We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was like 2 holidays on 1 island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hawaiian Princess Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

After spending 5 nights at Waikiki Beach, Makaha was fantastic. It was very peaceful and quiet. As there were 4 of us we required a 2 bedroomed apartment and we were very fortunate to find ourselves on the ground floor, in the biggest apartment on the Hawaiian Princess Hotel. it had absolutely everything we wanted and more. Our balcony only needed 2 steps to get to the beach. Brilliant. The staff were very helpful and did more than we had hoped when we had a couple of problems. Everything was clean and tidy and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillipa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Hawaiian Princess Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for the great review! We're glad you enjoyed your vacation and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 237 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you want to be away from the craziness of Waikiki, this is a wonderful place to stay! Waianae is what the locals refer to as the "country" in Oahu. This is were all the locals live and it is about 45 minutes from the bustle of the city. After you see how crazy crowded Waikiki's beach is you will appreciate the remoteness of this hotel's beach. Each room in the hotel has a beautiful view of the ocean which allowed us to enjoy the dolphins passing by each morning (between 6 -7am) and watch all the sea turtles that hang out in the cove.

We stayed in room #406 and we were very pleased with the cleanliness. If you are looking for a 5 star resort and to be waited on this is not the place for you. But if you want to have an independent vacation this is a great stop. The sunsets every evening were absolutely amazing!

The staff was friendly and the hotel had a supply of surf, paddle, and boogie boards to play with on the beach.

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This unit was very clean, nicely remodeled and on the 9th floor with the typical great views of this condo building. Kathy was easy to work with and answered my emails right away. Everything worked and there were no insects which I have heard is a problem with the Kahana resort right next door. If you are going to stay in Waianae, I would recommend the Hawaiian Princess over the Kahana Resort next door. Then its just a matter of picking a unit that is well maintained. Kathy has a few other units but you can't go wrong sticking with hers; they are well maintained, have snorkel and beach gear for use and have a lot linens stocked as well as a great washer and dryer for your use. All the non-end units will only get a good breeze if you open your front door. It eliminates the privacy but that's the only way you will get a good airflow in the condo; otherwise you must rely on the air-conditioning to keep it from getting too warm.
About the location, the sandy beach is fantastic with fish within yards of the shore. The town is very run down and a little sad but the people are nice. We spent most of our time snorkeling or sightseeing else where so we didn't care that the area wasn't a tourist's paradise. We went in August and was really surprised to see how dry and rocky the whole area was. Very little greenery just rock and sand. That kind of lent to the malaise of the town.

Room Tip: End units will have better air flow. All units have the same view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank grncab97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at the Hawaiian Princess in number 408. The place had everything we expected and more. It was very clean, the view and location were great. Val, the housekeeper was wonderful and checked on us occasionally to make sure we were doing okay and answered any questions we had. We brought our 3 teenage children and we all had a wonderful time. We took advantage of the game room, pool and spent a lot of time on the beach. We really appreciated all the extra amenities available in the condo, including coolers, boogie boards, snorkel gear and more. Gail really thought about all the things a family would want on vacation and kindly supplied them for us to use. We were looking for a location away from the crowds, and that is exactly what we got. It is quite a drive to get to any of the tourist sites, but it was worth the drive to have a empty beach to relax at.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

When we found this amazing rental; with such a great END unit, amazing beach & region pics... along with almost a 100 excellent all 5-star reviews, we knew we were lucky! It was available, we booked it.....boy were we right...It was absolutely fantastic!

This is a fabulous, spacioius, end unit condo! Awesome service from the owner & staff from the beginning to end of the entire booking process & throughout our vacation. The view alone could easily receive more than 5 stars if that was possible! From the honest professional booking process in aloha spirit, the unit, view, location, sea life, friendly locals (we have a pic with) to the sunsets, surrounding beautiful beaches & mountains; it was all A + luxury and then some!

It's a clean unit, nicely decorated, w/ a top notch washer dryer, furniture, nice big shower, comfortable home [even for a family w teens], quiet spacious home away from home, in a down to earth country setting. Not a fancy area. No resorts, No malls w big ticket item shops everywhere... not here. You can get to those areas quickly [25 min. drive to Ko'olina if you wanted].

There are enough supermarkets and 7-11 stores in Makaha. Costco, Target, Wal-Mart etc. are about 30 min. away in Kapolei & enough inexpensive places to eat near by. Want fancy dining? You can get there by car no big deal.

1 last comment; I noticed a bizarre harsh review about this FABULOUS unit and wonderful owner; A 1-star for everything in this fabulous slice of paradise including the A/C. The whole review is about a claim about A/C in the unit which is simply not true! The documents signed
for the owner before she accepts payment clearly covers everything you could possibly think of including the AC, Ceiling fans & portable fans. The information in the documents are clear ,plain and simple. Upon arrival we found everything about this rental exactly as we expected...even better than we had expected!! The A/C & fans were all working well & where they were suppose to be, no problems at all! Bonus....there were a ton of beach goodies for us to use (snorkeling gear, beach chairs, coolers, boogie boards and more)!

I noticed other reviewers complaining about staff parking issues at the Hawaiian Princess. This didn't make any sense either. The info was clear & simple to 'Please cooperate w staff requests if approached." Before we booked like all the rest of the contract info all the guests receive & are required to sign that we read and understand it. We didn't think staff asking people to park between the lines so everyone will be able to find a spot was 'rude'. Calling this rental 'A RIPP OFF' & a '1 -Star' unit ....is awful!! This unit is amazing, all the way around! This 1 guest that is complaining out of hundreds, clearly didn't read the contract. It's a very busy, popular unit for
good reasons!! Anyone who ever has the opportunity to stay there is lucky. We highly recommend it (and so do our teenage kids) and can't wait to go back!!!! We are very lucky to have found this little slice of heaven & grateful that it was available. So blessed to share this place with our kids, those memories will last a lifetime! :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank IdahoNativeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Family of four stayed at the Hawaiian Princess at Makaha for two weeks from end of June to first part of July, 2013. Booked a one bedroom unit on the first floor, right in front of the beach. Some people call this Turtle Beach, some call it Cabana Beach (the lower building next to the taller Hawaiian Princess is called Cabanas, a condo development). Wonderful beach and gorgeous sunset. The unit is a typical time-share condo, nothing luxurious, but has all the essentials like a kitchen, pots and pans, dishes, washer and dryer, refregirator, dining area, sofa, TV, etc. etc. It also comes with couple beach chairs, and an outside patio table and chairs. One can also borrow beach equipment like body boards, paddle boards, kaya, snorkling mask, umbrellas, from the front office. The beach is sparesely occupied, except on week ends it seems to attract more people. I believe one reason is that only yards away is the proper Makaha Beach, where the sand is finer (the sand at Turtle Beach is great, though not as fine), more parking spaces, and has a lifeguard on duty. The Turtle Beach is great, the surf is mostly mild but still provides some action for the kids. Some people were fishing and caught small fish from the beach. Snorkling is a common sence. Our kids managed to find four sea shells of significant size (5 inches long and 3 inches across) by bravely dared into the surf. Several sea turtles were also spoted close to the beach. Management there is friendly but quite strict, which is great. Property is gated and security is 24/7. Otherwise we were left alone to ourselves. The only drawback is one has to drive about 20 minutes at speed limit of 25 (sloooooooow), 30, & 40 mph to "civilization" (next town, Kapolei) where more shops and better restaurants are. But we thoroughly enjoy this place, avoided the business of Waikiki (but did spent another week at Waikiki to join the crowd shopping and eating), and don't mind the additional time to go to other parts of the Oahu island.

Room Tip: My wife didn't want the height, so we picked the lower floor, ended up on first floor. Three ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LLBean888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Hawaiian Princess Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for your wonderful comments about our location and beach! We hope you enjoyed your vacation and will stay with us again next time you visit Oahu. Many thanks for visiting the Princess!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I loved my time at the Hawaiian Princess. The beach was amazing and right out your front door. We were on the 11th floor so the views were amazing right from the patio. The condo was what I expected and comfortable and updated. The hotel was chosen over one in Waikiki because my wife and I just wanted to relax and that is what this hotel provides. I thoroughly enjoyed waking up and just heading down to pool or beach and not being bothered or harassed by loads of other tourists.
Good:
Resort right on a great non-crowded beach.
Room was nice with an updated bathroom and kitchen.
Amazing views from the 11th floor with every room facing the ocean.
Quiet and very peaceful all of the time.
Driving distance of great beaches up the coast.
Great golf course with a good small (Not Fancy) inexpesive restaurant up the road at the Makaha Country Club.
Nice BBQ grills that are not that busy.

Bad:
No great tourist restaurants on this side of the island. There is fast food and local places.
Traffic to and from the city is quite bad and the drive is well over an hour to go into Waikiki.

Places to see:
Pearl Harbor - Amazing and worth all the time waiting in line to get tickets. We got in line at 7:00 AM and got tickets to enter the memorial at 9:15. Perfect time to see the museums and walk around the grounds. It was also all free.
Swap Meet - Perfect place to get all the souvenirs.
Diamond Head - Good hike and worth the view.
Polynesian Cultural Center - Great shows and good luau
Yokohama Beach and hike to the point - This is only 10 minutes from the hotel farther up the beach. The hike is easy and should be done early in the morning to avoid the heat. Amazing tide pools and views.

Tips:
Be careful with your rental car that you do not leave anything in the car. I left my doors unlocked with nothing in the car so that windows would not be broken out while hiking at the point. The car next to us out there was not as lucky and they had windows smashed out and stuff stolen from the car.
If you need to park in Waikiki the Ala Moana shopping mall seemed really safe and within walking distance of some great places to see and dine. Also it is free parking.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scooter6543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Hawaiian Princess Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

We appreciate your review of the Princess and thank you for spending your vacation with us. Great tips! We'll hopefully welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waianae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4,226 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawaiian Princess Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawaiian Princess Resort

Address: 84-1021 Lahilahi St, Waianae, Oahu, HI 96792-2045
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Waianae
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Waianae
Price Range: $275 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawaiian Princess Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hawaiian Princess Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawaiian Princess Hotel Waianae
Hawaiian Princess Resort Hawaii/Waianae, Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing