We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best holiday ever!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waianae
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Makaha Beach Cabanas
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Makaha Beach Cabanas at property #250185 while on a 10 day trip in Oahu. The condo belongs to Tara and her husband. This was by far the best deal we found on the island after weeks of research. Tara was super nice, although we never actually got to meet her but she was very friendly and helpful over the phone.

I have to say we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the condo. It was clean, beautiful and had everything we could possibly need to feel at home (pots, pans, cutlery, dishes, flatware, spices, tape, toilet paper, umbrellas, snorkeling equipment, lots of towels, boogie boards, chairs, bedsheets, pillows, extra mattress, alarm clock, even nail polish remover!). The list goes on. I mean, you'll be surprised at how convenient the condo is. It is a short drive away from 7/11 and the local Tamura Market which has pretty much everything you'll need.

The cool thing about the condo is that the entrance faces beautiful green mountains and the lanai from the master bedroom faces the ocean. You couldn't find a better ocean front property than this. Sunrise from the mountains and sunset on the beach. It is absolutely gorgeous. This condo is on the 6th floor so it's perfect because you get a much more beautiful view and the beach is just an elevator ride away.

We loved hanging out at the beach. The property is well gated with a security guard, so it feels safe. You need a security system to open the front gate, then the building gate and then to operate the elevator (also to open the beach entrance). Couldn't get safer than that! The beach is private and not crowded and noisy. We used to drive to all the touristy locations in the day and then come back in the evening to relax at the beach. We didn't have to worry about our things being stolen like we would otherwise at the public beaches. The beach is absolutely gorgeous and great for snorkeling.

There's a barbecue by the
beach and a great place to make friends with other people
living at the condo. There's a place to do laundry as well which was very helpful because we did a lot of hikes and got pretty dirty.

I would seriously recommend this place to anyone who wishes to make a trip to Oahu. The only thing is, if you're looking for a crowded, touristy, party-happening location, this might not be your piece of cake. This is far from the city night life and parties and I wouldn't recommend going out at night here. If you would like to be in a more touristy location, I'd suggest find something near Waikiki. But if you want to enjoy some of the best of Hawai'i, relax and chill with the locals, this is the place to be. You cant beat the price. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Akriti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Makaha Beach Cabanas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 58 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed in condo 918b. The condo was clean, nicely furnished, and stocked with everything we could possibly have needed. The security guard was very helpful and friendly. The beach was literally outside our door, and never crowded. I can think of nothing that would have made our stay more enjoyable! Just a fabulous, easy, and very relaxing experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lindsey13a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Excellent cabana - will definitely return and highly recommend this unit. Stepping right out onto the beach each morning for a sunrise walk was a highlight of each day. Beautiful views and semi-private beach. Condo clean and well maintained and provided many amenities needed to enjoy a relaxing vacation. Beach chairs, cooler, hair dryer and much more available for use while staying. Condo is close enough to everything but far enough to be out of the hustle bustle.

Room Tip: We chose a room on the ground floor - this offers easy access directly to the beach. Otherwise you...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Onenadozn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just returned from a 10 night stay at Makaha Beach Cabanas and everything was even better than expected (vrbo 429050). Kathy (owner of I believe 4 identical condos there) was wonderful to work with. Condos in this building are an amazing bargain to be located right on what we felt to be the most beautiful beach in Oahu (Papaoneone/Turtle Beach). If you were staying in a condo like this in any other part of Hawaii you would be paying many times more, but with this being a residential part of the island made up of mainly (it seemed) locals, the prices are a lot more affordable.

I think the main thing to note with any unit in Makaha Beach Cabanas OR Hawaiian Princess next door, is that you need to decide what kind of vacation you are looking for/do your research on the area before booking at either of these places and then complaining about things. Correct, there is not much more than fast food in terms of "dining" out without driving 20-25 min away (saves a lot of money though by buying groceries with the bonus of an oceanview meal 3x a day at the condo). Yes it is a lower income area of Oahu (although as my boyfriend pointed out, we felt there was a much worse homeless problem on Waikiki Beach than around here), yes you will hear some sirens (I live in a safe area in the suburbs of Vancouver and hear sirens every day too), and yes it will take some time if you want to visit some of the sights of Oahu, go shopping, or dine out (but if you avoid rush hour it really isn't bad, took us about 40 minutes to get there from the airport and the same time to the North Shore).

We did not feel unsafe at any point during our stay - there is a gated/secured parking lot so never worried about the car at all, and I think it really goes to show that if you are friendly and polite to the people you meet, you will receive the same treatment back. I found the people both staying at the condo and in the areas around it to be very pleasant with many wanting to strike up a friendly conversation or even just a "good morning".

So if you want to avoid the crowds, meet some friendly locals, pick up some groceries to cook for yourself (in our case, in a very well equipped gorgeously renovated kitchen), and just relax either on the perfect beach in front, or spend some guiltfree time lounging in your condo since you still feel like you're still "at" the beach with a direct view right down to the sand and water, this is THE place. We boogie boarded (or attempted to at least) on the days with more waves, and snorkeled (with turtles!) on the days the ocean was calm. The snorkeling was so much better than expected, my boyfriend was even able to hear the whales singing one day when he was out. From the beach and from the deck of the condo, we saw turtles, whales, dolphins, and even had a sea lion sunning himself on the beach one whole afternoon. The sand is fine crushed coral, beautiful and soft, and the water is bright clear blue. Some palm trees along the beach, cliff on one side, mountain view on the other, with NO crowds.. what more can you ask for in the perfect beach?

As for our unit - SPOTLESS on arrival, no bugs at all, and all of the renovations are of top quality. Granite countertops, beautiful tile throughout, very nice wooden cupboards (and even smooth shutting drawers, etc), and stainless quality appliances. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable, very nice linens/towels, and the big flat screen TVs with many many channels in both the living room and the bedroom were so nice to have (couldn't even feel guilty spending time in bed watching TV when you could still see the beach at the same time!)

Waking up each day and rolling over to see the beach right there (we were on the 5th floor which I thought was perfect) was amazing. You could actually see the sand from the bed and a full view of the water. At night while listening to the waves, you could see the stars - simply incredible. We had planned a few activities to do while on Oahu and ended up not leaving Makaha/Waianae until we checked out. Whether we were on the beautiful beach, or reading/playing cards on the deck enjoying the view, we just couldn't tear ourselves away from the place.

Can't wait to come back - hopefully can get some friends on board to rent a couple of the other condos at the same time. There were many many repeat visitors here who seemed to have the same idea!

Room Tip: Check vrbo and read the reviews on units there. All seem to have the same layout, but various decor...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank J9ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Makaha Beach Cabanas twice, once for two weaks and next year for three weeks. The neighbourhood isn't the greatest of all, but local people are very friendly, the view is astonishing and also it's location direct on the beach. The condo is clean and very well equipped. The only thing you will need to care about is food. Also a rented car is really recommended. This is a perfect place to breath in hawaian atmosphere. If Honolulu is too crouded and Kailua or Lanikai too windy, then this place os for you. I'm looking for lifetime condo rent:)

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miro81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We booked #404 from vrbo.
The condos: clean, quiet, unbeatable beautiful view. The balcony is less than 50 Ft from the sea and the view of the blue sea, yellow sand and mountains is unbeatable. Sleep to the sound of the waves is so relaxing. We saw humpback whales over breakfast! The owner Michele provided everything- snorkel gear, boogie boards, cooler, laundry detergent, beach chairs and mats, cooking vessels and essential spices and many more to make our stay super comfortable. Front of the condos is unimpressive and the living room is dark and dingy, but the bedroom is bright and opens into the balcony. No bathtub or washing machines within the condo, but there's a coin operated washing machine in the building.
The area: rundown, not too many great places to eat. We ended up eating before we started for home everyday. The condo area is safe- we left the car window open all night with our gps and half our belongings in clear view, and everything was untouched in the morning. The security guard patrols the corridors every night too. The beach in front is private and free of squatters.
The location: great if you want to just hang out, but one hour from anywhere interesting. Waikiki is about an hour, north shore about the same, in non peak hours. As first timers, we ended up driving 2-2.5 hours everyday to see the interesting places, and had to carefully plan to avoid the peak hours. We lived out of our car for the day as coming back to bathe and change was too taxing. If you're a first time visitor and want to avoid the concrete jungle of waikiki, consider staying closer to ewa beach or Diamond head area.

Room Tip: All rooms have the sea view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cvs666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Makaha Beach Cabanas Review

Summary:
We strenuously recommend that you do not stay here. We wish someone would have warned us. Ignore this review at your peril. The few dollars saved on rent will not be worth all the disappointments. We found the town of Makaha to be very rough, loud, unkept, and extremely inconvenient to travel to and from. We found this particular building to be nothing like a vacation condo timeshare that you may have seen elsewhere on VRBO. It is just like an apartment building with no incentive to invest in upkeep, with all the unattractive sights, obnoxious sounds, and bad smells that you would expect in a high-density low-rent apartment complex. We found this particular unit to be poorly maintained and unsafe—my wife stepped on broken glass left in the unit and contracted an infection from something at the beginning of our stay, ruining our entire vacation. We found the owner Wayne’s correspondence to change from polite to rude and condescending once he had our money and we had a problem. He offered to pay us $300 to not write a review of his condo. Having personal integrity and a desire to warn others from such a bad experience, we refused this. This trip was a nightmare.


Detail:
Makaha- We were looking to avoid the Waikiki highrises and all that, but would have traded for anything after staying here. It is near the end of the road, and slow moving traffic will waste a good part of your day to access Pearl Harbor, let alone the North Shore, or even Ko Olina where you will find the closest nice beaches. You are looking at an hour + of slow traffic with lots of lights at the beginning and end of your day, and the drive is not picturesque or pleasant. Makaha and the road’s viewscape leading to it has a slummy look to it, with conspicuous lack of pride of ownership. There is junk strewn around people’s property, blowing tattered tarps, litter, barking feral dogs, and a generally slovenly state, which is unfortunate because this would otherwise be a beautiful location. Low-income areas of other islands were not like this. I was told that there are substantial problems with drug use and crime, as well as issues surrounding homeless encampments, which looked right to us. There are lots of loud booming stereos from local cars cruising aimlessly and even more screaming police and ambulance sirens to keep you awake at all hours of the night. We literally counted one every hour one night, until near dawn, when the incessant rooster crowing starts like clockwork continuously throughout the morning. This is the only part of the Islands where we observed that owners had felt the need to post security guards in basic local shops like the grocery and drug stores.

Makaha Beach Cabanas- This is basically an apartment building. I think the units are privately-owned condos, but these are nothing like typical resort vacation condos where the management rents some as hotel rooms and some are privately-owned and subbed out through VRBO. We have stayed in several of those and found them to be nice. This place looks, feels, and acts like cheap apartments. If you ever had to live in one while struggling with tough jobs, you know what I mean. It is high-density living with cinder block walls, and since it is sweltering hot with no AC, you have to have your windows open all the time, and you get to hear people’s booming stereos and TVs, parties, domestic disputes, and all that comes with that (sometimes it was so loud we could not hear our own TV). And you will smell all their gross cooking, chain smoking, manicure chemicals, etc. Most tenants are local residents, not tourists, and no one looked particularly happy to be there. One local couple we met was eagerly moving out soon.

It was so hot while we were there in October that we were constantly sweating, even at night with windows open and ceiling fans on, etc. We had to go and buy our own fan to try to move some more air. “Trade Winds” may come through and then stop whenever they feel like it – we woke up soaked in sweat several times a night. We had to buy our own pillows as the ones provided had a crunchy dried sweat-like thing going on. I recommend a unit with AC if you convince yourself to stay here or the Princess next door, and then you’ll be able to block out some noise too.

You will find many owners touting the “Private Beach” out back. This is patently false. This is a public access beach, with large thoroughfares on both ends where locals roam through. Not a big deal, but be aware of the truth. There does not seem to be anyone charged with cleaning up the beach area, so you will see lots of garbage and bonfire debris left over, and the daily off-leash dog walkers leave turds all over so watch your step. We ended up travelling to Ko Olina a significant journey by vehicle, just to get away from there and use a decent beach. One day we tried to read on the beach out back and someone was doing maintenance at the Princess. They ran a grinder or something for hours on end. It was so loud we could not even concentrate on a book and gave up. I tried to snorkel there and found the water too turbid to seen anything, and dive shops said this side of the island is notorious for currents dragging people out to sea. We read in one review that the nearby sewage plant dumps raw sewage into the ocean when it rains and they saw human feces float by them. Wow.

Specific Unit #A-406 , VRBO 341092
Owner Wayne lives on the mainland and rents this out to make money. It became clear in correspondence that he is not familiar with the state of the unit and had not visited for some time. We had both major and minor problems with the unit, but in every case, Wayne stated, explicitly or implicitly, that what we stated was a lie and/or “beyond his control.” You can’t expect a vacation rental to be flawless, but you can expect issues to be dealt with and owners to take responsibility for the condition of the unit. Don’t expect this here.

The first night there, before we ever got to set foot on a beach, my wife stepped on a shard of broken glass left on the floor (by previous occupant) of this condo while trying to go to the bathroom in bare feet. It got impaled into her foot. I was able to remove a portion of it at the time with tweezers, but some of it was impaled too deeply. She subsequently could not walk without pain, and could not walk barefoot anywhere, including the beach, without fear of infection because of the open wound on her foot. She had spent months planning many vacation activities, and now could not do most of them. She also contracted an infection the next day. We went to an urgent care facility on the island (long drive), and the doctor said that the glass would have to be surgically removed, and the recovery would preclude her from doing just about anything for the whole trip, and so she recommended trying to postpone this until we got home, which we did.

When we brought this up to Wayne, he responded by stating that he heard (third hand) from his buddy who lives on Oahu, who asked the cleaning lady about if she cleans well, who said to Wayne’s buddy that she in fact cleans quite carefully, who passed this on to Wayne, who then told us in sum that therefore, what we described could not have happened. Really? We made that up? We found Wayne to be very cagey and careful to never admit or take responsibility for anything. He then said that he assumed she was injured walking barefoot on the beach, and that we could not prove anything. What reasonable person would not apologize for what occurred and offer to pay your medical expenses, or at least assure that they would take action to prevent recurrence? Nada.

The unit is infested with insects. I don’t mean cute tropical bugs that float on by or flies, geckos, or things we have never minded other places. I mean gross little mini cockroach-like bugs that pour out of every nook and cranny and race around the countertops, stove, and through the cupboards. I smashed dozens every day and it did not make a dent. The granite slab will not look so nice when you find it camouflages a bug swarm. It is obvious they travel through the walls to other floors. BTW Wayne said that you should expect bugs, including bed bugs, in any rental unit, and then blamed it on the previous renter, but then implied that this could not have happened because he heard the building provides pest control.

The toilet filled to overflowing one day while we were away and had not even used it that morning. That means that someone else’s sewage was backfilling our toilet. There was no plunger in the unit, so we could not fix it ourselves. We tried to call Wayne but the numbers left in the unit’s info book had been disconnected and not updated. When we found a good number online, his “Agent” did show up and unclog it before the water reached the top and our neighbor’s toilet water covered the floor.

The next door unit is occupied by some young people that have a party most nights. One night it was so loud that we could not hear our TV and the wall was pounding. One other nearby tenant got in a shouting match with them about it and was run off with threats and curses from a large man. The parking lot security guard did nothing. I went down and asked him if there were rules. He said only after ten, but then proceeded to inform the loud people that our unit had complained about them. This only served to enrage them, and they then pounded on our shared wall and door, and shouted taunts and threats through our window. My wife then felt unsafe for the rest of our stay, and this did not provide for a relaxing environment. We let Wayne know, because we expected he would care. No apology. He said that situations like this are normal here as in any hotel (?!?), and again “beyond his control.”

I could go on, but this should be enough information for you to make a better choice on Oahu.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Happy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidgeMichigan, Guest at Makaha Beach Cabanas, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

I just can't let this review go without a response. This person must have visited the Cabanas in a parallel universe. This is our 3rd stay here. We have been coming to Hawaii for about 12 years, have stayed on Oahu, Kauai, Maui & the Big Island, in Marriott time shares and hotels, so we know well the variety & levels of places to stay.

First of all, each condo is privately owned, so the style, cleanliness & supplies depend on the individual owner. We have stayed in 102, 106 & 107. 102 & 107 are great, clean, updated & pretty.
106 needs work. So, I strongly suggest that if the reviewer was staying in a dirty, buggy, uncared for unit, it would certainly have negatively colored their entire stay. I have seen units that are entirely updated w/all modern appliances & granite countertops! We love staying on the main floor because we can step off the lanai directly onto the beach! People are not allowed to smoke in the building so smokers go outside. Since people have to eat to live & this is residential building, people cook. Gross cooking smells are in the "nose of the beholder". We've been here winter & summer & have never needed air conditioning. Opening up windows on each side of the condo brings in the trade winds & ocean breezes.

Which brings me to the beach. No beach in Hawaii is entirely private because the law states that no one can own the ocean & that there should be access for all. However, this beach IS virtually private except when locals come on the weekends. I've never seen more than 20 or so people on the beach during the week, maybe double that on weekends. There is one dog walker & he always cleans up after his dogs. The view is fabulous, sunsets incredible, water is crystal clear & snorkeling is great. If you're a surfer, high surf days would be for you. The beach is the biggest draw!

This is a local area mixed w/ocean front homes. The drive in is unattractive but not scary at all. We have never experienced any crime and everyone is very friendly. It is a 20 minute drive to Kapolei for all kinds of restaurants, shops & Costco. As on all the islands, there is the main road that encircles the entire island, next to the ocean. Yes, there is traffic, but nothing compared to the ocean side road in Maui. If you want the fancy shops & expensive restaurants, then by all means, stay in or near Waikiki. If that's where you want to be more than 1x during your stay, you definitely should stay closer to the city traffic & crowded beaches. In about 45 min. you can drive to Chinatown, Pearl Harbor or the North Shore.

I decided to take the time to write such an extensive response because our experience has been so entirely different. At the moment I am sitting on the lanai in 102, whale watching & surfer watching. There's a monk seal in the shallow water & we all hope he comes on the sand to sun bathe.

Midge

-------



Carol


--


-----

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waianae
10.8 mi away
Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club
10.3 mi away
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa
22.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Oahu North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Oahu/Kapolei
0.1 mi away
Hawaiian Princess Resort
21.7 mi away
Turtle Bay Resort
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makaha Beach Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makaha Beach Cabanas

Address: 84-965 Farrington Hwy, Waianae, Oahu, HI 96792-2044
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Waianae
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Waianae
Price Range: $120 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fabulous Main Floor Oceanfront Condo! Step from the lanai directly on one of the Best Rated Beaches in Oahu! Watch spectacular sunsets, see the dolphins, sea turtles and even whales during the annual migration--all from the comfort of your beachfront lanai.Swim, snorkel, boogie board, surf or golf nearby at two top-quality courses. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Makaha Beach Cabanas Hotel Waianae
Makaha Beach Cabanas Hawaii/Waianae, Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing