We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dole Plantation

Dole Plantation
Book In Advance
More Info
$194.12*
and up
Circle Island with Pearl Harbor Tour
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Wahiawa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Pineapple plantation which offers the largest maze in the world for children to enjoy.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
823 reviews
202 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
“Fun place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband and I paid a visit to the Dole Plantation on a recent trip to Honolulu. We had heard mixed reviews from friends and so were not sure what to expect. Unfortunately on the day we were to visit it was pouring rain all day. When we arrived at the plantation the rain was coming down really hard and although we had umbrellas and hooded jackets it was not the kind of weather to be in. So, we decided to visit the shop and then go on our way. We were so disappointed as we wanted to do the maze and maybe the tour but it was raining way too hard. We left and went to the town of Halewia and by the time we were ready to leave it stopped raining. We decided to go back to the Dole Plantation and at least do the maze. It was late in the day by this time but we were able to run around a find a few of the symbols. It was so much fun and would definitely visit the Plantation another time for the tour and to finish the maze.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank love2traveltogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    848
    1,459
    1,206
    392
    204
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrietta, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very pretty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

The dole plantation was very pretty. It was neat to see actual pineapple bushes. They were filming Hawaii 5-0 in the pineapple maze, so that was closed. Try the pineapple ice cream. It was delicious. The gum trees were the prettiest I have ever seen. They are the purple, pink, green stripes trees. You can ship pineapples home from here too.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Train, Maze, Shop, Garden, Pineapples, Crafts and more.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Take the number 55 bus from the Alamoana shopping center in Honolulu and after a bus ride($2:50) of where the locals live, you will arrive at the bustling pineapple groves. Yellow in colour the word shopping meets you at the door. Walk quickly through and book a train ride for the fun of it. They will take you through the harsh pineapple groves, where the hard working farmers must wear heavy gloves and not mind the weather. Have a walk about through the gardens. Look for the ginger cat that hides in the open seating area where you can enjoy a Pineapple treat. We had Pineapple Whips (or many other choices as well as hot food),
which were excellent, and wanted these available in the city and beach area of Honolulu when we were there. Need to empty the garbage bins more often as it attracted fruit flies that found my P. Whip. so buy a drink with a lid.
The maze, stated as the Worlds largest is annoying. My husband a keen mathematician found it TOO big and claustrophobic, and after 20 minutes came out. A Grandmother with small children was very nervous. Lots of tacky tourist stuff to buy and some well made crafts. Lots of local wines like PINEAPPLE. This wine
which is cheaper in the ABC stores. Go Soon. Word is out that is to be changed to a coffee plantation. Why, when Pineapples have more vitamin C than oranges, and vitamin C protects us from all sorts of nasty health issues.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank oceanspray726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
695 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Pineapple Ice Cream is great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is your typical "tourist trap" with a large gift shop and vendors of various types. However, the reason we stop when we are in the area is because of the pineapple ice cream. Once you get out of the gift shop and walk the grounds, it is enjoyable.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth the stop to say you've been there but not much to write home about...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

To me, Dole pineapple and Hawaii go together so I was a little disappointed when we visited. Highlight is definitely the pineapple ice cream (it's a yummy must)! The train ride is a little informative but you can learn the same information from reading the signs at the court yard so unless doing it for the kids or have extra time I wouldn't recommend it. The maze was a lot of fun (if that's your thing ). Allow about 1 hour if finding all the secret station, more if with younger kids. The maze grounds are barely graveled so if it's recently rained you will get Hawaiian red mud on you. Other than that it's just a huge gift shop/tourist stop.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dole Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing