We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kapolei
Certificate of Excellence
Methuen, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Family Friendly Vacation”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

As new owners of Marriott Vacation Club, we spent two weeks at Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club in February 2012. We stayed in one of the Ocean View rooms with lockoff and full kitchen on the 12th floor. Kids had the lockoff and they enjoyed it. Room was large, kitchen was clean and well equipped. The view from our room was beautiful especially at sunset. Despite being on the 12th floor we never had to wait for elevators. The staff was friendly and attentive. They have pools appropriate for kids and a bit of loud noise is not a problem here. They also have quiet pools for those without children. They also have a small waterslide pool where kids are encouraged to have fun. The beach is a large manmade lagoon with sandy bottom and gentle waves excellent for kids. Their are other lagoons along the oceanfront connected by walking paths that you can use, but there is no natural beachfront, no natural waves. The beach is large with lots of chairs but if you head down after 11am all chairs might be taken. As in all of Hawaii the public has easy access to the beach lagoons but Ko Olina has cleverly installed the outlying lagoons close to the public parking and this seems to steer the public toward those outer areas and away from the main resort beach. A free resort shuttle operates between nearby resorts and restaurants, ice cream and the ABC grocery in the resort area. These are also walkable day and night if you prefer the exercise. There is a Safeway Supermarket about 10 minutes away right off the H1 easy to find but check out the ABC Markets you will find them affordable and with lots of choices.

Room Tip: Ocean View means Ocean View, you have a beautiful west facing sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CarrieB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,955
    727
    244
    86
    62
See reviews for
1,527
951
34
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (817)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

For the last five years we've spent time at this Marriott property each January; since having become owners here after one of those 'preview package stays'. While we thoroughly enjoy a few days in the hustling, bustling Waikiki prior to Ko Olina, we are always happy to arrive at this quiet destination resort area on Ko Olina's west coast.

The Marriott property is one of several tourist accommodation options available at Ko Olina, which is also the site of a marina and 18-hole golf course and several residential developments. A small - yet to be completely occupied - market place, Ko Olina Station, has a convenience store with deli (mentioned by other reviewers), a Mexican restaurant, ice cream shop, Hawaiian restaurant and soon, a sushi place as well.

We stay in the small 'efficiency' unit side (king bed, couch, chair, kitchenette with micro-wave, refrigerator and coffee pot) and small balcony as part of our stay, then move to the larger, full-size condo unit for the remainder of our time. We own an ocean view unit but the property has ocean front, ocean view and mountain view rooms so those renting should be clear on what they have rented. (Some 'mountain view' rooms have partial views of the ocean and others look out over the parking lot and golf course with no water view).

The kitchens in the large unit are very well appointed with all you would need for cooking meals in the room. Salt and pepper, dish soap, paper towels and a coffee starter kit are provided. Shampoo and soap for the bath. Cooking in the smaller side can be done using creativity and thinking of it as a 'glamping' (glamour camping) type experience.

The grounds: as others have written, Ko Olina features four lagoons and the Marriott property fronts one of them making it feel as though it were the private lagoon of that property. In reality the lagoons are open to all guests and residents. Local families often head to the beaches to make a day of sunning and picnicing at Ko Olina. Three large pools serve the property - one with a water slide that delights kids and another with a zero-edge sandy-beach type entry that toddlers love.


Grocery shopping is a treat when staying at Ko Olina. For those who are Costco members, there is a large store about three miles away in the city of Kapolei (also a Target, Safeway, and soon, a Walmart). A bit further down the road in Waipahu, though, there's a large locally owned store, Don Quijote, where we head for packaged Hawaiian favorites of Lomi Lomi, Kailua Pork, and Lomi salmon as well as more than a dozen types of poke (fresh marinated fish and seafood). It is an ethnic food lovers paradise. Prices are reasonable and the selection is large.

Another favorite is to head to Waianae, the town just up the road from Ko Olina for its Saturday morning Farmers' Market held at the local school. Fresh fruits and vegetables, eggs, baked goods, fish are among the items available in this small, but interesting market.

As one other reviewer noted, there are banks of gas barbeques for guests to use and it is a treat to gather at them and visit with other guests trying out their culinary skills. You can bring adult beverages from your room to sip while cooking.

Restaurants: Chuck's Steakhouse in the Marriott is one of our favorite Mai Tain Happy Hour destinations and their food is good. A beachfront restaurant, Longboard's, is also on the Marriott property. In addition to the places mentioned above, there is a Roy's Restaurant at the golf course (it was being repaired as result of a kitchen fire and not open while we were there this year but was scheduled to open soon after our departure). There are many restaurants in Kapolei, one of our favorites is Thai Lao in the Halekaui Center (across from the Safeway shopping center)

Activities: In addition to golf, there are several boat/snorkeling tours that leave from the marina. The resort also offers a number of fitness and craft classes. One of the few free activities is the plant tour of the grounds offered once a week. Just walking the grounds is good exercise and during our time exploring the lagoons this year we saw our first Hawaiian Monk Seal sunning herself on the beach and also Hawaiian sea turtles. Our stay was during Chinese New Year so we were treated to a special performance by the Honolulu Lion Dance group.

Ko Olina provides us the feel of an outer island stay without the cost of flying to an outer island. It is also close enough to Honolulu that you could drive back into town for any number of performing arts events or tourist attractions there.

There is a shuttle bus service to get you back and forth in the resort, but not too and from the resort. A rental car - especially for getting off the property to buy groceries - is a must. Parking charges apply for those who rent here.

We've already booked our January 2013 stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank The_Travelnwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, IL
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Loved to resort. Nice walking path between hotels/lagoons. Nice clean hotel rooms. Food was good. Will be back again. Pools were clean, plenty of lawn chairs.

Room Tip: Good Views no matter what room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TacticalMedic2722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Stayed in 1 bedroom Villa on the 4th floor, room #10420 in the Kona Tower. Room was huge, with three patio doors going out to a wrap around deck that offered a partial mountain view and a view of the cove/ ocean that is partially blocked by some palm trees. I'm a Marriott Rewards member, but I figured we would get stuck on a lower floor since were just "renters", not owners or Vacation Club members. Still the room was large, clean, and the full kitchen was great. We only ate out twice (Chucks, and Longboards, see separate reviews), the rest of the time we prepared meals in our kitchen. Safeway grocery in Kapolei is open 24hrs and is only a short drive from the Ko Olina resort area. Sign up for their "Safeway Club" card to save some money, it's worth it.

The resort is beautiful overall, but it's not without some minor flaws that would be easier to overlook if it didn't cost so much to stay here. Most were very minor issues with service and/or maintenance. I think the more we pay, the more we expect things to be perfect (just to give you an idea...this is the most per night that we've ever paid to stay anywhere, and we've been to Ireland, Vegas, Sonoma, and Germany, just to name a few). A few of the minor issues: there was some garbage in the hall outside the door of a room adjacent to ours, it sat there all week! They have several hot tubs on the property, none of which seemed to be working 100%, the problem was with the jets, some work well, some work a little, and some don't work hardly at all. There is a sewage/ garbage smell in the parking garage that's a little overwhelming at times. I suppose this could have been avoided if we used valet, but we chose to self park so that we could come and go at a moments notice without having to arrange for our car to be brought out. And yes...as with most places that you stay in Oahu, there is a parking fee at this resort of $30/ day, but you can come and go as often as you like, no extra charges. We took several walks and there was always some garbage laying around somewhere (never a lot), and definately not the resorts fault, garbage is from lazy/ sloppy people, but I would think they would have maintenance workers out at all times picking that stuff up during the day.

We sat through the "Vacation Club" sales presentation (about 1 to 1.5 hours) and received a couple of tickets for a Sunset Cruise (see other review) that turned out to be pretty cool. The only drawback was that we had to drive down to Waikiki and park at the Hilton Hawiian Village to board the boat, but it didn't cost us a thing, they even comped the parking at the Hilton (which would have been $24). The sales presentation was relatively painless, and definately not high pressure, we opted not to participate at this time, and walked away with a much better understanding of the Vacation Club,how it works, and the costs associated with it.

My wife and I went on this trip by ourselves and enjoyed our stay, we took several walks around the resort area which include the Disney resort, the other Marriotts, and some shops/ restaurants, the whole area is just awesome. The coves/ beaches at the resorts are beautiful and offer (what seems to be) a more relaxed/ laid back setting than the Waikiki area. We never heard anything late at night with our doors open except the ocean and the wind.

This was our first time to Oahu and here are a few of the things that we did that I would definately recommend: Pearl Harbor (Arizona Memorial). Aloha Stadium Flea Market. Drove up H2 to North shore area (saw Sea Turtles basking on the beach), then down the east coast. Dole plantation (just visited the gift shop). Drove out to east coast (H3) and down around south east coast to Diamond Head/ Waikiki area, stopped at several scenic overlooks to take pictures, Haunama Bay, climbed Diamond Head (tough climb, but well worth it if you can do it). Traffic around Waikiki/ Honolulu is bad during rush hour times, avoid it if you can.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rd35nm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We are Marriott timeshare owners and have stayed at Ko Olina three times- once in the lockoff (studio- small with small lanai), once in the one bedroom (which is LARGE with full kitchen, washer/dryer, big lanai- really a nice size and nice layout), and once in the two bedroom (which is the studio plus the one bedroom). Having stayed at the Marriott Maui Ocean Club several time (the older hotel conversion units) (and we like that one too), the rooms at Ko Olina are nicer. The Ko Olina property is nicely spread out (check out the Disney property nearby- it's lovely but VERY compact and crowded feeling), with really nice pools and grounds. At Ko Olina, you can swim or snorkle at ANY of the four lagoons, no matter where you are staying- sometimes it pays to walk down to a different lagoon (lagoon 2 often has sea turtles). All in all, Ko Olina is a relaxing resort. Stop at Safeway or the Military Commissary on your way out here because otherwise you will be shocked at the high prices for food at the resort. (There is a nice deli across from the Disney resort with nice sandwiches, wraps, and salads- very reasonable, and also a Hawaiian BBQ place that's pretty good too.)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

My husband and I spent one week with our one year old boy at Marriott’s Ko Olina Beach Club during the week of New Year. To begin with, the resort has nice swimming pools and wonderful beach. Although the weather is nice and warm in 1st week of Jan, the sea water is a bit chilly for swimming. The location is OK given the size of Oahu, by which I mean it is about 25 miles from city center / the Waikiki beach, 20 miles from the HNL airport, and you pretty much can drive to any place on the island within 1.5 hour. To our disappointment, the studio unit we got is much smaller than a typical hotel efficiency room. In the past, we have stayed at studio unit of other Marriott timeshare resorts including Marriott’s Maui Ocean Club, comparatively speaking, this one is surprisingly small. Our unit does have a balcony, but too bad the space is not enough for two persons move around. What bothers me most is the noise coming from the highway nearby; you would not have a problem if you have your glass door shut. However if you wish to enjoy natural sea breeze and warm sunlight, it's just too noisy to leave the door of balcony open. Overall we had a good time in Oahu; the island has everything a family looks for on a vacation: beautiful sea, shopping, variety of food, etc. To summarize my opinion for Marriott's Ko Olina Beach Club: it’s good, but not great, I definitely would not use “luxury” to describe this resort. If you are trying to decide between Marriott’s Maui Ocean Club VS this one, my vote goes to Maui.

Room Tip: Try to avoid studio unit, it is OK for one person, but too small for a couple with a child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YI_IVY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We did enjoy our stay, Because of the pools, but I was expecting a five star experience and it was an average hotel. Iron didn't work, a cabinet doorbell off in our "kitchenette" if you can call it that.

I guess we paid the high prices for the pools and beaches, and they were great! The "spa" rooms were not acceptable at all! The women's steam room reeked and I actually warn against going in there.

To top it off, we were surprised with a $210 dollar parking fee at the end of our stay! Oh well, live and learn. Won't stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betsysayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapolei
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4,010 reviews
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
3,983 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club

Property: Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club
Address: 92-161 Waipahe Place, Kapolei, Oahu, HI 96707-2208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kapolei
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kapolei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Ko Olina Beach Club Hotel Kapolei
Marriott Vacation Club Kapolei
Marriotts Ko Olina Beach Hotel
Marriott Kapolei
Ko Olina Beach Club
Marriotts Ko Olina Beach Club
Kapolei Marriott
Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club Hawaii/Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing