We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SO GOOOOOOOD!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Monkeypod Kitchen

Monkeypod Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Monkeypod Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 133 Restaurants in Kapolei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Monkeypod Kitchen by Merriman is a place where foodies, beer lovers, and families escape the stresses of their day-to-day lives by enjoying an ice-cold beer and a great meal while surrounded by people who consider them honored guests and friends. Our restaurants are founded upon a passion for craft and we are dedicated to mastering the craft of food, drink, and merrymaking...With Aloha! Our menu features fresh island fish, hand tossed pizzas from our kiawe wood-burning oven, and homemade cream pies made from scratch. Thirty-six craft beers are on tap, each served at an optimal twenty-nine degrees. Our culinary cocktails feature unique ingredients such as acai spirit, coconut water, and Kula lavender. Our passion for craft also extends to our diverse wine list, which emphasizes sustainability, drinkability and fun. Come join us at our communal table, with friends old and new, and learn what it's like to share our "Lucky Live Hawaii" story.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“SO GOOOOOOOD!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We ate here 6 times in 7 days. Food, service, ambiance were outstanding. Poke tacos were amazing. We also had the filet mignon and it was cooked to perfection. The cream pies were so delicious. We aren't typically dessert people - but couldn't resist having one everytime we went there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Krigbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,040
    790
    264
    80
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best happy hour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was our favorite place. The happy hour prices are great for both drinks and food. Their speciality drinks were unique and very tasty. The times we were their for happy hour the had live music outside. This place is a Must if staying in Koolina resort area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scofield4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The service at Monkey Pod Kitchen was excellent. The hostess and the wait staff were all very friendly and attentive. The food was very good too. I had the cheeseburger and it was very good. The bun was sweet Hawaiian bread and tasted very fresh. My wife had the BBQ pork sandwich and she said it was one of the best she'd tasted, a real light juicy marinated meat, not dry at all, with not too much barbecue flavor. We had one of the small pizzas for an appetizer and it was also good, with a freshly made thin crust. The restaurant is not air conditioned so they keep all of the windows open. Sitting outside on the patio is your best bet and actually cooler than it is inside. They also have live music on the patio, even during lunchtime and early afternoon. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We visited here back in February, but I'm only getting the chance to write a review now. This is one of those wonderful places where you can tell the owner/owners really loves what they do. The food is top notch with a lot of local influence and flavors. Everything from our drinks to appetizers to entree to dessert was great (desserts are mostly homemade pies!). The service was great. While it's not cheap like most places on Maui, it's a great place to end your day with quality food and a fun (but not over the top) atmosphere. Just writing this makes me want to go back!

Tip: You can use Open Table to make a reservation!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mfarquar_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenai, Alaska
Level Contributor
172 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Relaxing, friendly staff and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit and all three generations liked it. Nice kids choices but the sliders were way over cooked. Not a mixed drink fan but was quickly hooked on the Pod Thai. Not sweet, but refreshing. Burgers were excellent but salads are not enough to serve as a dinner option. We will return during our stay.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monkeypod Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Monkeypod Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing