We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Monkeypod Kitchen

Monkeypod Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Monkeypod Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 133 Restaurants in Kapolei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Monkeypod Kitchen by Merriman is a place where foodies, beer lovers, and families escape the stresses of their day-to-day lives by enjoying an ice-cold beer and a great meal while surrounded by people who consider them honored guests and friends. Our restaurants are founded upon a passion for craft and we are dedicated to mastering the craft of food, drink, and merrymaking...With Aloha! Our menu features fresh island fish, hand tossed pizzas from our kiawe wood-burning oven, and homemade cream pies made from scratch. Thirty-six craft beers are on tap, each served at an optimal twenty-nine degrees. Our culinary cocktails feature unique ingredients such as acai spirit, coconut water, and Kula lavender. Our passion for craft also extends to our diverse wine list, which emphasizes sustainability, drinkability and fun. Come join us at our communal table, with friends old and new, and learn what it's like to share our "Lucky Live Hawaii" story.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
164 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Amazing service for a very casual restaurant. The food is exceptional!!!!! Definitely worth the visit! View of the street, but very pleasant area!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KIWP131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,040
    789
    264
    80
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Great service goes along with very tasty food at a good price. Mostly organic and island grown products which makes everything very fresh! Make a reservation though - long wait for tables every day of the week.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Simply amazing food & atmoshpere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Food, service and atmosphere all fantastic! Stayed at Disney resort, and dined at Monkeypod almost every meal as it was soooo good. Absolutely loved the Coconut Curry! and the chicken wings, and everything else we ordered!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank VinoVerum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We are owner's at Marriott Vacation Club. Monkeypod Kitchen is a relatively new addition to the community and we were compelled to try it by the reviews on TripAdvisor and word-of-mouth around the resort. You can only eat at Roy's so many times.
We didn't have reservations and anticipated a wait so that was no problem. We found a couple of seats at the bar, and waited and waited to be served. There were three bartenders working, no bar back, and one was intently involved in a personal conversation with two people at the bar nearly the entire time we were seated there. There were dirty glasses stacked up next to us on the bar. The bar appeared to be running out of glasses so the bartenders were having to take the time to wash glasses rather than serve customers. We finally got drinks and ordered an appetizer, which appeared almost instantaneously. As we were seated near the pass-through to the kitchen, it was apparent that they had already-prepared appetizer items sitting under the lights to be served immediately.
We were seated for dinner on the second floor. The decor and ambiance are very nice. However, they have tiki torches burning on the inside. They are pretty but Hawaii doesn't need the added heat, especially on the second floor. We eventually received our drink orders and ordered our meals. After 30 minutes, we noticed other parties who arrived after us being served. My husband was becoming inpatient and wasn't accepting the reminder of "island time" any longer. The server eventually came over after 40 minutes and advised us that something was "dropped" in the kitchen and they didn't tell her. She offered us a slice of pie for dessert to compensate. However, it was another 20 minutes before we finally received our meals. Even if something is dropped, it doesn't take a total of one hour to make two basic meals.
The food, once received, was only average. My husband got fish tacos and I got a pulled pork sandwich. We had a barbecued brisket sandwich at Costco the day before that was far superior to this sandwich.
Bottom line -- Monkeypod kitchen is beautiful, the bar is lively but the food is average and overpriced, even for Hawaii. Service was poor. We would not return for a meal but drinks and appetizers at the bar would be okay.
Tip: There is another bar on the second floor, smaller, not as lively, but not nearly as busy as the main floor bar.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food, a bit pricey though.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

I know quality costs a little extra, this is high quality food prepared quickly and presented very well. Service was excellent as was the atmosphere. I had the mahi sandwich on a Portuguese roll, very good sandwich, just a little too pricey.

Helpful?
Thank mratcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monkeypod Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Monkeypod Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing