We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Beach on Oahu”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waianae
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Makaha Beach Cabanas
Reviewed October 3, 2011

With a previous good experience renting a vacation condo in the Hawaiian Islands, we decided to try it again on Oahu. Wanting to stay away from the bustle of Waikiki, we decided on the Makaha Beach Cabanas in Waianae. We rented apt. B912A on the top floor.

You will definitely want, and need, to rent a car if staying here. Waianae is 30-40 minutes by car from Honolulu Int'l Airport. That being said, it is very easy to get there. The main highway out of the airport, H1 westbound, leads into the Farrington Highway which heads right to the door of the building. The parking lot is secure, with after hours security who conducted a roving patrol of the floors and the beach while we were there. All access to the building, and the elevator, is secure via key fob. We never felt unsafe whatsoever, and we are pretty finicky about stuff like that.

The building is right on the beach, which was very lightly used. A pleasant difference to the cattle pen that is Waikiki. We went all around Oahu, and this was probably the best beach for lying around that we saw. Of course, be cautious around the surf. It can be quite strong.

We made full use of the kitchen, which had all the pots and pans, plates, appliances etc. that we could think of. There is a supermarket down the road which was clean and had most everything we needed. The apt was well stocked with towels, etc. WiFi, which is absolutely necessary for most people now, worked in all the rooms. There is no air conditioning. During the week that we were there, in Sept., the trade winds were quite strong coming off the water, and provided enough breeze to usually make up for the lack of aircon. There was only one time where we caught ourselves saying we wished we had air. Whether this is important to you is entirely subjective. If you come from a warmer climate, you probably won't notice. But, not sure how much you'll miss it in the middle of the summer.

In the general vicinity, there is not a lot of touristy stuff to see. It is a working class neighbourhood that possibly has a worse reputation than it deserves. It's not a big island, though, and we found Waianae was a good jumping off point to any other point on the island. We took advantage of our drives to other parts of the island to sample better restaurants.

All in all, this building is a good compromise between a very nice beach and a safe, economical location. We were not disappointed that we thought outside of the box for accomodation on Oahu. This location delivered exactly what we thought it would.

Room Tip: Every room has a romantic view of sunsets over the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank worldlycanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 58 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2011

We stayed in A901. The room had everything we needed and then some. They have a full kitchen so we could cook a lot in our room. They have grills on the property so we cooked some burgers one day while spending it on the beach. They have coin operated laundry services on the property as well. The view was AMAZING! the sound of the waves crashing at night was so soothing. I didn't want to come home. I would recommend this place to everyone. We will definitely go back. Ola Properties were awesome to work with! Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ilovelucy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

The gentle roar of the waves as they lapped against the beach was our lullaby each night. We were able to enjoy dinners on the balcony as we watched the sunset every evening. The view is wonderful and the beach is very private and spacious. Beaches in Waikiki are eroded and small and crowded, the beaches at this resort had very few people (most at any point was 20) and the sand is so soft. It is quite far away from any attractions (although there are a few Luau's and malls nearby) but you have to drive past a mountain range that you can't drive through unless you have military access. But Oahu's highway is easy to navigate and really only about 45 mins away from the main part of the island. The guards are very friendly and you feel safe in the resort. The only complaint is the laundry machines aren't that great, you can't put too much in one load. And the manager on duty wasn't very friendly and threatened to have us buy a new laundry machine if we "overloaded" it again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

i stayed in condo 918. had everything we could possibly need. i agree with the last review on this place, it is kinda far from all the major attractions maybe you would consider that a bonus, i usually do. the restaurants in this area are bad and lack variety. found only one that was good, barbecue kai, the prices were good and so was the food. the grocery store tamura was fine for what you needed but i found the meats to be not too fresh and prices are insane. if you plan on going into waikiki or any of the attractions plan on it taking roughly 45 minutes to an hour and a half depending on traffic. but the condo itself is awesome, and the price cannot be beat for beachview. we always felt safe here, and the other tenents were always friendly

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sonjason5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

we sayed at unit918. top floor, corner unit. We rented from vrbo.com and the management company was very professional and easy to work with.
The condo was great, a little on the small side, but there is a tv, pull-out couch, kitchen area up front towards mauka(mountains) bathroom in the middle (only shower stall) and bedroom with lanai makai. The view from the lanai was great!!! I love the view when you open the shutters. We ate out in the lanai often and even saw whales and dolphins swim-by in a distance!
However, since the units are small, king size beds are uncommon. I don't think it'll fit! and the bathroom is small too. (picture attached) but the view is awesome. The unit was well kept and had a well stocked kitchen, beach towels, beach chairs, coolers, etc.
The only thing is that is is very far from everything else! We ended up driving to Pearl City, Ewa, Waikele preimuim outlets etc but it takes at least half an hour each way on a local road with multiple traffic lights. There is no "fast way" to get into the city. The nearest resort area is Ko Olina but that is still quite a ways and until you get there, there is no multi-lane highways. I think a lot of money was invested into Ko Olina so the resorts get their lagoons and highways, but it stops there.
Don't go to Tamura's supermarket, what a dissapointment. Poke wasn't even that good.
You do have a private beach-although no beaches in hawaii are officially private, not a lot of locals will utilize this beach during the week. This was nice ;)
We were a little intimidated driving at to the Cabanas because it is so far away from everything else, but there is another tower right next to this one filled with "out of towners". We met some nice people staying long term at the cabanas, there is a keyfob to get into the parking lot, into the lobby, into the elevators too. A security guard is at the gate house in the parking lot.
The security is nice, but at the same time.. does it mean it is necessary? I mean, if that was not there, would there be problems?
Waianae is known for "some negative things" mostly because of the lower income level, but I think it has gotten a lot better over the years and it if you are not out looking for trouble, you should be fine. People are generally nice. Respect the local land,culture and people and use common sense as you would in any other city. Waianae, Makaha is a local town, not a spa resort.
overall, great price for the view!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ohana_kauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Makaha Beach Cabanas were absolutely awesome!!! We all loved Oahu so much. We have been home for 1 month and miss it terribly. When we have the opportunity to go again, we will stay here again!! Mahalo to the cabana owner for sharing paradise!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mvpkidmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

This place is great. It has to be on one of the best beaches on the island and the room was beautiful. We stayed in unit A901 and it had EVERYTHING we needed and we liked the location. 10 minutes one way and youre at the end of the road and 20 minutes the other and you're in Honolulu. We'd go to the other side of the island and be back by lunchtime. If you want to relax on a beautiful uncrowded beach with a book this is it. The snorkeling was great too. The bay is full or turtles and the water was crystal clear...We really enjoyed our stay there and we will go back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UALDEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waianae
10.8 mi away
Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club
10.3 mi away
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa
22.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Oahu North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Oahu/Kapolei
0.1 mi away
Hawaiian Princess Resort
21.7 mi away
Turtle Bay Resort
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makaha Beach Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makaha Beach Cabanas

Address: 84-965 Farrington Hwy, Waianae, Oahu, HI 96792-2044
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Waianae
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Waianae
Price Range: $120 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fabulous Main Floor Oceanfront Condo! Step from the lanai directly on one of the Best Rated Beaches in Oahu! Watch spectacular sunsets, see the dolphins, sea turtles and even whales during the annual migration--all from the comfort of your beachfront lanai.Swim, snorkel, boogie board, surf or golf nearby at two top-quality courses. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Makaha Beach Cabanas Hotel Waianae
Makaha Beach Cabanas Hawaii/Waianae, Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing