We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just What We Wanted!”
other travelers have booked this property
NORTH SHORE BEACH FRONT STUDIO 
Amazing beach studio!
2 guests max
Owen's Retreat
Since 1960
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
NORTH SHORE BEACH FRONT STUDIO 
Amazing beach studio!
2 guests max
Owen's Retreat
Since 1960
OCEAN BEACH FRONT STUDIO COTTAGE DINING AREA WITH BEACH & OCEAN VIEWS
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
25 reviews
NORTH SHORE BEACH FRONT STUDIO 
Amazing beach studio!
2 guests max
Owen's Retreat
Since 1960
OCEAN BEACH FRONT STUDIO COTTAGE
DINING AREA WITH BEACH & OCEAN VIEWS
1 QUEEN BED WITH BEACH & OCEAN VIEWS
OCEAN VIEWS FROM ENTIRE COTTAGE
COMPLETE KITCHEN
FULL BATHROOM
FANTASTIC SWIMMING AND SNORKELING. PRISTINE WHITE SAND MOKULEIA BEACH
Amazing ocean/beach front views! Pristine beach!
Amazing deck with ocean/beach views
Honus rest in front of property
Humpback whales watching from mid December through April
Hawaiian Monk Seal rest on the beach
Swim with a honu
Kite surfing & Surfer's paradise
Kitesurfing & surfing right in front of property
Mokuelia Beach Cottage with amazing beach views
Ka'ena Point State Park & Albatross Sanctuary
Skydiving & Paragliding 2 min drive
Hawaii Polo Club
Mokuleia Polo 3min drive
Waialua Town 10min drive
Schofield Barracks 20 min drive
Haleiwa Town 10min drive
Waimea Valley falls 25min drive
Waimea Bay 20min drive
Polynesian Cultural Center 40min drive
USS Arizona Memorial at Pearl Harbor 30min drive
Honolulu International Airport 55min drive
National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific 55 min drive
Beach wedding flower girls
Hawaiian Beach wedding
Hawaiian Beach wedding on the property
Hawaiian beach wedding cake under the stars at Mokuleia
Hawaiian Beach wedding for 100 guests
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Waialua, Oahu, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SMR8279
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just What We Wanted!”
Reviewed October 27, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the Orange House. This place was exactly what we were looking for. Beautiful, secluded, peaceful, and clean. If you are looking for a place to unwind and take in nature and all of its beauty, then this is the place for you. The pillows of the bed literally rest 20 feet away from the ocean. Many beachside homes/condos claim that they are beachside, and perhaps they are--but this place is literally beachside. It gives a new meaning to "sleeping to the sounds of the ocean."

I took several pictures that, frankly, are postcard worthy. On one special evening, we were walking along the beach (with absolutely no one in sight) when all at once we heard a bell ring. A local fisherman had a line cast and it was apparent that he was in for quite the catch! We hadn't seen him prior, as he was a little bit more inland. He ran out and lo and behold reeled in what is called an "Ulua" fish. 45 pounds of a steely-grinned monster of a fish!

This place is for the traveler who is looking to prioritize exploration, nature, and comfort over the crowded "ammenity" resort feel. On a side note--you are 20 feet away from excellent snorkeling. We saw a TON of sea turtles!

The caretaker was extremely friendly and nice, and we even met the owners who were equally so. They let us tour the other cottages. It's only a matter of time before we return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and the view.
Liked least: We didn't stay long enough.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly...
Gray, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Almost perfect - definitely peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
8
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the orange cottage from 4/27/14 - 4/30/14 & 5/5/14 - 5/9/14 during our two week honeymoon stay. Unfortunately, it was booked from 4/30 - 5/5 so we stayed in the pink cottage during that time. Will review the pink cottage separately.

The orange cottage met our expectations in every way and is pictured accurately - no surprises at all. Although small (you really need to like each other to spend 2 weeks here ;) ) it was very clean and functional. The caretakers (Bernie and Ruben) take great pride in the cleanliness of the houses and make certain that everything is in order. They are very helpful, too. It is not a resort by any means, it is campy - but that's not a bad thing at all. We basically used the orange house as a "base camp" because we spent most of our days exploring the island and checked in there as necessary.

The location for us was perfect. It is a quick drive to the town of Haleiwa and we spent a lot of time there. Such a cute little laid back town. We found everything about the North Shore to be relaxing.. We even looked at some property while there and are giving some serious consideration to spending more time there in the coming years.

The ocean is literally just outside the window. You can watch surfers, snorkelers, gliders and skydivers all day long - but the beach itself remains empty for the most part - very tranquil. There is a park right next to the cottage but even that was relatively quiet. Sea turtles came to visit at around 3:00 almost every day and the snorkeling was some of the best we experienced anywhere on the island. We were told that seals were often spotted too but we didn't see them. There is a full kitchen and also a grilling area so you don't need to eat out every night. That was one of the main things we were trying to avoid so, for us, it was a big plus.

The reason I only gave it 4 stars and not 5 is that we would like to have had fresh towels each day and maybe the bedding changed a couple times during our stay. In their defense, we were told that if we wanted the towels washed, we could leave them out by the washer/dryer. We could have done that, but chose to do them with our own laundry since only 3 towels were left with us and we had two of our own to wash anyway. My suggestion would be to do a towel and bedding exchange where guests could leave the dirty ones to be picked up and clean ones could have been left in their place. Seriously - I would have only taken away 1/2 star for this if I could have.

For the money, I would definitely recommend staying here and I would be happy to answer any questions anyone has about it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location location location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrsriley6...
Redondo Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This place is prefect for beach lovers”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This was exactly what we were looking for. We wanted a great little place on the beach away from the crowds & we got it. Can't beat snorkling & turtles less than 10 steps from your door. Everyone was very helpful & nice.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spokane WA
Reviewed April 29, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
pudden3
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“On the beach”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
7
people found this review helpful

My husband and I had a great time. This little price is right on the beach and it is quiet and wonderful. There are several houses right around it that can be rented and a manager that lives in one of the homes but they were never full or really busy. The house is a little "rusty" mainly from being right on the beach but at this price and view, it did not bother me at all. Other than a few surfers who walked by, it was like having the whole beach to ourselves. Saw sea turtles from our window and from the beach. The only potential issue is there is no AC, something I never thought to look into but being Feb, with the windows open, there was always a nice breeze. Would love to go back asap.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing