We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Stars Above Hawaii tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Oahu
from $96.75
More Info
from $65.39
More Info
from $51.70
More Info
from $13.22
More Info
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveler rating
56
6
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
56
6
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews star clusters rings of saturn an awesome experience southern cross highly recommend this to anyone visiting oahu ko olina telescope constellations astronomy viewing moons astronomer mars nebula hobby session
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 64 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2019

We were hoping for a bit of Hawaiian's history using stars for navigation. This was a general look at a few stars and planets thru a 14" telescope and some fairly generic astronomical info. It was an ok way to spend an hour but don't get your hopes up. Also, make sure to check for a Group On deal...would have been severely disappointed to spend $40 each for this

Date of experience: December 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Doug E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarsAboveHawaii, Owner at Stars Above Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2020

Thanks for the feedback. Not sure if you attended our star show or another. We don’t use the 14-inch scope and we highlight Polynesian star navigation of the stars during the show naming the stars in Hawaiian and more. Seems like you attended somewhere else.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2019

My husband and two children had a wonderful experience with Greg McCartney at Ko Olina last week at a privately booked show with him ("Stars Above Hawai'i"). We have seen this show also last year during a visit to Aulani, through the Pau Hana Room. This is such a unique, educational and entertaining way to spend an evening--stargazing through Greg's very excellent telescope and identifying common constellations (both in the standard way of naming them and the Hawai'ian equivalents, with the relevant folklore). For anyone considering if this is worth the money, it definitely is! Greg is so knowledgeable, and he will tailor his discussion of the sky to your understanding, answer any questions and even help you take photographs of things through the lens of his telescope (we had a full moon, which was quite bright and it deters from looking at very distant objects--but we have excellent photos of the moon surface, with stunning detail of the features!). We were able to see some constellations that we could never view from Canada, like the Southern Cross! Our family had him all to ourselves, which was just so excellent, and our kids (ages 10 and 13) really enjoyed this and learned something! Mahalo nui loa for a special night!

Date of experience: December 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank AdriannaRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarsAboveHawaii, Owner at Stars Above Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2020

Mahalo! Keep reaching for the stars!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2019

I took an one hour tour with two children (seven, ten). Greg was very informative and his explanations were good for children to stay engaged. While using scientific terms he also used plenty of metaphors for children to identify with. We are from Seoul, Korea and his explanations and program was easy and enjoyable for us!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank GlobeTrotting655576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarsAboveHawaii, Owner at Stars Above Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2019

Mahalo! Keep reaching for the stars!! Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2019

I planned this as a surprise for my husband who has recently gotten into astronomy and astro-photography. I wanted him to be able to see the stars in the Northern Hemisphere as we miss out on some of them living in the Southern Hemisphere. It was a totally amazing experience for my husband, he totally loved it! It ignited other areas of his hobby that previously he had given no thought to! I would highly recommend this to anyone who loves to simply star gaze all the way through to those with a serious interest in Astronomy!! A truly magical experience!

Date of experience: October 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank DanielleWilcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarsAboveHawaii, Owner at Stars Above Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2019

Mahalo! Keep reaching for the stars! Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2019

This was one of the most interesting attraction we have been to lately.
First he takes you to the planets. I have never seen the rings of Saturn before, but now I have. The waves and moons of Jupiter were spectacular. He then takes you to the stars. From new baby stars all the way to stars that have died. He then takes you to another galaxy to show you how they start and how they take over each other. Finally he relates the stars to what you know. From the movie Moana to how the sun reflects to what you see in the sky. The. Back to finish out on the part of the show you like best. For us it was Saturn. Greg was awesome and well worth our time and money.

Date of experience: October 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank ljgossard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarsAboveHawaii, Owner at Stars Above Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2019

Mahalo! Keep reaching for the rising star!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews