We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decompression Central!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hawaiian Princess Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decompression Central!”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 30th anniversary with a cruise on Norwegian Cruise Line's "Pride of America" the week before we arrived at the condo in Mahaka. We splurged on the cruise with a stateroom and large balcony. I thought that the H.P. condo would be a nice place to get away from it all and rest from the cruise! Well, we were on an end unit on the 12th floor and loved it! The security folks were very helpful when we arrived and got us squared away with the key fobs and parking etc. The beach is wonderful too. Mahaka is well away from Honolulu but we had a rental car and did take several side trips back to Perl Harbor and the North Shore. I agree the neighborhood is a bit run down, but with an ocean view from the condo and beach who cares! My wife's only complaint: not all the sliding glass doors and screens had working locks on them. However, the front gate door for the condo is your real security door anyway. I'd would definitely consider going back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Texson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    83
    15
    9
    15
See reviews for
76
90
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

My family and I are yearly travelers to Hawaii and regularly stay at the Hawaiian Princess. It is 45 minutes from down town Honolulu and the $27. hamburgers and tourist traps which is part of the attraction for us. Once you have visited and seen all of the tourist spots really all we are looking for is some beach, some sun, friends and de-stress. Some of the reviews about its location and the surrounding community are unfair and there is clearly a misunderstanding. The tents on some public land along the beach are not the homeless. It is Hawaiians maintaining a presence on land so as not to loose claim to it otherwise, according to the laws there, it could be sold by the government to land developers. One has to remember that some Hawaiians consider the US as an foreign country occupying the Hawaiian kingdom. The economics on the islands creates a huge income gap between the rich and lower income on the island. There is a very small middle class and few well paying jobs. Everyone is cleaning your hotel room and cooking your dinner. If your thing is Honolulu and shopping then Hawaiian Princess may not be for you, but you will be missing out on some wonderful family run restaurants in the area, wonderful friendly locals, there is a surfing school nearby and some fun community activities and meals. My kids have never had such fun. You can see the sites or you can take the time to get to know people and the place they live. It all depends on the kind of vacation you want to experience. Hawaiian Princess is clean, friendly, relaxing, inexpensive, safe but no, it is not a compound for the rich and famous....that one is a little further down the beach (15 min) on the same side of the island (how bad can it be). If you want to see a real tent city go to north shore to watch the surfing but I guess that one is ok because its all unemployed or rich 20 somethings from the main land surfing the year away.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012 via mobile

Our stay here at the Hawaiian Princess has been great. It's defaintly a lot out of the, so of you plan on seeing the all of the island this might not be the best place to stay. It's about 45 min from the airport or anything else. We made a trip to Sea Life Park on a Tuseday, left the condo at 9:30 and got the just before 11:00. We stayed in 203, great view, easy acces to pool, beach, and parking lot. Our condo had basic kitchen stuff, high speed intranet, Vizo LCD tv, DVD player with USB hookup. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The comments on security make me giggle, if you follow the rules, no issues. I would defaintly recommend this spot for families, beach has no crowds, and no crazy partygoers. I'm not sure if I would check out any local bars or dance clubs, but that's not why we came.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
12 Thank Gerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

My husband and our girls stayed here the end of September in 2011. The beach is nice and not crowed. The only down fall is that you are away from everything Oahu is famous for. As another person mentioned, there are bums nearby at another beach, but if you just plan to hang at the condo you will be fine. There is no restaurant at this condo, but they come with refridgerators in the units. There needs to be more places to eat around the Makaha area in my opinion. Over all, it is an okay place to stay, especially if you just want to hang at the beach. Btw, if you are traveling with 4 people make sure to tell them you want a roll awayif you have a 1 bedroom.. This was a problem with us, as our girls didnt want to sleep together.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ritzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Found this place on VRBO, looked like exactly what we were searching for. Away from Waikiki, clean and quiet. Read some reviews and was a little concerned about the neighborhood and safety. It was a none issue, security around the building is pretty tight. You need a fob to get in the gate from the street, to access the pool, to get in from the beach and to get on the elevator. While this was a bit of a pain it made it hard for anyone who wasn't a guest to get in. Some reviews say that they would not bring their family to this area and I might not either, only because kids might not have much to do.We were in unit 1306, paid about $125 a night. Unit was clean and comfortable, well equipped, kitchen was a little dated but everything mostly worked. (Had some issues with the dryer but the owner was really good about getting it fixed and ended up reducing our bill) Looked at another unit next to ours that had been updated a little but basically the same. Great views from the balcony, saw many whales passing by just offshore as well as turtles swimming along the shore. Sunsets were amazing every night.The beach was fantastic, beautiful clean sand, water crystal clear, no seaweed smell at all. Quite swimmable most days, easy sandy entry, coral was out quite a ways so no water shoes needed. Gets deep pretty quick.Snorkelling was possible but not that much to see. The break was fairly big some days so you need to time it or you could get knocked around a bit, but once past that you could bob around in the waves no problem. On a couple days the waves were big enough for surfing or boggie boarding, was fun to watch. Only one day out of two weeks that they were too big for me to go in, unusual for this time of year I guess, so we were lucky. There is a beach access right next to the building that the locals could use but the beach never was crowded and they were all very friendly. The neighbourhood is a little rough, every house seemed to have chain link fences and or dogs. we walked in both directions, south to Waianae, north to Mahaka beach, never felt unsafe. Went past a homeless camp on the way to town, looked a little rough, but homeless doesn't mean criminal. If I was homeless that would be a nice place to have to do it. In town at the stores all the locals were very friendly. Prices were much more reasonable than any of the stores we found last year on Maui. We pretty much made all our meals at the condo, did a big shop at Costco on our first day, about 30 minutes back towards Honolulu. The BBQ area in the evening was a great place to meet other travelers. Most seemed to be from Canada, many were regulars at this spot. The condo is a mix of owner occupied, owner rentals like we had and time share owners. There was a timeshare office on site but absolutely no sales pressure. While we were there we drove around the whole island, nothing is more than an hour away. We alternated staying on the beach with exploring, there is much to see on Oahu, quite a bit more than Maui I think. Spent a day at Waikiki, very busy, beach is nice but crowded. Lots of shopping, mostly high end. Great restaurants, all varieties and price ranges. Lots of night life if that's what you want. Huge resorts many people. Hiked up Diamond Head, a must see, incredible views, felt like cattle being herded along the trail, so many tourists. Then drove along the windward (east) shore, watched the locals body surf at Sandy beach, not for beginners. A little further along are miles of calm sandy beaches, kailua was so beautiful. Would love to spend more time there. Spent a half day at Pearl Harbor, very moving. Then did the market at Aloha stadium, some good deals, definitely the place to get your souvenirs. Another day to see the North Shore, surf contest at he Bonsai pipeline was called off because the waves were too big the day we went. Still saw a few guys out there, crazy huge waves, so much power there. Also checked out Turtle Bay resort up on the point, very nice but nothing else around, would feel quite isolated up there and big bucks to stay. Stopped at one of the many shrimp shacks and had an awesome lunch. On our next to last day we drove as far north as you can on the west side to Yokohama beach. You can hike from there quite a ways along a rocky shore, absolutely gorgeous views. No matter where you stay on Oahu, I recommend a book called Oahu Revealed. Was in our our condo and we found it so helpful. Unbiased reviews on everything, no paid advertising and the authors have visited every place they mention. The Hawaiian Princess and the beach it's on are both mentioned as hidden gems and great values. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. if you want a nice quiet spot, with great views, nice beach this is the spot.

Room Tip: Higher floors will have the best view, ground floor units might not be as secure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Softball_nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Yes, the condos are right on the beach. However, the building is located in the ghetto of Oahu. You are just as close to the tent city where all the homeless people live as you are to the beach. There are way too many sketchy characters floating around the area for my family. The ghetto aside, the worst part of the stay was the manager John. He treats his 'guests' as prisoners rather than paying customers. I have never met a ruder person in my life. Stay away from this property.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
16 Thank HawaiianPrisoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madras, OR
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This place is amazing, well off the beaten, tourist laden path. The condo was wonderful with unbeatable views. The staff on the other hand, were very cranky. My wife was using the to rinse sand of her feet before entering the elevator (as required by resport policy). A staff member grabbed it out of her hands and said, "I'll take this now." So, we proceeded toward the elevator. A second staff member saw she was about to enter the elevator with sand still on her feet and started hounding her about it then went through the entire lobby telling everyone about all the "rude" tourists that come and make his job so much harder. Needless to say we were less than thrilled, luckily it was our last day there.
So as long as the staff took their Prozac that morning, your stay should be all that you hoped for and more!

Room Tip: The corner rooms have a wonderful balcony that wraps around both sides of the room with a privacy ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Scoobyw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waianae
10.7 mi away
Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club
10.2 mi away
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa
22.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Oahu North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Oahu/Kapolei
21.7 mi away
Turtle Bay Resort
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
3,983 reviews
24.4 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawaiian Princess Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawaiian Princess Resort

Property: Hawaiian Princess Resort
Address: 84-1021 Lahilahi St, Waianae, Oahu, HI 96792-2045
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Waianae
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Waianae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawaiian Princess Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hawaiian Princess Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawaiian Princess Hotel Waianae
Hawaiian Princess Resort Hawaii/Waianae, Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing