We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and tropical” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wahiawa Botanical Garden

Wahiawa Botanical Garden
Ranked #4 of 9 things to do in Wahiawa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 27-acre forest with native plants in central Oahu.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
116 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Peaceful and tropical”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

A hidden gem in a lovely little town. This makes for a quiet place to roam around. The garden is well maintained, with labeled tropical plants, decent restrooms, and interesting landscaping.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RealPerson65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    30
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edgewater, Maryland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice garden - also tram for disabled”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Pleasing garden in an enjoyable setting. about a mile about plus extra trails. Nice shop and hilly terrain that has shade.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bicycle53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful stopover, and free!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My family (Mom, Dad, and Kids 10 & 8) stopped here on our way to the North Shore. Am I ever glad we did. Such a beautiful and peaceful place! There are many meandering paths to follow, and those that go down into the 'rain forest' area leave you feeling like you're not in a city any longer.

They have nice facilities, helpful staff, and a very diverse selection of plants and things to see. The fact that it's all free really puts it over the top for me. I could have paid a small fee and not have felt it was unjustified.

The kids enjoyed 'exploring' the many well marked paths. Do be aware that several of them are quite steep, and could be slippery when wet. We had no issues, but I did have to get the kids to slow down for fear of falls. Just a mild warning for what was a wonderful experience.

If you're passing through Wahiawa, I would not miss this gem.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wahiawa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
156 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Sweet Country garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

The garden is so peaceful, free to go in, and serene. Many local weddings take place here, or at least have their pictures taken with the hundreds of gorgeous flowers and ravine in this beautiful country garden. Make sure to cover yourself with mosquito repellant! they love new blood!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbisurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good place to relax”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

This wasn't the most colorful garden I've ever been to but it was very peaceful and there was a pretty good variety of trees. I went exploring a little and found the end of the path to the east. It's kind of cool if you are feeling a bit adventurous. If you are in Wahiawa with nothing to do hit up the gardens. It's free!

Helpful?
1 Thank JasonTheDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wahiawa Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Wahiawa Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing