We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kapolei
Certificate of Excellence
Hawaii Kai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Resort”
Reviewed October 5, 2006

One major thing for vactioners to be aware of is this resort is basically in the middle of nowhere. The resort is set next to a mountian range and industrial port. It's about a 25 minute drive to Waikiki (the island's most popular tourist spot) so even if you have a car, recognize it's not the kind of quick ride into the city from the hotel. H1 (the highway you must take) is often congested & backed up at all times of the day & evening, so be prepared for that as well. I'm 19 & live on the opposite end of the island. My parents came to visit for the week from the mainland & booked just the 1 bedroom villa for the week. I've been on many vacations with them since i was young but have never enjoyed the styling of our hotel as much as this one. Now this is not the hotel, its referred to as the Beach Club. The hotel is on the same compound but about a 2 minute drive/10 minute walk before the Beach Club. The "Hotel" looks noticibly older but still not bad. The open 2nd floor Lobby was very enjoyable at night with the cool breeze. One thing i disliked was the color choice inside the room with awkward use of green & yellow here and there, especially on the rails of the balcony. Also, during the day, there are airplanes flying quite low over the resort about every- 5-10 minutes. I couldn't imagine all of them coming from Kauai (the only Hawaiian island in the direction the planes come from) so they must mostly be from Asia and possibly Europe. Those were probobly the ONLY things i disliked about the resort, which is obviously quite petty. I like the idea of the sitting room for the master bedroom but found it too small to be useful. The design of both pools & even the ocean setup are great. The rocks further into the ocean allow gentle waves to break at the edge as opposed to some of the larger ones stopped at the rocks. The breakfast and lunch (which is the same menu as dinner) are very good and ALL the staff are extremly pleasant and friendly (as are most of the poeple native to this island). I highly recommend this resort to all types of vactioners. The pools are great for the children, even if they'd like to go into the ocean. the water is shallow, calm and relaxing. The grounds are perfect for a romantic getaway for a couple as well.

  • Liked — The ocean
  • Disliked — The Location
  • Tips/Secrets — Low flying planes every 10 minutes, Hotel set very far from any tourism spots
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank xthescream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,920
    716
    234
    82
    59
See reviews for
1,485
937
33
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (803)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2006

What a wonderful trip!!! We visited Ko Olina in July and stayed for 1 week. Very family friendly trip. Picture perfect sunsets. We loved the fact we could have alot of fun just hanging out at the resort. Our kids loved the fact that you could go back and forth between the pools and the lagoons. We even swam with the sea turtles on one of our swim days. We went into Waikiki for one afternoon and were very glad we were not staying in that area. Too crowded. A trip up to the North Shore is highly recommended. The snokeling was awesome and the drive there is wonderful. We loved Ko Olina so much we will be going back next summer.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Construction going on at the time of our visit
  • Tips/Secrets — Visit Oahu !!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank cdort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2006

We stayed for a week from September 10 through September 17, 2006. The resort is beautiful and the tower that we stayed in was new. We were told it had opened 5 months earlier. We had an ocean view room. The room was a hotel type room, King size bed, sleeper sofa and limited kitchen. Nice large bathroom with ample storage and very nice toiletries provided. The elevators were quick and usually readily available. There is limited parking in the garage, at no extra charge, but additional parking available outside along the building sidewalk areas. The food was very good at both the Kolohoe Beach Grill and at the main dining terrace. We did have one issue with the dining terrace, we made a dinner reservation for Saturday night seafood dinner, and when only one person in our four person party arrived at the time, they seated him under the stair case to the main lobby even though there were several other appropriate tables empty without reservation cards on them. We he asked to move they told him since his entire party was not there, those tables were for people who were ready to eat right then. A little snobbishly. So we ate at the Beach grill again. It was fine. Snorkle equipment and other beach items are available for rental. The lagoons are nice and we got to swim with the sea turtles on Sunday . There was construction going on but it was barely noticeable and very little noise or any dust. All in all a very nice resort and we will certainly visit there again.

  • Liked — Located directly on the ocean and away from the crowded downtown Honolulu area.
  • Disliked — Limited food choices.
  • Tips/Secrets — Visit a grocery store nearby before you get settled.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank id72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
247 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 490 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2006

Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club is a secluded, beach-front resort located on the leeward side of Oahu, approximately 20 miles west of Honolulu. In addition to Ko Olina, the sprawling Marriott oasis is also home to the J.W. Marriott Ihilani Resort, the highly rated Ko Olina Golf Course and four beautiful man-made ocean lagoons.

Ko Olina Beach Club amenities include two swimming pools, Jacuzzi, health club/fitness center, golf academy, children's/adult's activities, on-site shuttle/transportation company, spa services, tour desk, beach rentals, business services & internet (wireless and kiosk), game room, jogging trails, tennis (Ihilani Resort), BBQ grills, and ocean-front wedding chapel.

Food/Beverage:

Kolohe's Beach Bar & Grill is an open-air restaurant with a casual oceanfront setting. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Kolohe's serves sandwiches, salads, appetizers and desserts. Several dinner specials are offerred after 5:30 P.M. and there is live entertainment nightly. We ate at Kolohe's twice and thought the food was average at best.

The Marketplace is a combination deli, coffee shop, mini-grocery store and gift shop. Sandwiches, pastries, soda and Starbuck's coffee can be purchased at the deli. Grocery items are very expensive so we shopped at the local Safeway. The Marketplace does offer coffee/soda mugs for $25.00, which includes unlimited refills of those beverages for your entire stay.

Ka 'Ulu Poolside Grill is open during lunch hours and serves hamburgers, sandwiches and salads to go.

Komohana Terrace offers theme buffets Thursday through Sunday night.

Currently, Ko Olina does not have a full service, sit-down restaurant. One is under construction with completion expected in December, 2006. Restaurants located at the J.W. Marriott Ihilani include Azul (Mediterranean), Ushio-Tei (Japanese) and Naupaka. Azul and Ushio-Tei are upscale while Naupaka offers informal dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is also a Roy's Restaurant at the Ko Olina Golf Club, with free shuttle service provided. With the exception of Kolohe's, we did not dine anywhere else on site.

Villas:

The Ko Olina Beach Club features two and three bedroom units with "lock-off" capability. We stayed in the smaller side of a two bedroom lock-off; basically a studio with sitting area, L-shaped convertible sofa, small private lanai (patio) and efficiency kitchen (small refrigerator, micro-wave, dishes and utensils). Our unit was furnished with a queen-size bed, color T.V./D.V.D. player, radio, small wall safe, ceiling fan and hair dryer. The unit was fine, although our view of the ocean was blocked by the lanai of a larger unit next door.

We did not tour the two and three bedroom units but saw them on Marriott's information channel. They appeared to be spacious, beautifully appointed and equipped with full kitchens and a clothes washer & dryer.

Ocean Lagoons:

The four man-made lagoons on the Marriott property extend from the J.W. Marriott Ihilani to just west of the Ko Olina Marina. One of the lagoons (#3) sits directly in front of the Ko Olina resort. All lagoons feature clean, gently sloped sandy beaches and afford safe swimming in the calm, protected waters. Snorkeling is very poor within the lagoons, however we did spot a few turtles in Lagoon #2. Tropical fish may be more prevelant in Lagoon #1, as the Ihilani staff conducts a fish-feeding there in the morning.

Surrounding Area:

The town of Kapolei is about 3 miles east of the resort. There you will find an abundance of fast-food restaurants, Chinese, Japanese and Italian restaurants, Chili's and Outback Steakhouse. Kapolei also has a Safeway and Long's Drug store. Hawaiian Waters Adventure Park is also within a five minute drive.

The area west of the resort is an eye-sore. Although there are some nice beaches like Yokohama, the beach parking lots and areas between the main road and the beaches are inundated with people living in make-shift tents, camper shells and old vehicles. I did not feel comfortable leaving my vehicle unattended in these areas, so I didn't. I was also cautioned by a resort staff member to stay out of Waianae (8 miles west of the resort), as it was a "rough town".

Haleiwa, on the North Shore, is about 25 miles from the resort. From there it's a short drive up to Turtle Bay, passing Waimea Bay, Sunset Beach and Shark's Cove along the way.

Summary:

The Ko Olina Beach Club Resort is well-maintained, has beautiful grounds and an exceptionally friendly staff. It's a little bit off the beaten path but a good choice, especially for a family who plans on spending most of their time enjoying the resort. I would consider returning to Ko Olina but with an upgrade to a larger unit.

Additional photos of the resort are available upon request. Would also be willing to try and answer any questions.
sceneisle48-loscabos@yahoo.com

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Size
  • Tips/Secrets — Upgrade
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
25 Thank sceneisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2006

We stayed at Ko Olina for 8 days. The facilities were definately close to the 5 star rating that Marriot claimed. The place would rather you bought the time share option, but since we booked a straight room, it was a little smaller that we would have liked plus our "ocean view" turned out to be an edge if you got out on the patio and leaned over the rail. The pools, jacuzzis, and beaches were first rate. There was heavy construction going on next door that was noisy and kicked up dust while they build more rooms and a restuarant but that will end in 2008. What bothered my wife and I the most was the costs of all the extras. I know things are at a premium at a resort (especially in Hawaii), but the tab at the eatery by the pool the first night for 4 drinks, a burger, and an appetizer with tip came to over $80. We ate all our meals off site after that. Fortunately the resort is right at the end of H1 and the first exit (5 minutes) had a K-Mart, theatre, and many restaurants to choose from. We brought groceries back to the room. The drinks are VERY watered down. My wife asked for more tequila in her margarita and after being informed it was an additional $2 for a "double", it looked like the bartender was measuring the booze out by the teaspoon. So in our opinion, it's a great place to stay just don't eat or drink there.

  • Liked — Facilities
  • Disliked — Food and alcohol cost
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank SenseiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2006

We stayed at the Ko Olina 9/11/06 - 9/16/06. Lobby beautiful Quiet and peaceful/romantic when the construction workers leave and the kids go to bed. Room spacious and nice, however, the bed and especially the sheets were the worst I have ever experienced. I travel approximately 40 - 50 nights per year business and pleasure. We called the front desk after the first night - they changed the bed. The "new" sheets were worse - had more pills on them and a few brown stains - UGH. Called again and was told that the tower was working on getting the sheets replaced but could not do it now. They got some sheets from the new tower and they were OK - very thin and flimsy. The bottom sheet was not even tucked in. This does not even cover the "blanket" which looked as though it had been rolled into a ball before being placed on the bed. Several weeks ago the Wall Street Journal did a column about hotels that are paying attention to travellers comments about sheets/beds and upgrading. Perhaps this hotel needs to read this article. I was stunned to find that the motel near the airport that we stayed for the last night, had better sheets. Overall the room was dirty. When checking under the bed for any items that may have rolled under, we discovered another guest's trash.
The restaurant by the ocean should have/could have been a lot better. The service was very lax - food so-so.
I would NOT recommend this hotel to a couple looking for a relaxing/romantic vacation. Based upon the noise - I think it is more suited to families - BUT the sheets still need to be tossed.
During this entire stay - we did not get one phone call from management - I do not think they cared. We did get two or three high pressure calls to get down to the sales center. We had strongly considered purchasing something like this but there were just too many things missing and I had absolutely no interest in hearing a high pressure sales pitch.

  • Liked — the quiet after the construction finished and kids went to bed
  • Disliked — the cleanliness of room - the thread bare sheets and smelly towels
  • Tips/Secrets — if you go - bring your own sheets and towels
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank graciep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2006

Here is a resort that will not disappoint! If you are looking for a family friendly, beautiful resort without the crowds of a city, this one is for you. The accomidations were very clean, and the staff very helpful. If you are looking for a big night life, this is not the place for you. I can't wait to go again!

  • Liked — the grounds
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — book early
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank blessedmomoffour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapolei
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club

Property: Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club
Address: 92-161 Waipahe Place, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707-2208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kapolei
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kapolei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Ko Olina Beach Club Hotel Kapolei
Marriott Vacation Club Kapolei
Marriotts Ko Olina Beach Hotel
Marriott Kapolei
Ko Olina Beach Club
Marriotts Ko Olina Beach Club
Kapolei Marriott
Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club Hawaii/Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing