We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hawaiian Princess Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveler rating
119
87
16
9
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
87
16
9
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea turtlesprivate beachnorth shoreminute driveboogie boardsgorgeous sunsetwasher and dryertimeshare exchangesee whalescorner unitwell stocked kitchentime sharewrap around balconycomforts of homethe air conditioningoceanfront viewthe beach is nice
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 246 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed here in March of 2009, shortly after they did renovations. I'm writing my review now because I can't believe I never did, as we absolutely LOVED the resort. I have stayed at a few other places in Oahu and this was very comparable. It's a good location, and the property is beautiful, especially after the renovations. Our hotel room was gorgeous, the service we received was amazing, and I just loved the Mai Tai Bar!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sspanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Hawaiian Princess Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

We're humbled by your raving review! Thank you for taking the time and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Ohana soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here in December for 2 weeks and mostly really liked it a lot but we can see how it is not for everyone. They are very strict with the pool rules so maybe not for people with lots of very loud active young kids. Also- it is far out from stuff- we like that, we had time on our side, we cannot imagine staying in Waikiki or Honolulu- we spend one day there and can't get out fast enough far enough. Beach here can't be beat, view is amazing. Full disclosure- we had to change units after our first night due to a roach infestation- the property management we rented through was Inga's rental was excellent- they sent someone right out to handle it and it was determined they would show us another unit that was much bigger- end unit with wrap around deck- no extra charge- actually they refunded us a night! This does not seem to be an unusual on Oahu. We have seen one here and there but this was bad- it was an older unit with lots of cracks- hiding places and they said the owner was just going to have to remodel at this point, Just make sure you know who you are renting from and that they are willing and able to help with whatever whenever- really no matter where you rent. We would rent here again and certainly use Inga's again in a heartbeat and would suggest them to anyone!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Hawaiian Princess Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We appreciate your honest comments and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

If you want a relaxing, listening to the ocean roar where you don't leave your hotel type of vacation, then this is the place for you. If you have a young family and want to see the sights of Oaho then this is not the spot. The ocean is very rough in the winter and not good for children. We saw two people almost drown. The pool is small and cold, and surrounded by older people who do not appreciate noise or splashing. Pool toys are NOT allowed. The hotel is quite isolated with very few restaurants around so make sure you have all the food you need. The drive down the coast to more populated areas, shopping and sights is quite long and the traffic is slow. It gets quite old fast.

We found the hotel itself okay ... Somewhat outdated but well secured as it is in the middle of local neighbours. Not sure what was happening but the loud banging noises we heard a lot were annoying and unsettling.

However, the hotel is RIGHT on the beach - one night the waves were literally right up to the hotel and the beach is beautiful. You can watch the sunset from your lanai and watch turtles play in the waves.

Families with young families would do better to stay at Ko Olina where there is safe beach swimming and where they will be closer to shopping and the sights. But you will pay more for that.

Room Tip: We only saw our room. Make sure you check all websites that may have rooms for this place.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BC_CanadaWx_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Hawaiian Princess Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was a timeshare exchange ...and were we LUCKY, LUCKY, LUCKY to have it come our way. Time shares on Oahu rarely come up, so when I saw this one, we snapped it up and were we happy we did!
The most fantastic setting ... literally sitting right on the beach ... we had a corner unit on a high floor, so woke every morning to the honus swimming in the surf. Beautiful sunsets ... seen every night from our wrap around lanai.
We had a one bedroom, one and a half bath ... a huge living area ... completely equipped kitchen ... and wrap around sliders from our bedroom, the dining area and living room.
Security is really good here ... some folk might be a little concerned given the location ... no doubt, this is not Waikiki ... and that is the good news! Cars are secured in a parking lot ... to get in and out, there is a key and combination ... there is a security guard on duty all night ... never had a moment of concern.
Some of the furniture was a little older, but everything was clean and kept up to date.
The pool area is small, but lovely ... and who really cares when you have the biggest swimming pool just steps away ... the Pacific Ocean?
We can hardly wait to go back .... and back ... and back ... and back. This is a wonderful place few tourists get to see, since most won't venture past Waikiki and their tour buses. But if you want to see the REAL Hawaii ... this is the place to go!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BornInHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Hawaiian Princess Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

What great feedback - Thank you for taking the time to review the Princess! We appreciate your positive comments and are glad you had a wonderful stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The hotel can use an update as some had said.But when something was dropped in the sink and it had cracks and the window frame and baseboard had not been painted in years.The door frames and baseboard in the hall way was also neglected.Since I work at a hotel In Las Vegas and they are always repainting and repairing every day these issues should have been taken care of long ago.The room was clean and the staff was good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Hawaiian Princess Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews