We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ghost in the Machine....in a good way”
Review of Ushio-Tei Restaurant - CLOSED

Ushio-Tei Restaurant
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Named for the subtle tides of Hawaii, Ushio-Tei is a quiet oasis in an authentic setting adjoining a peaceful Japanese garden. Ushio-Tei serves traditional Japanese fare including sushi and sashimi.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Ushio is located in the JW Marriott. During the week my wife and I stayed in Ko'Olina, the JW was shut down, except the reaturant. It was creepy walking through this big complex where it's so quiet. BUT, it's worth it to go to Ushio. The best Japaneese restaurant we visited while in Hawaii during our nearly 2 weeks there. Everything on the menu is good.

Thank Mayoplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at Ushio-Tei Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Thank you for your review. As our guest at Ushio-Tei, we were excited to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your romantic dining experience. For your next visit, we invite you to stimulate your palate with the “Tabehodai” all you can eat buffet for a great value and freshly prepared cuisine. Aloha and kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 72 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

i was a bit disappointed with the sushi roll selections. However, on the night we dined, they had a buffet which looked pretty good but not worth the $45+ price. For good a good sushi meal go to Waikiki instead.

Thank LRR_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at Ushio-Tei Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for your review. We regret that this was not your impression and offer our sincerest apologies. Our pricing is comparable to similar restaurants in the area and we feel we provide value given the quality of fresh delicacies we offer. We were excited to hear that you pleasantly surprised with the iced green tea. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Myself and four friends enjoyed great food and drinks in a very relaxed pace venue for Sushi. We tried some food we hadn't had before, and liked some new treats. While I don't believe it's the best Sushi I have ever had, it certainly is good. Our waitress was wonderful and explained a lot of things to us and put up with our laughing and antics. We really enjoyed our time there. Will go back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Slowhand1527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_Ihilani, Manager at Ushio-Tei Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for your review. We were thrilled that you and your group of friends were adventurous with the menu selection. We were excited that you enjoyed the service and atmosphere. We look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Having traveled to japan over 100 times, I can share this is close to being in Japan and staying on Oahu! The food, the atmosphere, the furnishings, the staff and even the bathroom transports me back to Japan with perfect cuisine, drink options and surroundings.

Thank Kahuna8899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bguiang, Manager at Ushio-Tei Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2012

Thank you for your seasoned review. We were happy to hear affirmation that the atmosphere, cuisine, and staff were in sync with the authentic Japanese restaurant theme. For your next visit we invite you sample the Azul Italian Restaurant. We would love to hear your feedback about our signature restaurant on property. Thank you again, and a hui hou, ‘til next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Prices higher than we're used to for sushi, but it is afterall a resort environment

Thank WIS64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you had a chance to try an assortment of the freshest fish that Ushio-Tei authentic Japanese restaurant has to offer. On your next visit, we suggest dining at our signature restaurant Azul for Italian cuisine or Naupaka Terrace for popular local fish cuisine. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ushio-Tei Restaurant also viewed

 
Kapolei, Oahu
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing