We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, Peaceful, and Clean - Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kapolei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is our second stay in Ko'Olina. Our first trip was about 7 years ago and we vacationed at the JW Marriott just up the way (about 15 minutes up the paved walking path along the beach). So, it was nice being able to compare the two!

One of the most important components for our family is the BEACH as we are from Colorado and of course have no beach! Both the Beach Club & the JW are stunningly situated on lovely protected coves. You are a mere seconds away from walking out the back of either hotel to having your toes in the sand & ocean. The Beach Club definitely offers a more serene experience as the JW SHARES its cove with the Disney Aulani Hotel guests (high energy place). We actually would have preferred to have some of the options that seemed more readily available on the JW/Aulani cove (i.e. snorkel & paddle board rentals). However, when it was time for relaxing...the Beach Club is where it is at! Both coves are heavily protected from any surf, so don't plan on ANY waves. It is great for soaking up the sun, a nice dip & swim, but no surfing action here. You will have to drive to a different beach for waves. Our favorite is about an hour drive to Sunset Beach on the north shore! However, the two resorts work well together and if you are willing to walk up to the JW, they will rent you any equipment you like.

We had a 2-bedroom/2-bath unit which was great as there were 7 of us..yep SEVEN! I thought we'd be tripping over each other, but there was actually plenty of space and the floorplan was excellent and spotless. We utilized the grills, provided in front of each building, one evening. We'd had a successful fishing excursion & brought the catch back to grill for dinner! The kitchen had everything we needed as far as cooking & prep utensils.

We purchased a myriad of snacks for the week at a grocery store about 10 minutes away, but ate most of the main meals out at local restaurants as those on site are very limited. There is the marketplace which is essentially a deli counter. Longboards (beach diner) is open for breakfast, lunch, & dinner. Lastly, there is Chuck's (seafood & steakhouse) which is open only for Dinner. All menu's are relatively limited, but the food was good. There was better food to be found elsewhere. Roy's at the Ko'Olina Golf Course is AMAZING. You will pay a bundle, but you won't get any better! We also went to the Signature restaurant at the Disney Aulani (STUNNING VIEWS - OK food) and Azul at the JW (REALLY GOOD). If you have time to drive up to the North Shore...book dinner reservations at Ewa (right on the beach at the Turtle Bay resort)!

My only complaint was the location of our room...our lanai was directly above the entrance to the valet/roundabout. Although it was interesting at times...we REALLY wanted an ocean view and had requested it 6 months earlier. Any view had to have been better than looking at asphalt & every vehicle coming in/out of the resort. There was absolutely no flex when we checked in...that was the room we were assigned and there was nothing to be done about it when we immediately requested a move. The staff seemed genuinely apologetic and I'm still grateful for our time there, don't get me wrong!

As the Ko'Olina location is not really located near ANYTHING, you will need a car if you plan on leaving the resort. You can rent from the car rental agency located within the Beach Club, but it is more expensive and you aren’t guaranteed a vehicle unless you reserve it well in advance. We found it most economical to rent a car at the airport for the week. It turned out to be a huge bonus as we used it regularly! However, if you plan on staying in Ko'Olina, there is a free shuttle that runs every half hour from the Beach Club to the other major Ko’Olina resorts (Disney, JW, one other), the Golf Course (Roy's), and the marina. We used this on several occasions.

OK...that's it..enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Erika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the many amenities at the resort including the size of your villa and are glad everyone was comfortable. We are sorry we were unable to accommodate an ocean view but hope next time one will be available! Thank you again for your review and we hope you visit us again soon at Marriott’s Ko Olina Beach Club!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,319 - 1,325 of 3,146 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014

From the valet to the concierge, to the wait staff we had good service throughout. One exception - We were told on check in that we had a view of the water. We asked 6 times and each time the front desk clerk hedged until the last time he said "yes you can see the water from the room". I should have know. Even standing on one of the chairs on the small balcony nothing could be seen except the parking lot and bushes. We were on the ground floor which made it nice to head right out to the beach but there was no view at all. I would have loved to get up in the morning and go out with a cup of coffee and look at the ocean. I could have of course gone all the way back to the front desk with our bags and asked to be moved so ultimately it was my choice. I liked being within walking distance of places to eat and the small grocery store. There is a shuttle but we never used it as we walked. The grounds are wonderful and if you have children it is great as the beach slopes gently and there are plenty of pools, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear your stay at Marriott’s Ko Olina Beach Club was relaxing and enjoyable. We apologize for your inconvenience regarding the view of your villa and will share your comments with the appropriate managers. Thanks again for your review and the nice pictures! We hope to see you in Hawaii again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We had a beautiful, large, two bedroom unit which included a "office" area to setup our computer. there were two lanais as well. Everything was clean and bright. the kitchen was well-stocked with everything you need. The best thing about the resort is the activities that are "FREE" - yup - no "resort fee"! there were yoga classes, aquatic aerobics, pilates and many classes for the kids. The fitness center is one of the best I've seen. With numerous pools - including slides (on one) and a "reflection" pool for those who want to read in peace and quiet -to another with a volleyball net. Also, there is a man-made lagoon if you want to swim in the ocean and not worry about the current and wave action. The staff was very helpful and friendly. This is the BEST place to stay and NOT go into Waikiki.

Room Tip: There are 3 towers, the Hale Kona building overlooks the pool on one side and other side of building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dotster2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you for your five-star TripAdvisor review of Marriott’s Ko Olina Beach Club! It is great to hear you and your family enjoyed yourselves and took advantage of the resort activities! We hope you stay with us again on your next trip to Hawaii!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Just got home from a 7 day stay at the beach club. We used 2 years of vacation points and traded our resort Kauai for this stay. There were 7 of us and we had a two bedroom, penthouse, ocean view in the Hale Kona tower, rooms 11017 & 11018. We had two king beds and two sofa sleepers. This was perfect for our party. The rooms were clean and well kept. The kitchen could use an update. Old and tired looking stove and refrigerator, but they worked fine. That's why the rating isn't a 5. We looked out over lagoon 1 and could view all the lawn activities below. Lots of fun activities for our 6 year old grand daughter and our older grand daughter (18) and her boyfriend (20) had many hours of fun in the lagoon snorkeling and catching a tan. All the staff were friendly and helpful. They certainly have the Aloha spirit at this resort.

Room Tip: This room has an unobstructed ocean view. Breath taking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaliforniaFlowergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the amenities and view of your villa! Your feedback regarding the appliances is greatly appreciated and will be shared with leadership at the resort. We hope you stay with us again soon at Marriott’s Ko Olina Beach Club!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I traveled to Oahu with my family starting Memorial Day Weekend. We arrived before check-in and the room was ready. Yay! The Marriott had sent a pre-arrival questionarre in which we told them we were celebrating a wedding anniversary. So upon arrival our bed had a towel sculpture that looked like 2 geese forming a heart. I loved that special recognition. The room was great. We had a fabulous ocean view. Our boys 6 & 8 years old couldn't wait to get back to the hotel's pools everyday. They enjoyed playing in the cave, waterfalls, and waterside. We saw fish and sea turtles in the lagoons.The food and service was awesome at Chuck's Steakhouse and Longboards. I only wish we had eaten at Chuck's earlier in our vacation to have gone their again.

FYI, we had dinner at Aulani to compare the hotels. The food was poor and expensive $180 for dinner for 4 and it taste like cafeteria food. The hotel gift shop was full of Disney character items. I'm glad we chose to stay at the Marriott instead.

I recommend renting a car if you are staying at this hotel. It is very easy to get around the island.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MB3PB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you for your five-star review! We are delighted to hear you liked the towel sculpture left in your room along with our famous ocean view. The pools are a common favorite for families and the wildlife in the lagoons are a must-see. Your comments and tips are greatly appreciated. Thank you again for visiting Marriott’s Ko Olina Beach Club and we hope you stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I usually review pretty hard. I tend to pick fault. That is how I am. So, for the last seven months I have been trying to find something to complain about like I usually do.

I can't. Not a thing. Nothing. Oh! There was no pizza tray in the kitchen. There you go, I feel better now. I managed to whine about something that I didn't need and would never have used. Phew. That was close. So we were in the pool, and some people who were leaving walked up and wanted to give us food and beer. You walk around and people say hello. Kids are well behaved. Crazy...

Room Tip: If you think you want a week, book for ten days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Elwood_Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thank you for your five-star review! We are thrilled to learn you enjoyed all of our amenities at Marriott’s Ko Olina Beach Club! We appreciate your feedback and will get on the pizza tray case immediately! Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Husband and I checked in last week with our adult daughter and our 5 year old granddaughter. While we were registering at the Front Desk our granddaughter was already making a craft - a table was set up right in the lobby to entertain the kids. We are mountain view owners and made a request for some water view and the staff was very accommodating and got us a marina view with some ocean. We were thrilled!! The one bedroom villa had an alcove that was perfect for the rollaway bed - became another bedroom - with doors on both sides. The pull out couch was torture for our daughter so we ordered another rollaway bed - which was much better. We do know that this tower is slated for renovation and hopefully the couch will be thrown out and replaced.
The grounds are fantastic and immaculate. Landscapers are constantly working and one even stopped our group and offered us a package of some dried pineapple courtesy of the landscaping department. How super was that???
Every employee we dealt with was helpful, courteous and caring. No complaints there at all.
Crafts for children are all free now. Lei making free also. No more nickel and diming the guests.
Great to have a farmer's market on the premises on Monday mornings - great place to stock up for the week. One suggestions would be to have a shuttle bus go to the Safeway, Costco and Target.
I could go on and on with all the compliments. We had a fantastic week and can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onthego25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thank you for your five-star TripAdvisor review! We are happy to learn your experience at Marriott’s Ko Olina Beach Club was relaxing and that our staff was able to accommodate you and your granddaughter from the beginning! Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapolei
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
324 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,166 reviews
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club

Address: 92-161 Waipahe Place, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707-2208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kapolei
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kapolei
Price Range: $285 - $758 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Ko Olina Beach Club Hotel Kapolei
Marriott Vacation Club Kapolei
Marriotts Ko Olina Beach Hotel
Marriott Kapolei
Ko Olina Beach Club
Marriotts Ko Olina Beach Club
Kapolei Marriott
Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club Hawaii/Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing