We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kapolei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2010

This hotel may be great if you’re an owner. We booked an “ocean view” room and got a view of some bushes. We went back to the front desk and got a view of some trees. After more discussions we finally got a room where you could look through the trees to see the ocean. One oddity of this place is the AC system. There is actually a vent that constantly puts out cold air, than on the wall is the individual room thermostat and vent. WHY do you force cold air into someone’s room for which they have no control over. We actually had to turn the heat up on the individual system to warm up the room. They said its for humidity control, ridiculous. I have been to dozens of hotels in Hawaii never seen anything like this before. The grounds are amazing. The landscaping crew does a great job. The pools were nice and hot tubs warm, two of them even had waterfalls. The service from the front desk was just ok, nothing special. The beach on property is great. There are actually four of them in the resort area. We often walked up and down. Kolohe's Beach Bar & Grill is great for breakfast or a drink at sunset. Don’t eat there for lunch or dinner, overpriced and the food is not really all that good. Chuck's Steak & Seafood was excellent. Both my wife and I loved their salad bar and entrees. Delicious food and great service, gorgeous views. I wouldn’t go back to the Marriott vacation Club, though will be interested to go to the Disney property when it opens. If you want to get away from it all go to Turtle Bay Resort on the north shore. Rooms aren’t as nice, but the views from them and the property are amazing!! Beautiful grounds, endless beaches and forest to yourself.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hico01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,389 - 2,395 of 3,194 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2010

A nice place to stay. The rooms vere large and everything was provide to make the stay comfortable. Free laundry. Took the advise about asking for a high rooms and the view was beauiful.
Tip: walk or take the shuttel to the ABC store( across from Disney). It was well stocked and a great deli, also cost alot less.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillybee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

This is a great place for family with young kids. The hotel is very well-maintained & clean. There is a huge swimming pool with hot tubs, waterfalls, caves and water slide. There are 4 man-made lagoons, which are perfect for the little ones. This place is different from Waikiki Beach, it's more quiet and peaceful. Our family enjoyed it very much, will definitely return for another stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chandler523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

This hotel was incredible. I was concerned about the location when I booked it -- but it was the best place to be! Rooms incredible, staff helpful, pools perfect, beach beautiful, great walking trail, and wonderful restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clank1368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

My parents are Marriott timeshare owners, so this is the 3rd Marriott Villa we've stayed at on the Islands, 2 on Kauai and this one on Oahu. I was very hesitant about going to Oahu again, as our last experience on our honeymoon felt so hectic and busy. This place is nice because it's away from the main strip, so it's peaceful and quiet, though stocked with amenities. There's also a Costco and a Walmart very close, which is great since we cooked in a lot. Our 2 year old absolutely loved both the pools and the private beach with beautiful sand. You definitely have a rent a car if you want to tour the entire island, or if you just want to relax, you can totally just stay there the whole week and be content as well. I'd highly recommend this place, and will definitely look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fandafoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

A nice place for families, older couples, but as a young couple here's some tips for making the most of the Ko Olina:
1. Rent a Car - That way you can travel the island, not many (if any) activity shuttles get out to the Ko Olina. Parking is expensive but cheaper than taxis or the sedan service. Most of the resort activites are family orientated.
2. Don't eat at the resort - The food was average at best, there is a place called "Just Tacos" on the Ko Olina property (easy walking distance) that is the best best best Mexican food in the area and reasonably priced as well. Or buy your own food and bring it in, we were still able to make many meals without a stove in our unit. BBQ's are ample on the grounds.
3. If you're looking for some adventure, the Stand Up Paddle adventure at the Ko Olina Marina is great. Highly recommend.
4. Go to the resort Luau "Fia Fia". It is the best show on the island. The food and entertainmetn was great.
5. Don't shop at the Marketplace on the grounds, there is an ABC type store near Just Tacos, go there for your basics and some gift shop stuff. Plus a great salad bar $6.99 for a big salad with your choice of toppings, for you healthy meal seekers.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MTZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

We stayed here for a week as we swapped our Marriott Vacation Club Villa in Phuket for this Vacation Club through Interval. We had a two bedroom villa it was huge, spotlessly clean and were lucky enough to have a fab sea view. The staff are friendly, the restaurants good value and the pools are fantastic. Some of the Villas don't have the best views but I would still say I would be happy with this stay. We were impressed with it all and even the shop on the resort was not overly expensive. We didn't hire a car but went on some day tours which was fun to see the Island. Lots of tours are available if you don't fancy a drive.
Families and couples alike would like this resort lots to do and if you just want to relax great place too.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazza70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapolei
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club

Address: 92-161 Waipahe Place, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707-2208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kapolei
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kapolei
Price Range: $367 - $658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Ko Olina Beach Club Hotel Kapolei
Marriott Vacation Club Kapolei
Marriotts Ko Olina Beach Hotel
Marriott Kapolei
Ko Olina Beach Club
Marriotts Ko Olina Beach Club
Kapolei Marriott
Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club Hawaii/Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing