We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as we expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Thai Lao

Thai Lao
Ranked #7 of 133 Restaurants in Kapolei
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Phone: 808-674-2262. Thai Lao is located in the Halekuai Center in the heart of Kapolei, Hawaii (Oahu).
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Not as good as we expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Based on the positive reviews of Thai Lao, we tried it on the 2nd night we were in Oahu. We were staying in nearby Ko olina so it was convenient.

The restaurant is small with one long table in the middle that fit about 16 people. They then had 3 smaller tables on each side fitting 4 people at each table. So not much in the way of privacy.

In terms of food, we had the pad woo sen, pad thai and larb. We've had a lot of thai food in Southern California and the food just didnt seem up to snuff. The pad thai seemed to have a little too much tomato sauce to where it tasted a little bit like tomato beef chow mein. The pad woo sen was underwhelming and a little dry.

The larb was new to me but was actually the best dish. It had a lot of flavors and spices and brought enough heat.

The service is good and the waitresses are nice. The prices arent bad.

I would have expected more from this place. Maybe it was an off night

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adhoboo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    55
    14
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“one of our favorites.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We love going here for Thai food. The service is friendly and fast for some foods, it may take a while for some of the other foods they serve to come out depending on what you order but it is worth the wait, the food is delicious and their portion wise for two people is more than enough. Every dish on their menu is a perfect choice, you can never go wrong. Its a small place, but very clean and well kept. I'm surprised not much people know about this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LilBnySs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapolei, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

I love the service here, the food comes out in a great timely manner, tasty and fresh, they don't have any alcohol so you can bring your own and I would recommend it. A great drink will complement you amazing meal!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
1 review
“Really Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Their Ginger Chicken was fantastic. So many vegetables, nice pieces of chicken, and a very flavorful sauce. I would definitely become a regular except for the fact that I live on the other side of the Island.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Only Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

took family to Thai Lao and wasn't super impressed. Service was slow and mixed reviews for the food. Curries were ok but nothing special and the fried rice order was very bland.

Won't be back

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davvos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Lao also viewed

 

Been to Thai Lao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing