We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Gunstock Ranch

Gunstock Ranch
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Laie
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: If you want to experience Hawaii as a Paniolo (Hawaiian Cowboy), then Gunstock Ranch is the right place for you. Enjoy an intimate horseback ride suitable for folks of all skill levels. If you are looking for a true Hawaiian experience, join us for a beautiful tour of Hawaii's natural elegance and peace. From our Pony Rides for Kids to our Advanced Rides, the beauty of Hawaii is for everyone to experience. Reservations required
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had a wonderful time, beautiful views. Guide was informative, funny, and added to experience (Emily?). We were lucky enough to have a Groupon, but would be worth full price for us.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatecub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    32
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
497 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Horse Back Ride”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I admit I was a little leery about the place when driving to the ranch. The dirt road was very rough in spots and the place looked a bit run down. Boy did I change my mind! This is a fabulous place for a ride. Much better than the big commercialized ranch down the way. There was an enclosure full of goats you could pet while waiting on your ride to start. Our guide Ross was wonderful. He made sure of our riding abilities before we started and was very informative on the ride and very friendly and personable overall. We did a sunset ride and rode up in the mountains and had an excellent place to watch the sun set as well as view the ocean. My wife and I were the only ones on the ride and were experienced riders so we helped round up some cattle. We couldn't have asked for a better experience. The also have day rides and full moon rides. Be sure to ask for Ross!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Wano16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Time”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We took our 2 kids for the horseback ride. (13 & 9 years old) They both loved it. The instructors were very friendly and helpful. Would recommend to anyone wanting to go horseback riding.

Helpful?
2 Thank Ryanhannahella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Beach, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My home away from home!”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I've kept my horses at Gunstock Ranch for nearly 20 years all toll...And I have watched the ranch grow into an attraction in Hawaii that needs to be on a travelers must do list! How delightful to come across a group of happy riders in the mountains. The Wrangler sharing amazing history and Hawaiian legends! Recently Gunstock earned a full page write up in the travel section of our local paper, the Honolulu Star Advertiser, 7/29/12...Google it to see the beautiful color pictures and read about the attractions available. Some are a covered heated pool, bbq. pavilion, huge meadow for concerts and events, petting zoo, party packages, and LOTS of you design trail rides....Here is a sweet story that just happened... A young man arranged with Gunstock a surprise proposal. He took his girlfriend via horseback to a beautiful area, dismounted and pop the question...And she answered with a YES! And yes you too will be delighted upon your visit to the 500 acre working cattle ranch, nestled next to the beautiful Koolau Mountains...It's a full moon tonight and visitors will be enjoying their ride...oh I need to go saddle-up...Aloha!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank cowgal53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Greatest Place for Horseback Riding!”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We've been to Gunstock a few times over the years as we try to get to Hawaii once a year. The rides are always pleasant and the guides are always the nicest of any horseback riding place on Oahu. They used to have a 4 hour rides but they cut it out. The views are beautiful and the scenery is wonderful.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank RClarkTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gunstock Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Gunstock Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing