We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They Do Not Know "Hot" Thai Food!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Souvaly Thai Cuisine - CLOSED

Souvaly Thai Cuisine
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
240 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“They Do Not Know "Hot" Thai Food!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

The atmosphere is relatively attractive once inside, but the service is worse than average. The food is flavorful, but they cannot seem to get it hot enough. I ordered my dish "hot", and my son ordered his "Thai hot". Both were what I would consider a "mild" level at other Thai restaurants. The waiter took my son's back and they stirred some cold chopped red pepper into it, but that was not what he had ordered. I requested more chili for mine. Of course, neither had the hotness of the peppers cooked into the dish. I had shrimp, and one looked as if 2/3 of it had already been eaten.

The waiter and waitress disappeared at times, so it was next to impossible to have our water glasses refilled during our meal. The experience was disappointing. There are better choices of other Thai Restaurants within a reasonable driving distance.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hawaii-Biker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    1
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough
Level Contributor
150 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Service sucked!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Green curry was below average. Pad Thai was not very good. Spring rolls were okay. Service was very poor. Poor wine selection which was overpriced. A glass of $7 bottle of wine was $6:50! After the waiter served the food, he disappeared. A waitress started sweeping around us while we were eating. 1/2 hour before closing. They turned off open sign before closing time. I had to flag down a waitress to get our bill which was finally brought over by our waiter.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joethecritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
138 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Food has lost it's flavor & poor service (not worth going, needs work)”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Souvaly has gone downhill since opening several years ago. Tom Yum soup has lost it's flavor! It should be sweet sour but was just salty. When we pointed out the lack of flavor they took it back and returned the soup, even saltier..again no sweet or sour to balance it. The pineapple fried rice also tasteless and we continually had to call the wait staff back. There were few patrons so lack of service didn't make sense. The table was very dirty. Only after we started to wipe up some spilled food the waitress dropped when food was originally delivered did they attempt to clean up...only because we were finished eating already! Only the Mee Krub was yummy and as tasty as expected. Get better food thats less expensive at Champa Thai (in Pearl Kai) closeby in Aiea a few minutes away(. Unless a fine dining setting is more important than food/service quality.)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kibblesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
478 reviews
302 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“Food Truck”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

This review is for the food truck in Haleiwa and as Thai goes it was average. Prices are fairly expensive especially for take out or the minimalist experience of eating there at one of the Picnic Tables. Prepare to be Lord of the Flys because they are ruthless in these parts. Papaya Salad was the star and "hot" means hot for which I am always grateful but "medium" in the case of the beef Larb was very very mild and not particularly memorable since it didn't have much flavor to the broth and a little toasted rice and green onion can only do so much. Garlic Shrimp was decent and a good local thing to experience (shrimp off of truck).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Challenger007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Slow Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Four of us went to Souvaly and it took 55 minutes to get our appetizer. I suspect our server forgot to place the order. Certainly, this can happen, however, we could not get his attention after 30 minutes when we wanted to inquire about the wait. He later said that the appetizers went to another table and he did not notice. They serve the chicken pad thai with a barbecue flavor (we are used to a peanut sauce flavor) the Pineapple fried rice was served in a half pineapple (which was nice) but I only had four bits of pineapple. Too bad because the menu is great, they just have no follow-through.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FloridaColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souvaly Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing