We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ups and Downs” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Julie'z Restaurant

Julie'z Restaurant
Ranked #81 of 129 Restaurants in Kapolei
Cuisines: Filipino, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ups and Downs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Julie'z was recommended...so we had to try it. My sons were adventurous and ate from the Filipino buffet. The food wasn't very fresh nor warm.
We ordered pancakes which were good...and it's hard to mess up eggs.
The biggest turn off were the flies that seemed to be everywhere. And as another reviewer mentioned, the place didn't seem very clean.
Servers were very busy, but pleasant. We enjoyed KOA more.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AliceandJiminy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    15
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bryce Canyon National Park, Utah
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very good Philippine food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Worth a long drive from Waikiki if you have a rental car. The lechon kawali and shrimp sarciado were both delicious and generously sized.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OldCTProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wahiawa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
156 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Filipino Food at its best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Yummy treats, pork and chicken adobo, ginadan, sour soup, pinakbet and the works! Make sure to try their halo halo for dessert!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbisurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Too salty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We always eat here everytime we're on Oahu because we love the food and kids love their lechon kawali. This time we tried their buffet because we don't want to wait and I did not like it at all. The dishes in their buffet were all salty. Maybe because it was late in the evening?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marissany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
143 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Not so Filipino at all”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is not Filipino at all. This place looks rundown. It's not so clean either. Their food is good, but mostly bland. Looks like their food has been warmed up all day.

I am Filipino so I know if Filipino food and service are great.

If you want to have a great experience, come early so you get fresh and warm Filipino food. Don't come during dinner time!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kewihiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julie'z Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Julie'z Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing