We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DELICIOUS BASIC CHINESE FOOD”

Kapolei Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #106 of 133 Restaurants in Kapolei
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
167 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS BASIC CHINESE FOOD”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

The restaurant is a good old fashioned sit down establishment offering basic Chinese cuisine, which could be classified as comfort food. The noodle soups are delicious and the bowls huge, they really are a share dish for two or three. Definitely a meal or more for one. The duck spring rolls were novel and a treat. Good service, with owner acting as waiter talking your order, accurately describing the dishes and guiding you as to when you have ordered enough.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caleb42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    19
    8
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Chinese Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Love this place! It has great food and a great selection. It is reasonably priced and food is served family style.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mltafao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, WA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese food on the Leeward side with great prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

If you are staying on the Leeward side of the island, Ewa Beach, Kapolei or Ko Olina - don't miss an opportunity to have authentic Chinese food at Kapolei Chinese Restaurant. Its not much on atmosphere, but its clean, its has an extensive menu, the portions are large and the prices are reasonable. Its a BYOB place and they don't charge you if you do. Some of our favorites include the Peking Duck with steamed buns, Crispy Gau Chee Mein with soft noodles (and 4 extra Gau Chee), Clams with Blackbean sauce and Choi Sum with Oyster sauce. On the special sheet is jumbo prawns with candied walnuts. I have never had anything like it before and its become one of our favorites. As with most Hawaii restaurants, the air conditioning is cranked up. I always bring a sweater with me. If you have a refrigerator and a microwave, the leftovers make wonderful meals. As we say in Hawaii - ono (really good.)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebBAuburn_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wahiawa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
156 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Dry and tasteless fried rice. Chicken looked like mystery meat.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have never been to a good Chinese food location in Kapolei, and this place was one of the worst. How can anyone mess up fried rice? It tasted like uncooked rice, very dry and hard to chew. The chicken tasted like it had been sitting out all day, like chicken jerky. They close at 9, we were there at 8:30 and they were trying to kick us out early, before even finishing the meal that they took forever to serve. Bad service.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbisurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good chinese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We liked the noodles, and the beef with brocolli. The sesame chicken was "meh." The steamed wontons -- "meh." We would have rather had fried dumplings / potstickers, but they did not make them.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank loribagli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kapolei Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kapolei Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing