderful owners rent it out to guests when they go off island, and they even let us use their truck...which saved us hundreds on a car rental, and meant our kids could get real surf lessons! The place is close to surfing beaches and golf, with a drive to town if you want some more action...The grounds are immaculate, athough older, with beautiful native plants throughout. There are huge pools, a workout/sauna, laundry facilities (when we used something other than a bathing suit!), a mini-store and the most gorgeous ocean lagoon ever! We had the whole beach to ourselves most times and it felt very private island. I wholeheartedly disagree with the negative postings, they must have been looking for the party scene and tourism of waikiki.....NOT real hawaii! we ended up returning home to California with a return trip already set, because we had saved so much money!! Our two kids are already telling their teachers that they are going back to makaha!

  • Liked — Peaceful and we slept with the sound of waves crashing on the beach
  • Disliked — well...we mostly cooked in the kitchen, but other than pizza delivery youhad to drive at least 4 minutes to a restaurant
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank lovefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    4
    3
    8
See reviews for
8
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2007

The Makaha Surfside is awesome!! It's like staying on an island paradise, it's tranquil, beautiful and the staff including security is so helpful! I can't wait to go back. I've heard it used to be a run down building but it has been beutifully restored, the grounds are tropical and well kept. We had the best oceanview from our room, better than a $300.00 room at the Marriott. Great food in town and the fresh fish next door at the harbor was the best I've ever had. The surfside is awesome!!

  • Liked — great view and beach access
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank seeparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waianae, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2007

I just loved it! I enjoyed it so very much that I just bought a unit there. For all the people that stayed and didn't enjoy it I am so sorry for you. The security gaurds and friendly and go out of there way to make you feel comfortable and safe. The parking is a little tight and the units are small but nothing compares to sitting in my livingroom and listening to the ocean waves crash against the shore everynight. The grounds are incredibly clean, and the property as a whole is peaceful. I can't imagine why anyone wouldn't enjoy staying at Surfside.

  • Liked — Ocean front.
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank DeMichaelHooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2006

I agreed with all previous negative postings. This place is really really a joke. The unit I rented was about 285sq (very small) for $1300. The only thing close by that you can walk to about 2 blocks away is 7-eleven. Do not walk at night (scary area).

Security guards at this place have nothing to do. They constantly walk around the building and checking up on everyone. They look into each unit to search for suspicious activities. I felt very uncomfortable most of the time.

At check-in, the guard only issue a temporary parking pass for two weeks at a time. They asked for every single paperwork that you can think of. When I came back to obtain another two-week pass, it was like I'm bugging them. They were rude and not friendly at all.

Anyway, take my advice and try to find another place. If you're going to Waikiki, it is worth to spend a little extra and stay in Waikiki. Makaha is about one hour drive (without traffic) to Waikiki.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank allowme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2006

We lived there for a few months when we first got to island with the military and I can not say how bad this place is. We were majorly ripped off on the price 1250.00 for a small one b/r. No one was friendly and was i wouldn't/couldn't go out at night. When we moved no one helped me as i was alone and just watched. Security is a freaking joke they write you a ticket for every little thing that you can do. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2006

My wife and I stayed in condoC328, the person who managed the unit provided us with everything we needed.
The grounds where well maintained and the security was outstanding.If you are looking for a place away from the tourist traps this is it.The people we met where all very friendly and helpful.
The scenery (mountains in front ocean in back) was very breath taking.Living in the valley with the locals was what we were looking for.
This was our first visit ,but will not be our last .I would defenitly go back to Makaha Surfside Condos.
Brian &Gladys
Montreal Quebec Canada

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2006

We stayed in building A for a month in December. This is a great place to get away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. It is off the tourist path and I think most of the units are owned by people from the mainland because there were not a lot of people living there. The locals we encountered were friendly and we had no problems. Security is tight which can be good or bad. They made sure we were supposed to be there which made us feel safe because we knew they were always checking the grounds 24/7. The best part is the beach is right outside your door and there is maybe a couple of other tourists or a local fishing. Where else in Hawaii can you have a great beach all to yourselves? The pools are also great. On the weekends we noticed some traffic noise so we slept on the sleeper sofa in the living room with the sliding door open and heard nothing except the ocean.
After spending a few days in Waikiki it was really nice to get away. If we had spent a month in Waikiki we would not have had the relaxing vacation we had. We will return to the Makaha Surfside.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waianae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,734 reviews
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makaha Surfside Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makaha Surfside Condominium

Property: Makaha Surfside Condominium
Address: 85-175 Farrington Hwy Apt B302, Waianae, Oahu, HI 96792-2144
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Waianae
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Waianae
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This condo is equipped with all you need to enjoy your stay. Full kitchen, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, grinder, utensils, new pots/pans, full size fridge, linens, towels, cooking utensils & just about anything you need. There is a BBQ area by the main pool, coin-operated laundry & a small mini market in the condo grounds. Secured 24-hour grounds & parking area. Come join us on the sunny leeward side of Oahu for a true Hawaii experience. Our condo is situated right in front of a little cove that you can go snorkeling, see turtles & dolphins & whale watching in the winter. The pictures on the website are taken from the balcony of our condo, where you'll enjoy breathtaking 180 degree views from the 3rd floor. The sunsets are some of the best in all of Hawaii being on the Leeward side. (West) You can enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner at your private getaway! The airport is only 30 minutes &Waikiki is only 45 minutes away; The 5 Star Resort at Ko'Olina is only 20 minutes away. Restaurants, shopping, five star resorts, spas in both areas. Golf is 5 minutes away, where there are two championship golf courses across the street. Waterpark is 20 minutes away. There is also variety of fast food along Farrington Hwy. Swimming, snorkeling, diving, fishing, and surfing available all around the islands, but Makaha is famous for all of the above. There is a boat Harbor within walking distance from the condo next to Waianae High School where you can go on a trip for whale watching or swim with the dolphins boat ride. Makaha is gorgeous and a jewel that is the best kept secret only most of locals really know about and explore. Although growing with the tourist population, you won't be immersed in it here! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Makaha Surfside Condominium Hotel Waianae
Makaha Surfside Condominium Hawaii/Waianae, Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing