We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUM!!!!”
Review of Monkeypod Kitchen

Monkeypod Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Monkeypod Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 137 Restaurants in Kapolei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Monkeypod Kitchen by Merriman is a place where foodies, beer lovers, and families escape the stresses of their day-to-day lives by enjoying an ice-cold beer and a great meal while surrounded by people who consider them honored guests and friends. Our restaurants are founded upon a passion for craft and we are dedicated to mastering the craft of food, drink, and merrymaking...With Aloha! Our menu features fresh island fish, hand tossed pizzas from our kiawe wood-burning oven, and homemade cream pies made from scratch. Thirty-six craft beers are on tap, each served at an optimal twenty-nine degrees. Our culinary cocktails feature unique ingredients such as acai spirit, coconut water, and Kula lavender. Our passion for craft also extends to our diverse wine list, which emphasizes sustainability, drinkability and fun. Come join us at our communal table, with friends old and new, and learn what it's like to share our "Lucky Live Hawaii" story.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“YUM!!!!”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Wonderful food and atmosphere! Reasonable prices if you go at happy hour and order the "special" items (pizza, apps) on the menu.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Figee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,115
    833
    295
    87
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windermere, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“YUM!!!!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

When we come to Ko Olina our favorite place to eat is Monkeypod Kitchen. It is our family's favorite place to eat in Ko Olina. Make a reservation through Opentable so you can get seated quickly otherwise you may have to wait awhile for a table. Fresh ingredients and imaginative dishes make this a great place to eat.

Here are our family's favorite dishes:

Appetizers - We love the Pumpkin Patch Ravioli and the Garlic Truffle Oil Fries.

Salad - MA'O Farm Organic Kale. Super crunchy and tasty, even if you aren't much of a kale fan...

Pizza - Ask for their specials. We once had a Thai Watermelon pizza that was probably the best pizza we have ever had. We LOVED it! The butternut squash pizza is great too.

Burgers - Pete's Classic Burger and the Pulled Pork Sandwich are both delicious.

Fish - Fresh Caught Fish Tacos and the Organic Macadamia Nut Crusted Mahi Mahi are both winners. Each time we have had them we love them.

Vegetarian - Our daughter is vegetarian and her favorite vegetarian dishes are the Pumpkin Patch Ravioli, Butternut Squash Pizza and the Dry Mein.

Dessert - SAVE ROOM FOR DESSERT! You have to save room for dessert. Their cream pies are the best. We love the banana cream pie and the strawberry cream pie. Both are delicious.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shawna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed this dinner”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I really enjoyed dinner at monkeypod. I live in honolulu and was skeptical that any restaurant at the west side resort area ko olina would be anything beyond "ok"
I was pleasantly surprised by the food, ambiance,the whole experience. I am a fan of peter merriman and have dined at his signature restaurant several times on the big island. Monkeypod is large, bustling, yet very friendly. I liked being seated in the open air upstairs level. They had a music duo playing downstairs and they were really good too. Our food was excellent. You must have the pumpkin ravioli...we shared it as one of our appetizers and we all wanted more. The truffle fries were great too as a share item. I had fish tacos for my dinner but even better was the daily fish which was onaga that evening. It was excellent. They have a nice kids menu also.mall the staff was so friendly and knowledgeable and we felt relaxed even thought the restaurant was buzzy with people. I would go again. It was definitely a lot of visitors, but also local folks dining there too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Ko Olina”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We ate here several times and this is a spot that should not be missed. You can walk, so it makes a nice evening stroll along with a perfect place to eat. They have live music nightly. Their menu was pleasing for most pallets. We loved the lobster pizza and the pumpkin raviolis!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ginadesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Level 6 Contributor
544 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“A nice place to eat and relax”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Monkeypod is off the property in a very small shopping center. Food and service were very good. Prices were also reasonable. It seems a "hip" joint, but we did see families with children. There is an outdoor eating patio which is very pleasant.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monkeypod Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Monkeypod Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing