We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Views & Japanese Style Breakfast” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Makaha Valley Country Club

Makaha Valley Country Club
Attraction details
Waianae, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Views & Japanese Style Breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Relaxed Golf Club atmosphere with a nice Japanese Style Breakfast. Like to see the Waianae Valley Mountain views and get away from it all.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lacy808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    20
    7
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Extremely Reasonable and Very Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I dropped in here to visit the driving range as we are pretty rusty with our golfing skills. We were extremely surprised that it only cost $4 for a bucket of balls, and perhaps it was the time of year, but the person working there gave us the drivers to use (we didn't bring any clubs with us on vacation). They were very helpful and accommodating at the club.

The range was pretty basic, but it was still fun. It was different than looking at a field of only green as the mountains are right there and lots of different flora, too.

We will definitely have to try out the course next time we are on the island.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MacBluenoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best value with a great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

The golf course was well maintained. Had a magnificent view of the ocean and mountains. Their club rentals was superb, brand new. Best of all the greens fee was very very reasonable.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hermenegildo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun course, great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

My son and I played this course in March 2013 and had a wonder time. A beautiful location and views and some great holes to play. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The course was well maintained and very pretty. Going through some of the online booking sites can give you a pretty good rate. Great value for Hawaii. It is worth the drive out there. But make sure you give yourself enough time to get there. There are a lot of traffic lights along the road after KoOlina. Of course like all driving in Hawaii just take your time and enjoy the ride.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GJLeChem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

we play this course every year. it's an easy drive from the marriott vacation beach club in ko olina.
the value is good and the people are friendly. they keep the course in somewhat good condition, it's pretty much a "locals" course and you get some terrific views from a few holes. if you want immaculate facilites and pristine manicured fairways and greens, then this isn't the course for you.
we even stop along the road and buy pickled mango, banana bread, and mango bread from a local family. look for their sign and don't be afraid to stop...some of the best banana bread ever.

you can get some good rates for this course on golfnow.com

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cma6262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makaha Valley Country Club also viewed

 

Been to Makaha Valley Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing