We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort, but the construction really is bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kapolei
Certificate of Excellence
Leesburg, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort, but the construction really is bad”
Reviewed May 21, 2007

I have stayed at many marriott's and had great experiences - unfortunately this was not one of them.

The good:
1 - Spacious two bedroom was perfect - high enough to get a water view which was nice
2 - Pools were nice, especially the Steam room and Sauna they have in the lockerrooms - very cool
3 - Lagoons were great for playing in - especially with Kids
4- Easy walk to the JW Marriott to see sharks and rays swimming in their hotel lagoons

The Not so good:
1 - I can not overestimate how distracting and annoying the construction is. We were there over Mom's day weekend and the construction happened every day. Imagine being in the lagoon and hearing the "BeepBeepBeep" of a backing up truck all day long. Honestly - I will not go back to this property until construction is complete.
2 - It is kind of remote - we spent a lot of time in the car to see anything - but that would be the same almost anywhere in Oahu
3 - It really is sandwiched between a power plant and an electrical plant - and it really is visually unappealling as you drive up. You dont notice once you are on property.
4 - It is a timeshare so you get solicited often and thats not necessarily they most relaxing thing.

Bottom line - dont even consider coming here unless you have small kids, and if you do - be prepared for construction on both sides of the property.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Jasherrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,937
    724
    243
    86
    61
See reviews for
1,513
948
33
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (812)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2007

This is the best Luau in Oahu!! Chief Sileu Avela and his Samoan group are absolutely wonderful. The Chief is the best Fire Dancer in the world, and used to be at the Luau at the Polynesian Cultural Center. Besides the wonderful show, this Luau serves alcohol for those who enjoy it. The food is excellant, too. We had several salads and Lomi Lomi Salmon, and the main course was Kaluha Pork, Mahi Mahi in Pineapple Cream Sauce, and Teriyaki Beef. Of course there was Poi and Tarot Bread and Sweet Hawaiian Bread, and a wonderful desert table. For the youngsters, there was Chicken Nuggets, Spaghetti and Meatballs and Macaroni and Cheese. The show includes audience participation in a Kava Ceremony, Hula Dancing, and a salute to Honeymooners and Anniversery Celebrators. The Chief takes you on a tour of the Polynesian Islands and their customs. The Fire Dance is absolutely amazing. I highly reccommend this Luau if you are on Oahu.

Helpful?
30 Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2007

My wife my 2 children and myself. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are excellent. With so many extras in the room itself. Great activities through the week.

The only problem is that it is so far away from everything unless you have a car you will not enjoy hawaii. I didnt rent a car and had little to do. Cars are expensive specially me being 24 and they wanted to charge me an extra fee eventhough my b-day is just a couple of days away. There is construction going around, little noisy but didnt notice only if i paid attention to it. They have activities in all 4 lagoons. Which are perfect for the little ones. Didnt see that many young couples, more older couples with no kids.
The Luau on Tuesday is great i would recommend it, the Chief is very funny. Although you can watch the entire thing without paying for it. We paid for the first one but just sat by the pool on the second one.
If you are looking for some action and many things to do, stay in Waikiki for sure. Young people will get bored.

It is a nice place, but probably won't go back again, unless I rent a car.

  • Liked — Free internet,gergeous rooms
  • Disliked — Housekeeping, only once a week
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank aduran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis, IN
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2007

We checked in on May 4 stayed thru the 11th and this resort is fabulous!!! It is the best timeshare resort we have stayed at yet, loved it and plan to return. We were in a lock off unit and it was more comfortable than a hotel suite, clean with no view. The bed was very comfortable. The maintence at this resort is awesome, and owners are getting their monies worth. The landscaping is beautiful and we loved the walking path along the beach. We only dined at the resort once at the beach side restraunt and it was good comparable to TGI Fridays or Applebee's at home. We had a rental car from Advantage and had no problems with their service. Since this was our second trip to the Island we didnt repeat and do all the tourist tours. We relaxed and took in the beauty of the Island. We did go to Kuola Ranch and do the movie set tour. It was nice but over priced for what you see. We visited the Honolulu Zoo and it was nice, would be great for kids.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Nila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2007

It was my first time to Oahu and really enjoyed staying off the beaten path. We really enjoyed our trip but there were a few things that we were told we just had to do and we were disappointed, so I'll share these with you as well. First the resort: Anyone staying here should rent a car, parking is easy and it makes for easy sightseeing and shopping. The front desk will give you quick directions to Kapolei if you need groceries, gas, etc. The property is beautiful and very well maintained. Although this is the dry side of the island, the resort is tropical. We ate at the steak house at the main building and enjoyed the food. The beach bar is good but we enjoyed lunch moreso from the pool grill that opens Thurs to the weekend and somewhere around noon, we loved their macaroni-potato salad. Everyone was very friendly. If your flight is long after check out, pack a bag with toiletries and change of clothes, hang out at the beach/pool and take advantage of the access to the locker room with shower and hairdryer. If you rent a convertible wear sunblock! We got comp tix to the Fia Fia Luau for attending the timeshare presentation. Kathie Rust was the person assigned to us - she was great. Very nice, really listened, no overkill. The luau was just ok. We didn't like the food and the show was mostly about tribes from different polynesian islands (their dress and dance). This came highly recommended by the girl at the welcome desk. She also highly recommended the drive to the north shore (ok, not great). It was a nice drive. We went to see the surfers and got lucky because it was a very windy day and waves were 17ft high and so they were out. Make sure you travel with a map. Signage is poor and I couldn't find the names of the beaches so guessed alot as to where we were. The North shore beaches do not appear to be conducive to swimming, and no one was in the water that day. The welcome desk girl highly recommended the Shrimp Truck (I read about it in books as well), we were not impressed. The real problem is you have to peel your own shrimp - which isn't easy when your shrimp is covered with sauce. Try it, if you like, just make sure you have lots of napkins! We drove through Haleiwa and, as directed, HAD to stop at Matsumotos ice shop. Not being great fans of the snow cone, we found the syrup to be extremely sweet and tossed ours. Again, if you're into that sort of thing you may love it! We felt like tourists in NY buying hot dogs from a street vendor, NY locals really don't do that. While we were up there we checked out the sacred site Puu O Mahuka Heiau, which was just interesting. Frommers listed it as having one of the best views - we found the view to be very limited. Highly recommend: When in the Honolulu area, definitely take the Tantalus drive to Puu Ualakaa State Park. You drive through a residential area and then a rain forest, which is beautiful. The state pk has a fantastic view of Diamond Head and Honolulu, it must be a secret because we were the only ones up there! We had it all to ourselves! It is VERY windy up there. When you leave the park you'll have to go back the way you came, as the road is closed ahead. Pearl Harbour is a must. We got there early (8:30am), as suggested, and the lines weren't bad at all. We got to look around for the 1 hour wait to take the boat across to the memorial. We also visited Mighty Mo and enjoyed that very much as well. We took the Ko Olina Cat Sunset Sail which I'm not sure I would recommend. The staff were very nice and attentive, but they take you along the shore, where there are power plants, so ahead the island looks nice but not most of it. What was fantastic - aside from the sunset - was that we were lucky to come upon a school of spinner dolphins. The captain immediately drove up to them and we had a wonderful time watching them. It was a great trip, but were it not for the dolphins.... I can't help but think that a sunset sail along Waikiki would have been nicer. All in all, if you plan to visit Oahu, and don't want to do the crowded city, overcrowded beach thing, by all means you will find a relaxing, comfortable vacation at Ko Olina!

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
10 Thank keepnposted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2007

If you want to go to Hawaii for peace and quiet - DO NOT STAY HERE!. We stayed our 5 days for the package and then moved to the JW Marriott down the road - it was fantastic.

The Lack of Peace - back to the vacation club - say you want to relax and read a book - and we were a couple with no kids. There are two pools - both are filled with screaming kids and believe it or not - many locals with their kids. Ok so then you decide to head to the beach. That is where the two new towers are going up and you will hear hammering, constant beeping, and the joy of having a backhoe 50 feet from your reading spot. Anyone that has ever been to a construction site knows it is anything but quiet. The fact that you would pay to have a massage within 100 feet of construction work is beyond me. What most people here did not mention is that there is ALSO construction on the other side of the resort - on some new condos going up. Our first day there we realized that the only way to get any peace and quiet at this resort was to leave. We went down the road to the lagoon by the JW - which was the only spot nearby that had any peace and quiet.

So if quiet is what you want - this is NOT the place to be. Once the construciton is done years from now maybe....

Food - We found the beach bar and grill to be marginal at best. The only good thing on the menu was the pork quesidilla and the weekend buffett. Chuck's Steakhouse is the "nice" restaurant at the beach club. We found the steaks overpriced and not very good - and the staff wears sneakers so why even bother getting dressed up to eat there. It was not "nice" in our opinion.

The Area - there is nothing in Ko Olina area except Ko Olina. We have been to Maui and Kuaui many times and we always enjoyed walking to other restuarants and shops. This resort is nowhere near finished and there is nothing outside of the hotels. The front desk lady told us if we wanted to see "nice" areas to go to the north shore. By the way - on the south side of the resort is a Marina next to a large power plant or industrial plant - for many people the plant is their view if not the parking garage.

What was good? - We found the staff to be great - they were super helpful and friendly in every way. The bar and grill staff was funny and friendly and the shows were great. The rooms are also a highlight - huge wonderful suites with great finishes and plenty of room to relax. (which is important when the only quiet place in the resort is your bedroom)

Marriott has done a nice job and when it is all done someday it may be a great place to hang out and relax. BUT BEWARE what other say here - it is NOT QUIET. We were upset that we wasted five days at this resort since we both work high stress jobs and wanted to relax. For the same money there are SO MANY OTHER PLACES you could go. The JW down the street was very nice and relaxing. Go to Maui or Kuai - and if you like the Vacation Clubs go to Wiaohai in Kuai - it is peaceful and you can walk to a ton of restuarants. Ko Olina is not ready for prime time and you should not waste your precious vacation time there or pay full price for an unfinished product.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Kevbosf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London via North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2007

We are owners at Ko'Olina, but this was our first time staying at the Beach Club (when we were there before the promotion had us staying at the JW) - the resort was actually better than we remembered from our last visit! We were in the new tower on the 8th floor in a 2 bedroom unit. My husband and I were in the master suite side and my parents were in the lock-off side (although we had the connecting door open most of the time). It was great space for the four of us, and I could potentially see one more person staying with us, but think it would be tight to get the full 6 person occupancy out of the suite.

The resort itself is beautiful, with great grounds and pools. The activities they had with the Polynesian Cultural center were great (although there was confusion about times as the daily activity sheet often conflicted with signs posted around the resort). The Market Place is one of the best shops I've been to at any resort - they have a wide selection and their prices are not overly inflated (in fact we found some souvenirs were cheaper there than at other places on the island).

We also played two rounds of golf over at Ko'Olina golf club - to get the best rate we played after 2:00 pm, at $95 for 18 (the first day we played the entire 18 holes with a 3:00 tee time, but we were behind some really slow people and were out on the course as the sun was setting!). Our only problem with the golf experience was that the Beach Club concierge booked the first time for us and assured it could all be charged to the room, but when we arrived at the club house they said they could not charge to the Beach Club, only the JW (which still makes no sense to me). So if they try and get you into another sales presentation (yes, they even ask owners to go through those again) with the hope of using the resort money voucher to cover a round of golf (which they expressly told us as they were booking our tee time), know that you can't actually charge the golf to your room!

In terms of nearby attractions that we enjoyed - the train ride from Ewa on Sundays is fun, even if it isn't all great scenery, and the information they share about the Leeward side's history and development is great. We also visited the Hawaii Plantation Village in Waipahu, which really does transport you back to the time of "old" Hawaii during the plantation boom. We had a tour guide that was really funny and informative, plus they let you sample citrus and fruit and crack open our own macademia nuts for a snack! Although it requires a drive into Honolulu, the tour of Doris Duke's Shangri La was amazing. Book tickets in advance through the Honolulu Academy of Arts, where the tour leaves from (they say it will sell out months ahead of time, but we were able to make reservations while we were out there a few days ahead of time). The setting by the ocean overlooking Diamond Head is breathtaking and the Islamic art collection is quite good as well. The only complaint was that not all of the house is open for tours at the moment, most notably her bedroom and bathroom, which was the inspiration for the whole rest of the house and is entirely Turkish marble.

Lastly, we did take advantage of the "linger longer" option on our checkout day, which allows you access to the pool, lockers, showers, etc. I have to admit that at first I was skeptical, but these are not your normal gym showers and it gave a few extra hours at the pool and lagoon before our late night flight back.

Overall, it was a great stay and we look forward to returning.

  • Liked — The grounds, pool, and room amenities
  • Disliked — On-going construction, getting stuck in Honolulu traffic
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank mariruthl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapolei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,966 reviews
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
3,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club

Property: Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club
Address: 92-161 Waipahe Place, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707-2208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kapolei
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kapolei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Ko Olina Beach Club Hotel Kapolei
Marriott Vacation Club Kapolei
Marriotts Ko Olina Beach Hotel
Marriott Kapolei
Ko Olina Beach Club
Marriotts Ko Olina Beach Club
Kapolei Marriott
Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club Hawaii/Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing