We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will stay longer next time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kapolei
Certificate of Excellence
Guangzhou
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We will stay longer next time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

An excellent place for leisure and fun with your family. The beach is great with 4 lagoons. My husband snorkels and I play in the shallow water in the lagoon (I'm not a swimmer). There are also pools and jacuzzi. I like the barbecue facility there. The service is good. The bar at the pool side is excellent, food is tasty and price is reasonable. We want to join the cruise activity to see the dolphin, but it's not available in Sunday. Next time we will stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IdaChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,890
    705
    233
    82
    56
See reviews for
1,462
918
33
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

As has been noted on here many times, the Marriott Ko Olina is a timeshare property, and its not close to anything on the isalnd of Oahu. These shouldn't be a surprise to anyone anymore - just resolve to rent a car and enjoy being away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. Being that its a Marriott timeshare, its run much more like a traditional hotel than a typical timeshare.

That being said, this is a beautiful property. The room was tastefully decorated, the grounds of the resort were beautiful, the pools and beaches were wonderful. Would I stay here again, probably, but I'm not completely sold.

Here's what you need to know, for being such a high end property, the walls are paper thin. When the telephone in the next room would ring, I could easily hear the entire conversation of my neighbor. Considering my wife and I were here for a romantic week away from the kids, I can imagine what my neighbors heard emanating from my room. Marriot and the developer cut a significant corner here in failing to adequately sound proof the rooms, and it did detract from our experience. Can you get over that-sure-you're in Hawaii and not likely to ever see your neighbor again as long as you live, so we decided who cares?

Only other drawback was the food. There is a decent beach bar at the Ko Olina to get drinks and munchies, but do not, under any circumstances, eat at a full meal at this beach bar, or at the supposedly "upscale" Chuck's, also on property. Here is where the isolation of the resort can sometimes be an issue. As East Coasters, we tend to eat much later than Hawaiins, where restaurants typically stop serving dinner around 8:30 p.m. So on two nights, we sort of got stuck eating at the resort. Truly-the food at both of these restaurants is virtually inedible. The salad bar at Chucks was swarming with fruit flies, the steak was a congealed hunk of meat. At least they didn't screw up the Johnnie Walker, but hey, that's just ice and a glass. To top it all off, the meal at Chucks was about $125 for two people. I wouldn't have paid $20 for it. The beach bar (I believe its called Kolohe's) isn't much better, but at least the prices are significantly less. If you are stuck on or near the resort for meals, walk the 1/4 mile down the beach to the J.W. Marriott Ihilani Resort, were the restaurants are all either 4 or 5 star. Quite frankly, we are foodies and the best meal we ate in Hawaii was at the JW's 5 star rated Azule.

The staff are mostly friendly and eager to assist. There was a mistake in cleaning our room (since its a timeshare you don't get a full "cleaning" service like a traditional hotel-but can request one for a small fee). We requested that our room be cleaned several times, rather than merely "tidied." On one occassion, not only was it not cleaned, but not even tidied. When we informed the staff they immediately ensured that our room would be thoroughly cleaned the next day, and waived all charges for the extra cleaning.

In short, if you want the Waikiki experience, don't want to invest the $$$ on a rental car for a week and can't deal with Honolulu's rush hour traffic on the occassions you might want to venture to Honolulu/Waikiki-then the Ko Olina is not for you. If you want a quieter "off-isalnd" experience, without actually going to Maui or Hawaii, then the Ko Olina may fit the bill.

One more caveat, right now the four beach "lagoons" are very quiet, serene and uncrowded, but, as has been noted by others, Disney is currently constructing a resort right next to the Ko Olina. Let me tell you, its going to be enormous, and given that its a Disney property, probably teeming with children. This might change the entire balance of this little area of the island.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoeiejs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

We don't own a timeshare but we "rented" a week from an owner off eBay. The set up and property make this ideal for our family and for vacationing with other families. We rented a 1 bedroom with full kitchen. The kitchen is great because we can cook or store food to save on eating out. If we wanted eat out there are great strip malls within a 10 minute drive. There are 3 pools including a shallow one for smaller kids and one for older kids/adults with a slide, tunnels, and waterfalls. The lagoons are a short walk and was perfect for our toddler because the water was flat with only tiny waves. As long as we have a young child we will definitely be vacationing here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mperez1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

My husband & I along with my sister & brother-in-law stayed at the KoOlina in early September. The beaches were great - right on the Pacific Ocean, the property was outstanding - numerous spas (hot tubs) and pools all landscaped to look as part of the scenery. Condo was well equiped and comfortable overlooking the lagoon & beach. Staff was very helpful. Property was immaculate. Everything one would expect from a Marriott resort. Would highly recommend!

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank looking4beaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

We booked the Marriott Ko'olina because we wanted to stay as far away from Waikiki as possible. If you want the same and want comforts of home, I highly recommend this resort! We are a family of 6, with kids ages 16, 12, 9, & 8, so the fact that the Marriott Ko'olina had 1 & 2 bedroom villas available was exactly what we were looking for. For cost savings we rented a 1 br, but even with 6 of us, it was plenty of room. There is a small nook, adjacent to the master bedroom, with an oversized couch that we used as a second bedroom for the little ones and it worked well for them. The full size kitchen was awesome too! We cooked all of our meals in our room or used the bbq's that were nearby. There is a Costco and Safeway that are nearby for convenient shopping. This resort is perfect for families and couples as well. My parents were traveling with us and are timeshare owners with Marriott. They also stayed there and loved all of the amenities the resort had to offer. Because it of it's location, you didn't have to deal with the traffic either. The resort is a little more pricey than what you'll find in Waikiki, but the atmosphere, rooms, location and especially the conveniece of the full size kitchen are well worth the extra money spent. This is one of the most relaxing vacations we've had in a long time!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohanaof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

This was my third stay at Ko'Olina. LOVE it!! People are always saying "Oahu is too crowded" but they haven't been to Ko'Olina! One day in Waikiki and I've had enough but I stayed at Ko'Olina for 2 weeks and it's so relaxing. Oahu is not that big so it's easy to get to the North Shore and some other beaches if you want. It is a family resort so if you don't like kids stay away, but I didn't see any unruly ones. You do need a car to get around.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkrosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

We had a lovely time at the Marriott Ko Olina. The grounds were great! Nice beach although it is manmade and there is no real snorkeling from there. The pools were nice and there was one area that would be great for families with little kids. Our room was kind of like a small standard hotel room (we were just in a studio) but it was more than adequate and was really what we were expecting. It did have a minifridge, sink and toaster and microwave. Although, it would have been great to have more of a view (we looked at the parking lot and mountain) but everybody wants that and it really was fine since we spent more time out and about than in our room. We traded for this through Interval Intl. and did not have to pay for parking which was awesome.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephysue76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapolei
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club

Property: Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club
Address: 92-161 Waipahe Place, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707-2208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kapolei
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kapolei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Ko Olina Beach Club Hotel Kapolei
Marriott Vacation Club Kapolei
Marriotts Ko Olina Beach Hotel
Marriott Kapolei
Ko Olina Beach Club
Marriotts Ko Olina Beach Club
Kapolei Marriott
Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club Hawaii/Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing