We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Japanese Restaurant comfortable for all guests.”
Review of Ushio-Tei Restaurant - CLOSED

Ushio-Tei Restaurant
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Named for the subtle tides of Hawaii, Ushio-Tei is a quiet oasis in an authentic setting adjoining a peaceful Japanese garden. Ushio-Tei serves traditional Japanese fare including sushi and sashimi.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
131 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese Restaurant comfortable for all guests.”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Having traveled to japan over 100 times, I can share this is close to being in Japan and staying on Oahu! The food, the atmosphere, the furnishings, the staff and even the bathroom transports me back to Japan with perfect cuisine, drink options and surroundings.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kahuna8899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bguiang, Manager at Ushio-Tei Restaurant, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for your seasoned review. We were happy to hear affirmation that the atmosphere, cuisine, and staff were in sync with the authentic Japanese restaurant theme. For your next visit we invite you sample the Azul Italian Restaurant. We would love to hear your feedback about our signature restaurant on property. Thank you again, and a hui hou, ‘til next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    17
    12
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
southern California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“sushi very good, really fresh”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Prices higher than we're used to for sushi, but it is afterall a resort environment

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank WIS64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Ushio-Tei Restaurant, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you had a chance to try an assortment of the freshest fish that Ushio-Tei authentic Japanese restaurant has to offer. On your next visit, we suggest dining at our signature restaurant Azul for Italian cuisine or Naupaka Terrace for popular local fish cuisine. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

It seemed they. Don't keep the buffet open very late when we got there at eight thirty nothing was replenished and most of the hot items were cold
The sushi was good and salad and a few desserts
Other guests ala carte items looked better. Nice service and atmosphere strong drinks

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tdav2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent buffet!”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I am not a fan of buffets, but this one had really good food in an all-you-can-eat buffet. Everything I would have ordered on the menu was included!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank vita-brevis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, CO
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Need more of a variety”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

The service was fine but I found it overly priced for a smaller buffet. I would try some of the other restaurants in the hotel.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shewholikestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ushio-Tei Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing